21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean

15 Apr 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era. It will be different for each person and for me it was the early 90’s.

I was in a band. We wanted to conquer the world (well the city we lived in was a good start) it felt like we were a gang. A sense of belonging with a common goal. Us against everyone else.
In the evenings and at weekends after a shit week doing jobs, we all hated the gang grew even bigger when we met up with like-minded people in their own little gangs, got together and bonded over music and usually copious amounts of alcohol.

It was serious, but fun, exciting, frustrating and created some of the best memories.

On his latest EP If I Had A Delorean, Ben Ruegg reminisces over his own good times in opener Bring It Back Again. An absolute stormer of a track that is part Silverchair, part Filter, all 90’s angst. The songwriting is as direct and unpretentious as the music. This is all brooding energy that explodes in a flurry of killer riffs pushed along with a simple distorted vocal and a screaming chorus.

The theme of reliving memories continues with the aptly titled If I Had A Delorean. This is a slightly mellower affair but has a chorus you will be singing for days. The melody through the verses is one that would make Blink 182 envious.

After a short spoken interlude from who I assume is Ben's daughter things take a darker turn. Slow But Steady is about dealing with anxiety and depression. There is a real honesty in the lyrics like all the songs on this EP. Ben wears his heart on his sleeve. Whilst the subject matter is dark it is underpinned with a sense of optimism.

What makes this collection of songs even more impressive is Ben as well as being the vocalist has written, recorded and played every instrument (apart from an insane guitar solo on the opening track) on here.

That he can do all this on his own without having the input and different angles that extra musicians can add and then still come up with his own unique sound on each track is impressive.

This is one of the best collections of songs I have heard all year. It stands out high above all the current stereotypical NZ rock bands who are chasing radio play by trying to sound like each other. This is partly because Ben is locked away alone creating music for himself. He is a one-man gang.

At evenings and weekends, or whenever you want to escape the mundane grind of the day to day, you should try to be a part of Ben's Gang. You won't be disappointed.

It sounds like Ben like me, had some great times back in the 90's and those experiences have led him to this point today. Music can do that to you. Once it is in your system it never goes away.

Apparently Ben is looking for some new musical recruits to his gang so he can get these songs into a live format. Let’s hope so because these songs need to be heard and seen. If that happens I for one will be there creating more great memories.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ben Ruegg

My name is Ben Ruegg. I have been writing and performing since I was around 8. My love for music is endless. I don't say I like just one style of music because all music is different and reflects an artists current state of mind. That is exactly what my music does.
I love to tap into my inner self and reveal things I even keep secret from myself.

I hope you enjoy the passion as much I enjoy getting it to come out and end up in the recording and songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Ruegg

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ben Ruegg.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem