20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019

14 Apr 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015.

While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room. Also, there and seated in the front row was Mr Chris Knox who, despite still living with the effects of a stroke in 2009, was one of the first people on his feet for a standing ovation at the end of the show.

The evening began with a ¾ full Dunedin Town Hall hearing the greatest piece of atonal music frequently played, as the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra tuned up.

First song on the bill is the tune which gave the event its name: Tally Ho from The Clean, with Molly Devine and Metitilani Alo beginning the first of their many appearances for the night.

The second song, James, Jimmy, Nuisance, Hemi was the first of a few songs penned by Downes being performed by the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra and assorted singers.

Following nicely were re-worked and orchestrated versions of Look Blue Go Purple’s Cactus Cat, The Puddle’s Southern Man, and The 3Ds Outer Space, with Molly and Metitilani at the helm. Anthonie Tonnon then came out to lead the Molly and Metitilani show for his tune Water Underground, which featured a (in my opinion) completely superfluous audience sing-along section, but many enjoyed and sang along, I’m just a curmudgeon at times.

Dunedin-based, internationally renowned opera singer Anna Leese strode out in an awesome frock, befitting her role as one of the stars of the show, and absolutely nailed Jay Clarkson’s song written when she led The Expendables, Man With No Desire. I’ve loved Jay’s original version and voice for years, and hearing Anna Leese wrapping her pipes around all the analogue slides up and down to notes was stunning.

One of the biggest rounds of applause followed as Martin Phillipps came out to lead a haunting version of Pink Frost. I love that he acknowledged Chris Knox while on stage. You’re pure class old friend.

Another favoured Dunedin (straight outta Brockvillle) son, with an almost trademark-able cheeky grin and boyish charm, Shayne P Carter swaggered out to lead Molly and the DSO in She Speeds, giving a lesson in excellent microphone technique. Carter departed leaving Molly Devine to sing another Carter composition Randolph’s Going Home.

The first half finished with Graeme Downes returning to the stage for the epic The Ballad of Harry Noryb, and it certainly was epic, it was a huge way to finish the first half.

The second half began with Molly Devine taking on the Straitjacket Fits Dialing A Prayer, musically it suited the orchestration, and although Molly was pitch perfect I just didn’t feel it.

Carter, in a splendid razor sharp blue suit, strode out to lead another ‘Fits tune Cast Stone, and ‘oh my gosh yes’ was pretty much all I thought.

Nadia Reid looked dressed for an afternoon of Goth tennis as she walked on stage, and led her tune Call The Days beautifully - she is 100% on form and her voice suited being a-top the sparse orchestration, totally in keeping with the beauty of the original.

Anthonie Tonnon came out to sing The Clean’s tune Getting Older. I can’t help but wonder if Tonnon knew David Kilgour and Robert Scott were watching from the circle.

Looking back over the evening, and my poorly scribbled notes it was hard to pic a favourite or a highlight, but Anna Leese’s floating and at times piercing vocal on The 3D’s Spooky would be pretty high up there, as it was fabulous.

Nadia’s Right On Time was also quite spectacular, and Martin leading Submarine Bells was tear-in-the-eye sublime.

My favourite light-hearted moment of the night was as all of the leading singers assembled Martin Phillipps and Shayne P Carter had a play fight over who gets more of the microphone they were sharing. It made me laugh so loud a couple of people turned around, it was awesome to see such beautiful playfulness at such a high brow event.

One of the (in my opinion) greatest things about the Tally Ho series, and why I implore all those involved to do it again, even though it’s about 9 months hard labour for some of those behind the scenes, is that it’s a cross over event, bridging the gap between the classical and rock worlds. For that I 100% commend Graeme Downes, as it’s his vision and ability to hear what can be done with three chords and an orchestra that makes this possible. Good on you mate.

A five out of five star event.

 

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Album Review: Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds
01 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Hailing from the late 1980's, Hallelujah Picassos have a bunch of history, having released a mini album on cassette in 1989. Fast forward to 2019 the band’s 5th album Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds follows reissues in 2011/2012, which saw Hallelujah Picassos returned to the live scene, playing a handful of shows with the likes of The Drab Doo Riffs and Labretta Suede and the Motel Six.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field
11 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
Alae - Single Review: Help You Now
10 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alae have released their new single Help You Now. It’s the first track to be issued since the release of the Henry St album last year.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Thanks for the Advice
07 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland band Repairs have dropped a blistering hot new song Thanks For The Advice. In their press the band describe Thanks For The Advice as “Power-emo-post-pop”.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem