26 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019

14 Apr 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015.

While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room. Also, there and seated in the front row was Mr Chris Knox who, despite still living with the effects of a stroke in 2009, was one of the first people on his feet for a standing ovation at the end of the show.

The evening began with a ¾ full Dunedin Town Hall hearing the greatest piece of atonal music frequently played, as the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra tuned up.

First song on the bill is the tune which gave the event its name: Tally Ho from The Clean, with Molly Devine and Metitilani Alo beginning the first of their many appearances for the night.

The second song, James, Jimmy, Nuisance, Hemi was the first of a few songs penned by Downes being performed by the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra and assorted singers.

Following nicely were re-worked and orchestrated versions of Look Blue Go Purple’s Cactus Cat, The Puddle’s Southern Man, and The 3Ds Outer Space, with Molly and Metitilani at the helm. Anthonie Tonnon then came out to lead the Molly and Metitilani show for his tune Water Underground, which featured a (in my opinion) completely superfluous audience sing-along section, but many enjoyed and sang along, I’m just a curmudgeon at times.

Dunedin-based, internationally renowned opera singer Anna Leese strode out in an awesome frock, befitting her role as one of the stars of the show, and absolutely nailed Jay Clarkson’s song written when she led The Expendables, Man With No Desire. I’ve loved Jay’s original version and voice for years, and hearing Anna Leese wrapping her pipes around all the analogue slides up and down to notes was stunning.

One of the biggest rounds of applause followed as Martin Phillipps came out to lead a haunting version of Pink Frost. I love that he acknowledged Chris Knox while on stage. You’re pure class old friend.

Another favoured Dunedin (straight outta Brockvillle) son, with an almost trademark-able cheeky grin and boyish charm, Shayne P Carter swaggered out to lead Molly and the DSO in She Speeds, giving a lesson in excellent microphone technique. Carter departed leaving Molly Devine to sing another Carter composition Randolph’s Going Home.

The first half finished with Graeme Downes returning to the stage for the epic The Ballad of Harry Noryb, and it certainly was epic, it was a huge way to finish the first half.

The second half began with Molly Devine taking on the Straitjacket Fits Dialing A Prayer, musically it suited the orchestration, and although Molly was pitch perfect I just didn’t feel it.

Carter, in a splendid razor sharp blue suit, strode out to lead another ‘Fits tune Cast Stone, and ‘oh my gosh yes’ was pretty much all I thought.

Nadia Reid looked dressed for an afternoon of Goth tennis as she walked on stage, and led her tune Call The Days beautifully - she is 100% on form and her voice suited being a-top the sparse orchestration, totally in keeping with the beauty of the original.

Anthonie Tonnon came out to sing The Clean’s tune Getting Older. I can’t help but wonder if Tonnon knew David Kilgour and Robert Scott were watching from the circle.

Looking back over the evening, and my poorly scribbled notes it was hard to pic a favourite or a highlight, but Anna Leese’s floating and at times piercing vocal on The 3D’s Spooky would be pretty high up there, as it was fabulous.

Nadia’s Right On Time was also quite spectacular, and Martin leading Submarine Bells was tear-in-the-eye sublime.

My favourite light-hearted moment of the night was as all of the leading singers assembled Martin Phillipps and Shayne P Carter had a play fight over who gets more of the microphone they were sharing. It made me laugh so loud a couple of people turned around, it was awesome to see such beautiful playfulness at such a high brow event.

One of the (in my opinion) greatest things about the Tally Ho series, and why I implore all those involved to do it again, even though it’s about 9 months hard labour for some of those behind the scenes, is that it’s a cross over event, bridging the gap between the classical and rock worlds. For that I 100% commend Graeme Downes, as it’s his vision and ability to hear what can be done with three chords and an orchestra that makes this possible. Good on you mate.

A five out of five star event.

 

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Superturtle - Single review: WTFRU
21 May 2020 // by Darryl Baser
WTFRU, or, Who The Fuck Are You is the new single by Superturtle. It’s not often that the scant information in a release about a band’s single is so spot on.
Read More...
Tim Allen - Album Review: The Last Bastion of A Lad
10 May 2020 // by Darryl Baser
‘Lad’ culture has its roots in Northern England, just like recently transplanted musician Tim Allen. The Last Bastion of A Lad is the sophomore album from now New Zealand resident Tim Allen, and he’s got some high-calibre Kiwi musicians on board.
Read More...
Vox Venus - EP Review: Rise & Shine
20 Apr 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Rise & Shine is from the first phase of Vox Venus.The four song EP was recorded with Heather Bolton 's brother Geoff 'Paddy' Bolton on drums.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Don’t Take Me Back
19 Apr 2020 // by Darryl Baser
LA Thompson is a seasoned campaigner, with a solid history in the music industry and her newest single Don’t Take Me Back is another well-crafted song, which has been recorded and produced suitably. Her voice sits on top of a lush but sparse mix of rhythm and melodic guitars, electronic drums and subtle bass, and her vocal line begins after a couple of bars.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Taking A Chance
22 Mar 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Taking a Chance is the third single from Tony Lee's upcoming new album Man on Mars. Lyrically the song is about getting out and making the most of things and taking necessary risks to get ahead.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Who U R
12 Mar 2020 // by Darryl Baser
For a starter, I’ve got to say 80's and 90's inspired hair metal really isn’t my thing, however, just with any other genre, when it’s done incredibly well, it is always going to be good. Michael Signal is an extremely talented composer and player, and on his latest single Who U R his abilities shine like polished diamonds on fine bone china.
Read More...
Skedaeddle - Album Review: Nuevo Direccion
26 Feb 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Skedaeddle is a music project performing the original folk pop music of Barry Holt. Wellington based, he also writes and performs on the classical guitar.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Album Review: New Sun Rising
10 Feb 2020 // by Darryl Baser
The two opening tracks of LA Thompson's 2017 LP New Sun Rising, titled Changed My Life and You Said have a particular Country feel, being driven by guitars and her voice. Song three Divided has a dance music feel and is really quite ‘boppy’ for want of a word that doesn’t make me sound like I’m 90 years old.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem