20 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019

14 Apr 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015.

While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room. Also, there and seated in the front row was Mr Chris Knox who, despite still living with the effects of a stroke in 2009, was one of the first people on his feet for a standing ovation at the end of the show.

The evening began with a ¾ full Dunedin Town Hall hearing the greatest piece of atonal music frequently played, as the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra tuned up.

First song on the bill is the tune which gave the event its name: Tally Ho from The Clean, with Molly Devine and Metitilani Alo beginning the first of their many appearances for the night.

The second song, James, Jimmy, Nuisance, Hemi was the first of a few songs penned by Downes being performed by the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra and assorted singers.

Following nicely were re-worked and orchestrated versions of Look Blue Go Purple’s Cactus Cat, The Puddle’s Southern Man, and The 3Ds Outer Space, with Molly and Metitilani at the helm. Anthonie Tonnon then came out to lead the Molly and Metitilani show for his tune Water Underground, which featured a (in my opinion) completely superfluous audience sing-along section, but many enjoyed and sang along, I’m just a curmudgeon at times.

Dunedin-based, internationally renowned opera singer Anna Leese strode out in an awesome frock, befitting her role as one of the stars of the show, and absolutely nailed Jay Clarkson’s song written when she led The Expendables, Man With No Desire. I’ve loved Jay’s original version and voice for years, and hearing Anna Leese wrapping her pipes around all the analogue slides up and down to notes was stunning.

One of the biggest rounds of applause followed as Martin Phillipps came out to lead a haunting version of Pink Frost. I love that he acknowledged Chris Knox while on stage. You’re pure class old friend.

Another favoured Dunedin (straight outta Brockvillle) son, with an almost trademark-able cheeky grin and boyish charm, Shayne P Carter swaggered out to lead Molly and the DSO in She Speeds, giving a lesson in excellent microphone technique. Carter departed leaving Molly Devine to sing another Carter composition Randolph’s Going Home.

The first half finished with Graeme Downes returning to the stage for the epic The Ballad of Harry Noryb, and it certainly was epic, it was a huge way to finish the first half.

The second half began with Molly Devine taking on the Straitjacket Fits Dialing A Prayer, musically it suited the orchestration, and although Molly was pitch perfect I just didn’t feel it.

Carter, in a splendid razor sharp blue suit, strode out to lead another ‘Fits tune Cast Stone, and ‘oh my gosh yes’ was pretty much all I thought.

Nadia Reid looked dressed for an afternoon of Goth tennis as she walked on stage, and led her tune Call The Days beautifully - she is 100% on form and her voice suited being a-top the sparse orchestration, totally in keeping with the beauty of the original.

Anthonie Tonnon came out to sing The Clean’s tune Getting Older. I can’t help but wonder if Tonnon knew David Kilgour and Robert Scott were watching from the circle.

Looking back over the evening, and my poorly scribbled notes it was hard to pic a favourite or a highlight, but Anna Leese’s floating and at times piercing vocal on The 3D’s Spooky would be pretty high up there, as it was fabulous.

Nadia’s Right On Time was also quite spectacular, and Martin leading Submarine Bells was tear-in-the-eye sublime.

My favourite light-hearted moment of the night was as all of the leading singers assembled Martin Phillipps and Shayne P Carter had a play fight over who gets more of the microphone they were sharing. It made me laugh so loud a couple of people turned around, it was awesome to see such beautiful playfulness at such a high brow event.

One of the (in my opinion) greatest things about the Tally Ho series, and why I implore all those involved to do it again, even though it’s about 9 months hard labour for some of those behind the scenes, is that it’s a cross over event, bridging the gap between the classical and rock worlds. For that I 100% commend Graeme Downes, as it’s his vision and ability to hear what can be done with three chords and an orchestra that makes this possible. Good on you mate.

A five out of five star event.

 

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem