25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity

11 Apr 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity.

Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit. He has played with many local bands including Callum Gentleman, Mice On Stilts, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella. As such a prolific player of stringed instruments, he has also performed with some glorious bands such as Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones, Fables, Albi And The Wolves and Bernie Griffin and The Thin Men. And recently with Bonnie Strides.

Personally, I found I had to listen to Clarity a few times before I began to appreciate the “70’s folk-rock” groove of this album. But, begin to appreciate it I did. Sam Loveridge does not have the most dulcet of tones in his vocals. He has a raw slight Bob Dylan sound if I had to try and describe it. It did grow on me, and suited the honest, heartfelt almost political and sometimes sad sounding lyrics.

I like the raw philosophical tone of this album. Track two, Do You Feel Blue is a woefully blunt tale. Sam tells it like it is in a slightly angry sounding folky tale of betrayal.

Having previously reviewed his debut single Better Days prior to the release of Clarity, I can also see that Sam has a wicked sense of humour which played out in the accompanying video. I would love to see more music videos like this.

Clarity is a journey of learning and questioning. It is dark and light, critical and meaningful, change and acceptance. What I thought was going to be a light-hearted album turned out to be thoughtfully profound. Ernest with a few glimpses of humour.

Sam’s storytelling combined with solid acoustic guitar, banjo, piano and organ create an interesting folk album. There is a touch of Moog, which is a type of synthesizer delicately adding an air of vivacity to some of the tracks. The more I listen to it the more I am inclined to agree with the 70’s style vibe Clarity has going on. I like it.

Vocally distinctive and somewhat out of tune, Sam Loveridge has a unique sound which suits this album.

This may not suit everyone’s taste. But you know what…the more I listened to Clarity, the more I appreciated it. I am giving it four stars.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam Loveridge

A prolific multi-instrumentalist, Sam Loveridge has worked with the likes of Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella.

He is due to release his debut single, Better Days on March 1st, with his album, Clarity, following closely in late March.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Loveridge

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam Loveridge.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem