20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity

11 Apr 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity.

Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit. He has played with many local bands including Callum Gentleman, Mice On Stilts, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella. As such a prolific player of stringed instruments, he has also performed with some glorious bands such as Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones, Fables, Albi And The Wolves and Bernie Griffin and The Thin Men. And recently with Bonnie Strides.

Personally, I found I had to listen to Clarity a few times before I began to appreciate the “70’s folk-rock” groove of this album. But, begin to appreciate it I did. Sam Loveridge does not have the most dulcet of tones in his vocals. He has a raw slight Bob Dylan sound if I had to try and describe it. It did grow on me, and suited the honest, heartfelt almost political and sometimes sad sounding lyrics.

I like the raw philosophical tone of this album. Track two, Do You Feel Blue is a woefully blunt tale. Sam tells it like it is in a slightly angry sounding folky tale of betrayal.

Having previously reviewed his debut single Better Days prior to the release of Clarity, I can also see that Sam has a wicked sense of humour which played out in the accompanying video. I would love to see more music videos like this.

Clarity is a journey of learning and questioning. It is dark and light, critical and meaningful, change and acceptance. What I thought was going to be a light-hearted album turned out to be thoughtfully profound. Ernest with a few glimpses of humour.

Sam’s storytelling combined with solid acoustic guitar, banjo, piano and organ create an interesting folk album. There is a touch of Moog, which is a type of synthesizer delicately adding an air of vivacity to some of the tracks. The more I listen to it the more I am inclined to agree with the 70’s style vibe Clarity has going on. I like it.

Vocally distinctive and somewhat out of tune, Sam Loveridge has a unique sound which suits this album.

This may not suit everyone’s taste. But you know what…the more I listened to Clarity, the more I appreciated it. I am giving it four stars.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam Loveridge

A prolific multi-instrumentalist, Sam Loveridge has worked with the likes of Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella.

He is due to release his debut single, Better Days on March 1st, with his album, Clarity, following closely in late March.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Loveridge

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam Loveridge.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Cider
30 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Napier’s young singer-songwriter Danica Bryant showcases powerful vocals on her debut 4 track EP, Cider. Currently based in Wellington, this is one lady who is not afraid to express herself through strong powerful lyrics and fierce emotion, and boy…does she have the lungs to pull it off.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem