24 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity

11 Apr 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity.

Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit. He has played with many local bands including Callum Gentleman, Mice On Stilts, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella. As such a prolific player of stringed instruments, he has also performed with some glorious bands such as Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones, Fables, Albi And The Wolves and Bernie Griffin and The Thin Men. And recently with Bonnie Strides.

Personally, I found I had to listen to Clarity a few times before I began to appreciate the “70’s folk-rock” groove of this album. But, begin to appreciate it I did. Sam Loveridge does not have the most dulcet of tones in his vocals. He has a raw slight Bob Dylan sound if I had to try and describe it. It did grow on me, and suited the honest, heartfelt almost political and sometimes sad sounding lyrics.

I like the raw philosophical tone of this album. Track two, Do You Feel Blue is a woefully blunt tale. Sam tells it like it is in a slightly angry sounding folky tale of betrayal.

Having previously reviewed his debut single Better Days prior to the release of Clarity, I can also see that Sam has a wicked sense of humour which played out in the accompanying video. I would love to see more music videos like this.

Clarity is a journey of learning and questioning. It is dark and light, critical and meaningful, change and acceptance. What I thought was going to be a light-hearted album turned out to be thoughtfully profound. Ernest with a few glimpses of humour.

Sam’s storytelling combined with solid acoustic guitar, banjo, piano and organ create an interesting folk album. There is a touch of Moog, which is a type of synthesizer delicately adding an air of vivacity to some of the tracks. The more I listen to it the more I am inclined to agree with the 70’s style vibe Clarity has going on. I like it.

Vocally distinctive and somewhat out of tune, Sam Loveridge has a unique sound which suits this album.

This may not suit everyone’s taste. But you know what…the more I listened to Clarity, the more I appreciated it. I am giving it four stars.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam Loveridge

A prolific multi-instrumentalist, Sam Loveridge has worked with the likes of Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella.

He is due to release his debut single, Better Days on March 1st, with his album, Clarity, following closely in late March.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Loveridge

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam Loveridge.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Sail Across The Sky
15 Jan 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer/songwriter; Brendan McCarthy from Apollo SteamTrain has just released his first new offering of 2020 with the single Sail Across The Sky. This is a beautiful acoustic love ballad which speaks of the reality of being in a long term relationship.
Read More...
The AJ Crawshaw Band - Single Review: The Lightning
18 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Well-established Kapiti based singer and writer, AJ Crawshaw and his band have just released a thought-provoking new single The Lightning. A motivational pop infused rock track about living life and connecting with what makes you feel alive.
Read More...
Album Review: DateMonthYear
16 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hamilton five-piece self-proclaimed “independent music bohemians” DateMonthYear have just released their ten track self-titled album. A lush atmospheric body of work that moves from one track to the next with graceful fluidity.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: What Comes Around
04 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young four piece breakthrough Kiwi Punk Rock band Sit Down In Front (SDIF) from Gisborne have just released their eagerly anticipated single What Comes Around. The lads who keep it “hard, fast and catchy”, writing about everyday stuff have delivered another gutsy punk number to warm the cockles of NZ punk rockers from one end of the country to the other.
Read More...
Matthew J.Ruys - Single Review: Rainbows
02 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning Kiwi veteran, LA based recording artist Matthew J. Ruys has released the brand new bright and funky single Rainbows, just in time for those feel good summer vibes.
Read More...
Shana Grace - Album Review: Rinse And Repeat
28 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer-songwriter Shana Grace has just released her debut full length album Rinse And Repeat. With the help from a year long crowd funding campaign, emerges ten beautifully constructed songs of lyrical storytelling.
Read More...
George After James - Single Review: In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go)
25 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
George After James is the project of James Fistonich. Based in Auckland, he is a guitarist and singer who just released his debut single, In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go) along with an announcement of his self-titled EP due for release in January 2020.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Glory
19 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand singer songwriter Hannah Curwood of alternative post-punk band Hannah In The Wars, has released a new single called Glory. Hannah has an impressive body of work, both solo and with her band.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem