8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity

11 Apr 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity.

Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit. He has played with many local bands including Callum Gentleman, Mice On Stilts, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella. As such a prolific player of stringed instruments, he has also performed with some glorious bands such as Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones, Fables, Albi And The Wolves and Bernie Griffin and The Thin Men. And recently with Bonnie Strides.

Personally, I found I had to listen to Clarity a few times before I began to appreciate the “70’s folk-rock” groove of this album. But, begin to appreciate it I did. Sam Loveridge does not have the most dulcet of tones in his vocals. He has a raw slight Bob Dylan sound if I had to try and describe it. It did grow on me, and suited the honest, heartfelt almost political and sometimes sad sounding lyrics.

I like the raw philosophical tone of this album. Track two, Do You Feel Blue is a woefully blunt tale. Sam tells it like it is in a slightly angry sounding folky tale of betrayal.

Having previously reviewed his debut single Better Days prior to the release of Clarity, I can also see that Sam has a wicked sense of humour which played out in the accompanying video. I would love to see more music videos like this.

Clarity is a journey of learning and questioning. It is dark and light, critical and meaningful, change and acceptance. What I thought was going to be a light-hearted album turned out to be thoughtfully profound. Ernest with a few glimpses of humour.

Sam’s storytelling combined with solid acoustic guitar, banjo, piano and organ create an interesting folk album. There is a touch of Moog, which is a type of synthesizer delicately adding an air of vivacity to some of the tracks. The more I listen to it the more I am inclined to agree with the 70’s style vibe Clarity has going on. I like it.

Vocally distinctive and somewhat out of tune, Sam Loveridge has a unique sound which suits this album.

This may not suit everyone’s taste. But you know what…the more I listened to Clarity, the more I appreciated it. I am giving it four stars.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam Loveridge

A prolific multi-instrumentalist, Sam Loveridge has worked with the likes of Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella.

He is due to release his debut single, Better Days on March 1st, with his album, Clarity, following closely in late March.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Loveridge

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam Loveridge.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alan Brown - Album Review: Wind And Wire
18 Jun 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alan Brown’s name is entrenched in the New Zealand Jazz scene as not only an established Jazz keyboardist, but also from his highly successful Jazz-funk band in the 1990’s, Blue Train. While reputed for his keyboard and Hammond organ skills his recent work, following on from his past solo creations is titled Wind And Wire, an instrumental, atmospheric electronica based album offering up a brooding sonic soundscape.
Read More...
Grace - Single Review: Echo Thoughts
29 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young bedroom music producer from Auckland, Grace has just released the first track from her EP Music From The Cupboard. Echo Thoughts is a captivating track of ethereal vocals enveloped in a luscious techno beat.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
Holly Afoa - EP Review: Sister
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Neo-Soul singer/songwriter Holly Afoa has recently released her debut EP Sister. Five tracks of soulful, heartfelt music.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem