18 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity

11 Apr 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity.

Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit. He has played with many local bands including Callum Gentleman, Mice On Stilts, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella. As such a prolific player of stringed instruments, he has also performed with some glorious bands such as Miss Peach and The Travellin Bones, Fables, Albi And The Wolves and Bernie Griffin and The Thin Men. And recently with Bonnie Strides.

Personally, I found I had to listen to Clarity a few times before I began to appreciate the “70’s folk-rock” groove of this album. But, begin to appreciate it I did. Sam Loveridge does not have the most dulcet of tones in his vocals. He has a raw slight Bob Dylan sound if I had to try and describe it. It did grow on me, and suited the honest, heartfelt almost political and sometimes sad sounding lyrics.

I like the raw philosophical tone of this album. Track two, Do You Feel Blue is a woefully blunt tale. Sam tells it like it is in a slightly angry sounding folky tale of betrayal.

Having previously reviewed his debut single Better Days prior to the release of Clarity, I can also see that Sam has a wicked sense of humour which played out in the accompanying video. I would love to see more music videos like this.

Clarity is a journey of learning and questioning. It is dark and light, critical and meaningful, change and acceptance. What I thought was going to be a light-hearted album turned out to be thoughtfully profound. Ernest with a few glimpses of humour.

Sam’s storytelling combined with solid acoustic guitar, banjo, piano and organ create an interesting folk album. There is a touch of Moog, which is a type of synthesizer delicately adding an air of vivacity to some of the tracks. The more I listen to it the more I am inclined to agree with the 70’s style vibe Clarity has going on. I like it.

Vocally distinctive and somewhat out of tune, Sam Loveridge has a unique sound which suits this album.

This may not suit everyone’s taste. But you know what…the more I listened to Clarity, the more I appreciated it. I am giving it four stars.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam Loveridge

A prolific multi-instrumentalist, Sam Loveridge has worked with the likes of Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella.

He is due to release his debut single, Better Days on March 1st, with his album, Clarity, following closely in late March.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Loveridge

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam Loveridge.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car
21 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.
Read More...
Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem