29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake

04 Apr 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos. 

Their latest release Rattlesnake is a heavy blast of melodic metal tinged angst with more than a nod to bands like P.O.D. or even NZ's Blindspott. Their visual style also reinforces this, Rob with his long dreads the rest of the band facing inwards with an intense, and I don't mean this in a derogatory way, nu metal bounce. There is far more to DRXNES than rehashing their influences. Just check out their back catalogue and you will see the variation. 

Most of the video is set in a forest (nice scenic shots as per nearly every NZ music video) but interspersed with some great camera work, editing and lighting. The forest scenes merge with footage of the band in a rehearsal space, all moody lighting which adds an intensity to the overall feel. It is very slick as is the production of the song itself.

This video works well as an accompaniment to the song but like most videos that focus on a band playing live I don't think it adds anything to it. To be honest the song is so strong it instantly hooks you in so that actually all you want to do is leap around and not watch anything!

The video ends with a homage to Jake Mitchell Alabaster who sadly passed away far too young in Whanganui in 2017.

Much Kudos and another step forward for a band who clearly want to go places.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About DRXNES

Releases

There are no releases to display for DRXNES.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem