19 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake

04 Apr 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos. 

Their latest release Rattlesnake is a heavy blast of melodic metal tinged angst with more than a nod to bands like P.O.D. or even NZ's Blindspott. Their visual style also reinforces this, Rob with his long dreads the rest of the band facing inwards with an intense, and I don't mean this in a derogatory way, nu metal bounce. There is far more to DRXNES than rehashing their influences. Just check out their back catalogue and you will see the variation. 

Most of the video is set in a forest (nice scenic shots as per nearly every NZ music video) but interspersed with some great camera work, editing and lighting. The forest scenes merge with footage of the band in a rehearsal space, all moody lighting which adds an intensity to the overall feel. It is very slick as is the production of the song itself.

This video works well as an accompaniment to the song but like most videos that focus on a band playing live I don't think it adds anything to it. To be honest the song is so strong it instantly hooks you in so that actually all you want to do is leap around and not watch anything!

The video ends with a homage to Jake Mitchell Alabaster who sadly passed away far too young in Whanganui in 2017.

Much Kudos and another step forward for a band who clearly want to go places.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About DRXNES

Releases

There are no releases to display for DRXNES.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem