13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake

04 Apr 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos. 

Their latest release Rattlesnake is a heavy blast of melodic metal tinged angst with more than a nod to bands like P.O.D. or even NZ's Blindspott. Their visual style also reinforces this, Rob with his long dreads the rest of the band facing inwards with an intense, and I don't mean this in a derogatory way, nu metal bounce. There is far more to DRXNES than rehashing their influences. Just check out their back catalogue and you will see the variation. 

Most of the video is set in a forest (nice scenic shots as per nearly every NZ music video) but interspersed with some great camera work, editing and lighting. The forest scenes merge with footage of the band in a rehearsal space, all moody lighting which adds an intensity to the overall feel. It is very slick as is the production of the song itself.

This video works well as an accompaniment to the song but like most videos that focus on a band playing live I don't think it adds anything to it. To be honest the song is so strong it instantly hooks you in so that actually all you want to do is leap around and not watch anything!

The video ends with a homage to Jake Mitchell Alabaster who sadly passed away far too young in Whanganui in 2017.

Much Kudos and another step forward for a band who clearly want to go places.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About DRXNES

Releases

There are no releases to display for DRXNES.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem