17 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aro - Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019

31 Mar 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us. It was a magical start to the magical evening.

I want to mention that Aro had an impressive range of merch available last night, which also included a translation booklet from Te Reo Maori to English of the lyrics for Manu, the album Aro have been promoting with a mammoth tour through the entire length of the country. The booklet helped immensely with the accompanying story telling which Charles provided and included stunning artwork by Manu Berry.

Aro, who are husband and wife team Charles and Emily Looker (nee Rice) were also joined last night by a friend called Callum, he has just in the last 48 hours re-branded himself under the name of Od.Cassidy (formerly Rewind) and is definitely someone to keep an eye on. Emily and Callum opened the evening with a set of original songs which they sang beautifully. Emotionally charged lyrics delivered from the heart. Callum's soft, faultless guitar playing and warm vocals complimented Emily's sweet vocal tone perfectly. It was a fabulous opener for the stunning performance which followed.

The album Manu meaning bird “is a bilingual – Te Reo Maori & English, 10-track album transcribed from the melodies and rhythms of our native birds”. This is a remarkable album.

Charles and Emily delivered us a selection of songs with alluring vocals and humorous storytelling which had the crowd completely engaged. Each song was educational and delightful and certainly brought the birds characteristics to life. The Kereru song was particularly memorable, what a lovely story that cheeky bird told of the tempting berries.

The set weaved effortlessly between Te Reo Maori and English. Charles playing guitar and Emily a whiz on the looper. They delivered a stunning set. The narrative provided by Charles throughout the evening was informative and entertaining. The inclusion of the Taonga and the accompanying story which Charles told us of the various traditional Maori instruments used on the album had the audience absorbed. The couple combine a wonderful jazzy/pop sound with delightful harmony.

I had the honour of reviewing Manu when it was first released, I said that the album is lively and cheerful yet at the same time inspiring and engaging. That is exactly what Aro delivered in their performance.

As the evening drew to a close and the last song played out, I witnessed something I have never seen before at The Jam Factory or at any intimate event in recent memory. A standing ovation, a testament to the stunning performance from this duo. Needless to say, we got one more song before the night ended, but the audience could have happily stayed on and listened to more if we could of.

If you ever get a chance to see Aro perform, go and see them. Keep an eye out for the wonderful Od.Cassidy, and listen closely to the melodies, rhythms and stories of Aotearoa's native birds. They have significant messages for all of us.

 

About Aro

‘Aro mai, Aro atu, aroha’
To face, to be faced, to love.

Aro are a blend of stories in song expressing the people, the culture and the land of Aotearoa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aro

Releases

Manu
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Van Jams
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Aro
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Casey Evans - Single Review: Somewhere
07 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A Southern girl from the Catlins, Casey Evans, formally of energetic pop duo ChanTilly, has gone out on her own with her unique blend of soulful country. Somewhere is her debut single, and it has already been added to the Hatchlings playlist on Spotify.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - Single Review: Breathe
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It is not often a single stops me in my tracks. But that is what Emily Riordan has done with the acoustic reworking of Breathe from her EP Waves, which was released earlier in 2019.
Read More...
EP Review: Planet Hunter
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day.
Read More...
Isla - EP Review: Weirdo
30 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of Isla's single release of Kids Like Me, is her new EP Weirdo. This EP follows through with the fresh and quirky sound that we were recently introduced to.
Read More...
The Kendals - Single Review: Mistakes
24 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland three-piece pop group The Kendals have released their second single Mistakes. An atmospheric analogue sounding track with a distinctive synth-pop sound.
Read More...
Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem