24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aro - Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019

31 Mar 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us. It was a magical start to the magical evening.

I want to mention that Aro had an impressive range of merch available last night, which also included a translation booklet from Te Reo Maori to English of the lyrics for Manu, the album Aro have been promoting with a mammoth tour through the entire length of the country. The booklet helped immensely with the accompanying story telling which Charles provided and included stunning artwork by Manu Berry.

Aro, who are husband and wife team Charles and Emily Looker (nee Rice) were also joined last night by a friend called Callum, he has just in the last 48 hours re-branded himself under the name of Od.Cassidy (formerly Rewind) and is definitely someone to keep an eye on. Emily and Callum opened the evening with a set of original songs which they sang beautifully. Emotionally charged lyrics delivered from the heart. Callum's soft, faultless guitar playing and warm vocals complimented Emily's sweet vocal tone perfectly. It was a fabulous opener for the stunning performance which followed.

The album Manu meaning bird “is a bilingual – Te Reo Maori & English, 10-track album transcribed from the melodies and rhythms of our native birds”. This is a remarkable album.

Charles and Emily delivered us a selection of songs with alluring vocals and humorous storytelling which had the crowd completely engaged. Each song was educational and delightful and certainly brought the birds characteristics to life. The Kereru song was particularly memorable, what a lovely story that cheeky bird told of the tempting berries.

The set weaved effortlessly between Te Reo Maori and English. Charles playing guitar and Emily a whiz on the looper. They delivered a stunning set. The narrative provided by Charles throughout the evening was informative and entertaining. The inclusion of the Taonga and the accompanying story which Charles told us of the various traditional Maori instruments used on the album had the audience absorbed. The couple combine a wonderful jazzy/pop sound with delightful harmony.

I had the honour of reviewing Manu when it was first released, I said that the album is lively and cheerful yet at the same time inspiring and engaging. That is exactly what Aro delivered in their performance.

As the evening drew to a close and the last song played out, I witnessed something I have never seen before at The Jam Factory or at any intimate event in recent memory. A standing ovation, a testament to the stunning performance from this duo. Needless to say, we got one more song before the night ended, but the audience could have happily stayed on and listened to more if we could of.

If you ever get a chance to see Aro perform, go and see them. Keep an eye out for the wonderful Od.Cassidy, and listen closely to the melodies, rhythms and stories of Aotearoa's native birds. They have significant messages for all of us.

 

About Aro

Aro consists of husband and wife Charles (Ngapuhi, Te Rarawa, Ngati Te Ata, Te Ati Awa) and Emily Looker (nee Rice). The pair share a passion for the power of language and music to tell stories and remind us of our cultural identity. The duo were finalists for the Maioha Award at the Silver Scrolls (2019) and the APRA Best Children’s Song Award for their song Korimako (2020).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aro

Releases

Manu
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Van Jams
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Aro
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem