20 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me

31 Mar 2019 // A review by Ria Loveder

Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.

Whenever You Leave Me has that catchy pop hook that gets stuck in your head. With soft vocals accompanied by an electronic melody, this song is one that I can see being played frequently on NZ’s contemporary hit music stations. ZM & The Edge, get this song on your playlists! Being played on the radio I think is the way to give Annie J the credit this song deserves as its current and resembles what’s resonating well with music lovers right now.

With her song Make Believe already debuting on the New Zealand Viral Top 50, we can expect great things from this young songstress and Whenever You Leave Me is no exception. With a music video filled with summer vibes and one that isn’t trying to make her seem older than she actually is, it's a refreshing change to what normally takes place in the music industry.

I look forward to seeing what other music Annie J will release in the near future and hope to hear Whenever You Leave Me played on the radio soon!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Annie J

At just 15, Annie J has already released three songs, attracting instant high listener appeal, with her first song Make Believe debuting on the New Zealand Viral Top 50. Known as Bello from a young age, due to her desire to sing loudly at any opportunity, Annie J (Anabel Jamieson) started acting at three months, dancing at three years and learning guitar at nine.

Annie J has performed with the New Zealand Opera in Carmen and Katya Kabanova and with the New Zealand Ballet in Don Quixote. Her training in classical and modern dance has inspired Annie J to make electronic infused music that motivates people to dance, all the while staying true to roots as a guitarist and singer-songwriter. Annie J’s music draws on influences from her favourite artists including Ed Sheeran and Ariana Grande.

Her latest song Whenever You Leave Me marks Annie J’s transition to more mature song content, reflecting her life as a teenager and everything that comes with it.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Annie J

Releases

There are no releases to display for Annie J.

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
Owlet Nightjar - Album Review: The Regenerative Principle
23 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Named after an extinct flightless bird in New Zealand, Owlet-Nightjars' are an amalgamation of unusual and attention-grabbing concepts. Their debut album, The Regenerative Principle is a mixture of sounds, featuring elements of soul, dub, blues, reggae, rock, pop and psychedelic.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Album Review: Mysterium Tremendum
16 Nov 2017 // by Ria Loveder
Killing Bear - The mystical tribe from Mars who have used psychic powers to poses the minds of four musicians, with their combination of drums, guitars, synths and vocals, this is a psychedelic pop rock band to get your teeth stuck into. I had never listened to any of Killing Bear’s music until now, and what I have heard I love.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem