18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee

29 Mar 2019 // A review by Shade

The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different. It can become all-consuming and overwhelming, threatening to explode around you.

Other times it delicately floats in the background, drifting unconsciously until it is awakened, and someone pays attention to it.

This is how Absentee by Curlys Jewels starts; delicate and somewhat unassuming. A beautifully subtle prologue, Janelle's opening vocals are captivating and ethereal - in other words, simply breathtaking.

It's true what they say - first impressions count; and with this song, those first impressions are enticingly good. It is those first impressions that implore for the song to be played to the very end, over and over again.

It is obvious from the onset that this is a profoundly personal song and perhaps that is what makes it so relatable. The lyrics are genuine and heartfelt, Absentee depicts so much more than words on paper - it exposes deep emotions and raw sentiments.

Once the chorus kicks in, Absentee steps up a notch, elevating it to sophisticated levels. Each instrument complements Janelle's vocals faultlessly, making it appear as though the process of creating music is much easier than it really is. It is evident that a lot of attention to detail has gone into this song.

Aaron's guitar and Andy's bass coupled with Corey's drums are precise and exact, creating the perfect accompaniment to the lyrics. This is not music by numbers, this is a dedicated group of musicians who have worked together as a team to craft the ideal way to showcase Absentee.

This could be Curlys Jewels finest song to date.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Shade

Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza
27 Sep 2018 // by Shade
In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Aio
27 Jul 2018 // by Shade
Aio - to be at Peace. Aio is what we strive for in our own minds, Aio is what nature is calling for and Aio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018
14 Jun 2018 // by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem