19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye

27 Mar 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.

When this was forwarded on to me, I was forewarned that I would be amazed. I wasn’t just amazed; I was blown away by this incredible voice which sounds like a cross between Gin Wigmore and Amy Winehouse. Raw and powerful bursting with expression and soul.

Spellbinding in more ways than one, Eye To Eye is complemented by the bewitching magick-inspired video choreographed by Luminary choreographer, Jane Strickland, directed by Anna Duckworth, shot by Nina Wells and produced by Morgan Leigh Stewart. A very talented line up of ladies indeed. “The captivating video takes inspirational cues from the Netflix show, The OA, as well as the way ‘spells’ are presented on shows such as The Magician”. Captivating from start to finish.

The powerful lyrics complement the visuals perfectly. The choreography is outstanding. I was also reminded that I haven’t cleansed my crystals in a while.

A great deal of thought has gone into every aspect of this single release, down to the timing coinciding with the last full super moon.

Lou’ana completely charmed me with her big voice and bold husky sound. Warm and sweet like honey, with a maturity and uniqueness which will turn a few heads.

Eye To Eye exceeds the boundaries of a five star rating. I am confident New Zealand will be enthralled by her incredible sound. Lou’ana's Move Along tour weaves its way through the country in March and April.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Lou'ana

The free-spirited, eclectic sound of Auckland, based artist, vocalist and singer-songwriter Lou’ana (Whitney) is one of unparalleled magic. Having carved a place for herself within Auckland’s vibrant music community over the past 6 years as a proud, second generation Samoan New Zealander, Lou’ana’s voice carries the stature of an old soul; a cosmic cocktail of sweet and soulful, with an added gritty, blues edge that references the golden age of Etta James, Emmylou Harris to the rawness of Stevie Nicks and Amy Winehouse. Her heart and soul translates through sound, in that unexplainable alchemy that happens when music meets word.

Whitney has performed all around New Zealand as part of the inimitable funk troup Hipstamatics, playing a multitude of festivals across the country including some of their favourite haunts such as Hipstamatics’ “birth place”, Grand Central in Ponsonby. The spell-binding artist also performs as part of Two Many Chiefs, and has supported a number of New Zealand jazz acts including Andrew Faleatua at Samoana Jazz Festival and the 2015 Pacific Music Awards, as well as providing live vocals for kiwi electronic outfit Sola Rosa.
2019 will be the year Lou’ana releases her debut solo material to the world, as she takes to the road on a number of dates soon to be announced.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lou'ana

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lou'ana.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem