31 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lucifer Gunne - Single Review: Energenetic

25 Mar 2019 // A review by Steve Shyu

Lucifer Gunne is the young but powerful quartet of punk/alternative-rock specialists hailing from the capital city. Fronted by bassist and frontman Rory McDonald, the band have worked hard writing and playing live over the past two years, and just a week ago, the lads unveiled their latest creation.

The tune blasts straight into a bold mash of overdriven guitars with a classic minor-key chord progression and heavy metal vibes set over a brisk rock n’ roll drumbeat. Fired up with loads of punk rock energy, and a healthy, rumbling bassline adding gravity to the mood, one very quickly gets the impression they’re in for a headbanger.

Lead singer Rory bears a surprisingly baritone voice, sounding like a cross between latter-day Mike Patton and Aotearoa’s own Booga Beazley of HLAH, especially when he croons during the first chorus.

The punk rock aesthetic also shows in the overall production sound and gives an engaging performing-live-in-studio vibe. Minor imperfections like the drummer nearly missing a beat, and the ad-hoc shrieking before and during the guitar all adds character to the piece.

With more listens, the more things I found I really enjoyed. To begin with, I thought the final refrain of “Synthetic, energenetic, you’re so pathetic, yeah!” could have been cut out, but I’ve changed my mind; the chorus is just too much fun. Besides, you need that last round of crowd shout-alongs before capping off with some “Hey! Hey! Hey!”s!

For some extra cool, chuck on the music video. Apparently all shot using a drone, the lads jam on the rooftop of an apartment with some friends, with a hooded Spiderman skulking about in the background.

Click here to see the video, and give their Facebook page a Like!
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lucifer Gunne

Lucifer Gunne is an alternative rock band formed in Wellington, New Zealand, founded by Rory McDonald 

Starting out solo, Rory, worked on the first EP, The Red King with the idea of a whole band sound, rather than a solo project in mind. A couple of months after the release debut EP, he met the guitarist (Don Mackenzie) and ex-drummer (Henry Thomas) in the crowd at a pixies concert. They played their first show at Valhalla on March 30th 2017 and have been playing, gigging, practicing and recording ever since. The current lineup consists of Rory McDonald (Lead vocals, Bass Guitar), Don Mackenzie (Rhythm Guitar), Steve Henwood (Lead Guitar) and Jackson Kidd (Drums)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lucifer Gunne

Releases

The Red King
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Steve Shyu

Gig Review: Blindspott @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/03/2020
16 Mar 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Way back in 2007, on the exact same stage, was the last time I witnessed Blindspott deliver the goods – And it certainly was a night to remember. Little did I know then, I was still in my formative years dabbling in heavy music, and Blindspott sat atop a high podium of reverence in my mind, as I’m sure many Aucklanders of my age did.
Read More...
QUALMS - Double Single Review: Hank Scorpio and Thrown
10 Mar 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Auckland’s newest rock trio Qualms have brought forth their latest offering – TWO, in fact – in the form of a double-single, entitled Hank Scorpio and Thrown, respectively. Immediately after two drumstick clicks, vocals and guitar chords kick off to a pleasantly cool, upbeat first tune Hank Scorpio.
Read More...
The Vibes - Single Review: Golden City
25 Feb 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Since 2015, Auckland alt-blues rock group The Vibes (formerly named Brendon Thomas & The Vibes) have been gradually building a foundation, and now find themselves making tremendous waves across Aotearoa. Consisting of a trio of talented multi-instrumentalists Brendon Thomas, Timothee Nolier and Michael Anderson, the group have opened for international alt-rock legends Wolfmother, as well as recently wrapping up a nationwide circuit of tours.
Read More...
Black Smoke Trigger - EP Review: Set It Off
07 Jan 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Napier hard rock quartet Black Smoke Trigger’s debut EP entitled Set It Off is out now. Released to coincide with their full tour or Aotearoa supporting fellow heavyweights Devilskin, the band have pledged this to be an “energetic” and “unforgettable” debut.
Read More...
Flirting With Disaster - Album Review: Redundant
17 Dec 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Auckland’s punk rock scene continues to thrive. Just check out the line-up of gigs happening at live venues throughout the country.
Read More...
Scalper - EP Review: Want More
16 Dec 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Mr. Nadeem Shafi, commonly known as the hyper-mysterious hip-hop artist Scalper, of Pakistani descent.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written by Wolves @ Raynham Park, Auckland - 16/11/2019
20 Nov 2019 // by Steve Shyu
"Guaranteed to be a good time" were the words I posted on my Facebook status, summoning friends to join me as I left for Written by Wolves’ album release performance at Raynham Park. I swore by those words as I’d witnessed them give 110% opening for Devilskin, headlining their own sets at Neck of the Woods, as well as (figuratively) setting fire at Muzic.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Album Review: Secrets
07 Nov 2019 // by Steve Shyu
It’s no secret. Written by Wolves have been hard at work for the past two years on their debut, full-length album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Steve Shyu

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem