20 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lucifer Gunne - Single Review: Energenetic

25 Mar 2019 // A review by Steve Shyu

Lucifer Gunne is the young but powerful quartet of punk/alternative-rock specialists hailing from the capital city. Fronted by bassist and frontman Rory McDonald, the band have worked hard writing and playing live over the past two years, and just a week ago, the lads unveiled their latest creation.

The tune blasts straight into a bold mash of overdriven guitars with a classic minor-key chord progression and heavy metal vibes set over a brisk rock n’ roll drumbeat. Fired up with loads of punk rock energy, and a healthy, rumbling bassline adding gravity to the mood, one very quickly gets the impression they’re in for a headbanger.

Lead singer Rory bears a surprisingly baritone voice, sounding like a cross between latter-day Mike Patton and Aotearoa’s own Booga Beazley of HLAH, especially when he croons during the first chorus.

The punk rock aesthetic also shows in the overall production sound and gives an engaging performing-live-in-studio vibe. Minor imperfections like the drummer nearly missing a beat, and the ad-hoc shrieking before and during the guitar all adds character to the piece.

With more listens, the more things I found I really enjoyed. To begin with, I thought the final refrain of “Synthetic, energenetic, you’re so pathetic, yeah!” could have been cut out, but I’ve changed my mind; the chorus is just too much fun. Besides, you need that last round of crowd shout-alongs before capping off with some “Hey! Hey! Hey!”s!

For some extra cool, chuck on the music video. Apparently all shot using a drone, the lads jam on the rooftop of an apartment with some friends, with a hooded Spiderman skulking about in the background.

Click here to see the video, and give their Facebook page a Like!
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lucifer Gunne

Lucifer Gunne is an alternative rock band formed in Wellington, New Zealand, founded by Rory McDonald 

Starting out solo, Rory, worked on the first EP, The Red King with the idea of a whole band sound, rather than a solo project in mind. A couple of months after the release debut EP, he met the guitarist (Don Mackenzie) and ex-drummer (Henry Thomas) in the crowd at a pixies concert. They played their first show at Valhalla on March 30th 2017 and have been playing, gigging, practicing and recording ever since. The current lineup consists of Rory McDonald (Lead vocals, Bass Guitar), Don Mackenzie (Rhythm Guitar), Steve Henwood (Lead Guitar) and  Taylor Johnston-Criscuola (Drums)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lucifer Gunne

Releases

The Red King
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Steve Shyu

Outside In - Single Review - The Garden of Light
07 May 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Outside In is the progressive rock project from Aucklanders Jonnie Barnard on guitar, singer/keyboardist/guitarist Mikey Brown, drummer Adam Tobeck, and Elliott Park on bass. Whilst the group have been making waves in Aotearoa’s alt-rock communities for years and years, admittedly, I had not yet properly listened to Outside In before, only experiencing them live once.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Studio, Auckland - 23/03/2019
28 Mar 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Just a few days ago, my brother asked "What's Alien Weaponry?", and I was happy to oblige and catch him up on one of the most talked-about bands in New Zealand music.
Read More...
Monshi - Single Review: Strange Love
04 Mar 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Born in South Africa and now based in Hamilton, Kate Theresa AKA Monshi has been working hard at creating her own sound and style. Making her DJ'ing debut at Hamilton’s Smash the Rails Fest 2 earlier this year, she knew the time to get musically creative was now.
Read More...
Logic Defies Logic - Single Review: Suits and Ladders
02 Mar 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Logic Defies Logic initially began in Hamilton as a funk-prog-metal instrumental group, then relocated to Melbourne, Australia, and found a vocalist to join their ranks. Following their release of LP Magic & Science in 2017, the band have now returned with a new single Suits and Ladders.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review: Something Strange for Change
25 Feb 2019 // by Steve Shyu
A music-production duo from Aotearoa but based in Berlin? Which one is Krispy, and which is the Pooch?
Read More...
Streakers - Single Review: Beta
15 Feb 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Christchurch has yielded a number of world-famous-in-NZ alternative rock bands throughout the history of the universe, and a new one to keep an eye on is Streakers. It’s unclear if any of the band members have ever disrobed and raced across a rugby stadium, but word has it that they have raised decibels and shaken plenty of ceilings in the South Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Living End @ Powerstation, Auckland - 6/02/2019
08 Feb 2019 // by Steve Shyu
I saw the Living End just once at a Big Day Out, however long ago that was. Unlike so many bands we used to hear a lot of but have now put on backburners, I remembered with deep fondness the fun time I had seeing a spiky-haired punk rock band from Aussie send the crowd around me completely frantic, song after song.
Read More...
Lola Sola - Single/Video Review: Get It
01 Feb 2019 // by Steve Shyu
Kiwi soul-folk singer-songwriter Lola Sola has toured throughout Australia and New Zealand, now nailed down two EP's and one full-length album, and showed no signs of slowing down. To great anticipation both here and in Aussie, the DIY-songstress finally released her new music video and single, titled Get It.
Read More...
View All Articles By Steve Shyu

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem