21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand

24 Mar 2019 // A review by Jessie Armstrong

Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand.

Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career? Well I definitely would have. One Night Stand is a follow up to Craig’s first album Good News (read my review of the single Just Like Yesterday from that album here), and I was definitely excited to review his latest album.

Craig has previously said that one band which has been big influence on him musically is The Beatles, and that is very apparent from the title track One Night Stand. I really like that it sounds as though it’s been recorded live, Craig has told me that about 5 different sound effects were cut and mixed together just like The Beatles did in Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band and that not only that, but he also recorded the lead vocals at 5am so that he sounded tired in order to give it more of an authentic “live sound”.

I also find the opening line, which is “hello good evening, let me introduce the band”, be a nice little touch as it brings to mind images of lounge bands in Las Vegas back in the 80's or 90's.

Whatever You Do is a catchy song that (should you listen carefully to the lyrics) will give you a couple of laughs while also proving that there are still people out there who have nothing but support for those who are important in their lives, this line in particular managed to get a laugh “you want to be a surgeon, you say you have what it takes. You could end up killing your patients, but everyone makes mistakes.” The track itself has a very uplifting beat that flows well alongside the lyrics and, remember that “whatever you do is fine.”

There is one track I absolutely have to talk about and that would Nineteen Sixty-Five, hands down this one is my absolute favourite from the entire album (and quite possibly my favourite song of his overall). I couldn’t tell you exactly what it is I love about this song in particular, is it how smooth the backing tracks are? Is it the fact the song reminds me of my own nights out that haven’t exactly gone to plan? Or could it be that in this song he makes a direct reference to my favourite Beatles song, Helter Skelter, with the line “spent the night together in a London bus shelter, helter skelter on the radio everybody was feeling low.”

The final song I want to talk about is Rockin' And Rolling, it’s got that uniquely classic rock vibe that Craig does so well, and it has almost a ballad feel to it with the way he sings and the slower tempo plus the line “I was sorting through my memories, of how I always thought it had to be” gives it a “break up” sort of feel to it, which all the best ballads were written about right?

One Night Stand is set for release April 1st and will be available to purchase at iTunes, Amazon and Google Play.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

One Night Stand
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Good News
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart
11 Nov 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point?
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Just Like Yesterday
01 Oct 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
There is nothing bad that I can say about Just Like Yesterday, the new single from Christchurch Rock musician Craig Payne - the lyrics are incredibly catchy, and the backing track is light and makes me think of road trips in Summer while listening to this.I know Summer is little while away but with lines like “the times we had, it’s just like yesterday” I’m picking this to be my Summer song, I simply love how well the music and lyrics flow together and I believe it speaks volumes about Craig's experience as a musician.
Read More...
Oyawa - EP Review: The Mary Anning EP
31 Jul 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
Oyawa is a three-piece indie/alternative band hailing from Auckland, although the members come from all over, and is made up of the collective efforts of Brett Garrity, Miles Gillett and Nikki Ngatai.  Formed in late 2011, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of Oyawa and after listening to this EP I’ll be keeping an eye out for their upcoming shows - I suggest you do the same.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem