30 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bartells - Single Review: Mistaken

17 Mar 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Auckland’s Sam Bartell, who plays under the name Bartells, is a contemporary singer-songwriter with a country streak as wide as the Mississippi. He’s working towards an Australisian tour next year and is dropping new tunes like leaves drop in Autumn.

Mistaken is out this week and builds to a huge chorus. Sure, he’s got a country twang, but in this tune his vocal performance has borrowed a bit from Robbie Williams, especially as it enters the second chorus. Then there’s the tension building middle 8, and climaxing coda. Bartells really knows how to compose a pop song.

Mistaken is slickly produced and should be readily adopted by the few people who govern commercial radio playlists. Beginning with a piano melody which could be out of a Nick Cave song, a syncopated guitar part joins a couple of bars later, followed by bass and gentle drums, then Bartells begins singing at the lower end of his register.

In the old days of the 7” single there was an ‘a’ side, and a ‘b’ side, giving the listener a couple of songs at least, but those days are pretty much gone, with artists and their people releasing a single, one song, just one.

Bartells is fortunate he’s released such a good one.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bartells.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Gig Review: PRINS & Vikae @ Dive Bar, Dunedin - 26/09/2020
27 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
With most of New Zealand at Covid alert level 1, dancing is allowed at bars and clubs, and a good number of those who came along to see Auckland-based musicians PRINS and Vikae with local support from Molly Devine and Bryn Massey. Bryn Massey is the first of four women with amazing voices for the evening.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem