18 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?

15 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast. This new video and single Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes? is Fallstate doing what Fallstate do very well.

The song is apparently an ode to a friend of the band who is a bit of party animal and the video follows that theme with the band travelling around the countryside basically enjoying themselves and a few beers whilst baring their backsides (thank god they have good personal hygiene) at any opportunity and basically doing what boys do when the sun is shining and there is beer and water around. 

Sure, it is infantile but that is kind of the point. Think every video Blink 182 ever did taken up a few notches and then edged into "this will never get played on TV" territory. 

Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes? you may well ask. Well based on this tune he is about to become a legend outside the circle of his friends in Fallstate. I hope he has a strong liver as he may well become the guest de rigueur at every party in NZ. 

The song opens with a heavy driving riff which before heading off via enough instrumental hooks and vocal melodies to snag a whole stag party. Kurt's vocals hit all the sweet spots and his eye for a melody is insane. Multiple melodies running along side by side make the song hit instantly. This song doesn't just grow on you it stands up and screams "get in the car we are going for a ride".

To be honest I preferred listening without the video. The images are a condiment to the main meal and can distract from what is a killer of a song that will be stuck in your head for a long time. 

I don't know who Cameron Brookes is but if I ever meet him I want to shake his hand for inspiring yet another great slice of tongue in (bum) cheek pop punk from New Zealand's finest purveyors of musical mischief and mayhem.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fallstate

Interests include: Pop-Punk, Pizza, Cutoffs,Undercuts, Snapbacks, Beer, Metal, Jumping in time to breakdowns, Gigs, Bruce Willis movies, Star Wars, Dressing in drag and trying to pick up undercover police officers on K-Road.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fallstate

Releases

Summer Nights & City Lights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Friends
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem