23 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?

15 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast. This new video and single Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes? is Fallstate doing what Fallstate do very well.

The song is apparently an ode to a friend of the band who is a bit of party animal and the video follows that theme with the band travelling around the countryside basically enjoying themselves and a few beers whilst baring their backsides (thank god they have good personal hygiene) at any opportunity and basically doing what boys do when the sun is shining and there is beer and water around. 

Sure, it is infantile but that is kind of the point. Think every video Blink 182 ever did taken up a few notches and then edged into "this will never get played on TV" territory. 

Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes? you may well ask. Well based on this tune he is about to become a legend outside the circle of his friends in Fallstate. I hope he has a strong liver as he may well become the guest de rigueur at every party in NZ. 

The song opens with a heavy driving riff which before heading off via enough instrumental hooks and vocal melodies to snag a whole stag party. Kurt's vocals hit all the sweet spots and his eye for a melody is insane. Multiple melodies running along side by side make the song hit instantly. This song doesn't just grow on you it stands up and screams "get in the car we are going for a ride".

To be honest I preferred listening without the video. The images are a condiment to the main meal and can distract from what is a killer of a song that will be stuck in your head for a long time. 

I don't know who Cameron Brookes is but if I ever meet him I want to shake his hand for inspiring yet another great slice of tongue in (bum) cheek pop punk from New Zealand's finest purveyors of musical mischief and mayhem.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fallstate

Interests include: Pop-Punk, Pizza, Cutoffs,Undercuts, Snapbacks, Beer, Metal, Jumping in time to breakdowns, Gigs, Bruce Willis movies, Star Wars, Dressing in drag and trying to pick up undercover police officers on K-Road.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fallstate

Releases

Summer Nights & City Lights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Friends
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem