25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?

15 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast. This new video and single Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes? is Fallstate doing what Fallstate do very well.

The song is apparently an ode to a friend of the band who is a bit of party animal and the video follows that theme with the band travelling around the countryside basically enjoying themselves and a few beers whilst baring their backsides (thank god they have good personal hygiene) at any opportunity and basically doing what boys do when the sun is shining and there is beer and water around. 

Sure, it is infantile but that is kind of the point. Think every video Blink 182 ever did taken up a few notches and then edged into "this will never get played on TV" territory. 

Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes? you may well ask. Well based on this tune he is about to become a legend outside the circle of his friends in Fallstate. I hope he has a strong liver as he may well become the guest de rigueur at every party in NZ. 

The song opens with a heavy driving riff which before heading off via enough instrumental hooks and vocal melodies to snag a whole stag party. Kurt's vocals hit all the sweet spots and his eye for a melody is insane. Multiple melodies running along side by side make the song hit instantly. This song doesn't just grow on you it stands up and screams "get in the car we are going for a ride".

To be honest I preferred listening without the video. The images are a condiment to the main meal and can distract from what is a killer of a song that will be stuck in your head for a long time. 

I don't know who Cameron Brookes is but if I ever meet him I want to shake his hand for inspiring yet another great slice of tongue in (bum) cheek pop punk from New Zealand's finest purveyors of musical mischief and mayhem.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Fallstate

Interests include: Pop-Punk, Pizza, Cutoffs,Undercuts, Snapbacks, Beer, Metal, Jumping in time to breakdowns, Gigs, Bruce Willis movies, Star Wars, Dressing in drag and trying to pick up undercover police officers on K-Road.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fallstate

Releases

Summer Nights & City Lights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Friends
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem