18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Queen Neptune - Single Review: Edge of the Programmed World

15 Mar 2019 // A review by florencecohen

Your first encounter with Queen Neptune will always be memorable. A polite, older man who could joke about his massive leather briefcase, Karl was the perfect hotel lift companion when we met on Queen Street. A short while later, stumbling into the steaming Whammy Backroom I see Karl and Caoimhe (the other half of Queen Neptune) playing to a pulsing electro-pop audience half-drunk half-soaked in craft beer. It was mesmerising, albeit slightly disgusting.

Queen Neptune continue to provide an alternative to the Ariana Grande’s or J-Bieb’s of this world. Their songs are long, hypnotic and entrancing. But they’re listenable – it’s not café music. Their latest single Edge of the Programmed World is much darker than previous releases (Form Follows Function). In the past couple of years, Queen Neptune has become a much stronger, more electronic act, with a heavy goth-pop sound.

Edge of the Programmed World takes a strong beat and some Madonna-esque lyrics to the next level. There’s a Frankenstein electro-pop vibe here with that twinkling organ, as if you’re dancing through your favourite 90's movies in a black lacy outfit for the night. But this groovy track is also socially aware or enforcing the idea that we’re happily unaware. Who should be riding the wave of ‘the data baby’? As a member of Wellington’s SMART City, I understand what it means to be under constant surveillance – lunchtime walks up Cuba Street will never be casual. But life goes on regardless of cameras and microphones, and people love to walk and shop – Cuba Street is still in action! As Edge of the Programmed World continues, almost stumbling on the words, ‘I thought… But I didn’t…’ – sometimes it’s better not to notice.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Queen Neptune

Queen Neptune are: Dr. Karl Stevens (Supergroove, The Drab Doo Riffs, Heart Attack Alley) and Caoimhe Macfehin (The Drab Doo Riffs, Heart Attack Alley).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Queen Neptune

Releases

There are no releases to display for Queen Neptune.

Other Reviews By florencecohen

Carb On Carb - Single/Video Review: Man Says
14 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The accompanying vid for Carb on Carb’s latest emo single Man Says is intriguing, and yet I feel like I’ve seen it, and lived it, a few times before. An old dog made to try various hats, a bedroom filled with messy New Zealand stationary (the Warwick A5 makes an appearance), gluggy nail polish and Vans checked wristbands.
Read More...
Khandallah - Single Review: Never Did with Hunter Davison
14 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
Relationships are tough creatures to manoeuvre at any age, but particularly so when you’ve only just outgrown shopping at Hallensteins and made the bold and impressive move to step up to Barkers menswear. A smile here, a wave there, and a relationship is eagerly blossoming in Khandallah The Musical Artist’s eyes.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Album Review: Secret Intelligent Light
08 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The first time I listened to this album I was irritated. It felt like everything I had tried to escape from in a yoga class – it oozed smugness, knowing it was both overly woke and melodious, twinkling in all the right places.
Read More...
Jasmine Tilyard - Single Review: Take It To The Grave
28 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
I would not like to hurt Jasmine Tilyard. I’m sure she’s a sweet teenager under all that blonde angst, but honestly, I’d be terrified for my life and/or my reputation if ever we crossed paths.
Read More...
Polar Extremes - Album Review: Strange Visions 1
25 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
Polar Extremes has nicely packaged your worst fears in their latest album Strange Visions 1. Haunting depictions of the end of the world, madness, sadness and wasted time.
Read More...
Kaylee Bell - Single Review: Keith
20 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
It’s your classic Sunday ‘treat yourself’ evening – pizza, sweatpants, and a Netflix rom-com. By the time the camera finally pans away from the glossy couple with the perfect teeth, holding hands, walking away, you get this overwhelming big-heart-in-the-throat feeling.
Read More...
View All Articles By florencecohen

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem