18 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Carb On Carb - Single/Video Review: Man Says

14 Mar 2019 // A review by florencecohen

The accompanying vid for Carb on Carb’s latest emo single Man Says is intriguing, and yet I feel like I’ve seen it, and lived it, a few times before. An old dog made to try various hats, a bedroom filled with messy New Zealand stationary (the Warwick A5 makes an appearance), gluggy nail polish and Vans checked wristbands. Beyond the bright pink WordArt there was an underlying sadness – it felt like a Sticky TV makeover gone wrong.

Carb on Carb are making age-appropriate songs for themselves and their peer group, but their fan base extends far beyond just the teens in Auckland. Their latest single discusses the flatness, loneliness and extensive boredom teens face while growing up, and the lengths they’ll go to in order to change things up for a while.

There’s a real sadness in this song that shouldn’t be ignored, however cute the video is. If Carb on Carb are saying that their friends and other school kids they know are willing to change themselves to such an extent to pass time – surely this shouldn’t be ignored? We’ve all been teenagers (and we’ve all accidentally dyed our hair the wrong colour) but have we all prayed our accent would go away? Or our skin colour, sexuality or gender would change? It no longer sounds like teens acting out for the sake of acting out.

So, what can we learn from Man Says? Other than that, a dog looks adorable in pink sunnies and a sweatband, we have a lot of work to do with Kiwi youth. If the Auckland dream is to wait patiently until you leave high school, change your appearance and work in a vintage store, then our young people are not aiming high enough. Somewhere along the way we are letting them down, and perhaps, with teenage insight from Carb on Carb we’ll know where best to project that help. For now, enjoy the video for Man Says and have a bit of a jump around – sometimes a good dance makes all the difference.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Carb On Carb

Carb on Carb are James and Nicole from Auckland. They have toured consistently since releasing their first EP in 2012, around NZ, as well as internationally (Australia, Singapore, China and Malaysia). In February 2015, Carb on Carb released a self-titled album, earning many thumbs up, plenty of high-fives and a bunch of new fans.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Carb On Carb

Releases

Carb On Carb
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ladies Mile
Year: 2013
Type: EP
No Body Perfect
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By florencecohen

Queen Neptune - Single Review: Edge of the Programmed World
15 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
Your first encounter with Queen Neptune will always be memorable. A polite, older man who could joke about his massive leather briefcase, Karl was the perfect hotel lift companion when we met on Queen Street.
Read More...
Khandallah - Single Review: Never Did with Hunter Davison
14 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
Relationships are tough creatures to manoeuvre at any age, but particularly so when you’ve only just outgrown shopping at Hallensteins and made the bold and impressive move to step up to Barkers menswear. A smile here, a wave there, and a relationship is eagerly blossoming in Khandallah The Musical Artist’s eyes.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Album Review: Secret Intelligent Light
08 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The first time I listened to this album I was irritated. It felt like everything I had tried to escape from in a yoga class – it oozed smugness, knowing it was both overly woke and melodious, twinkling in all the right places.
Read More...
Jasmine Tilyard - Single Review: Take It To The Grave
28 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
I would not like to hurt Jasmine Tilyard. I’m sure she’s a sweet teenager under all that blonde angst, but honestly, I’d be terrified for my life and/or my reputation if ever we crossed paths.
Read More...
Polar Extremes - Album Review: Strange Visions 1
25 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
Polar Extremes has nicely packaged your worst fears in their latest album Strange Visions 1. Haunting depictions of the end of the world, madness, sadness and wasted time.
Read More...
Kaylee Bell - Single Review: Keith
20 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
It’s your classic Sunday ‘treat yourself’ evening – pizza, sweatpants, and a Netflix rom-com. By the time the camera finally pans away from the glossy couple with the perfect teeth, holding hands, walking away, you get this overwhelming big-heart-in-the-throat feeling.
Read More...
View All Articles By florencecohen

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem