18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Khandallah - Single Review: Never Did with Hunter Davison

14 Mar 2019 // A review by florencecohen

Relationships are tough creatures to manoeuvre at any age, but particularly so when you’ve only just outgrown shopping at Hallensteins and made the bold and impressive move to step up to Barkers menswear.

A smile here, a wave there, and a relationship is eagerly blossoming in Khandallah The Musical Artist’s eyes. After a week of expected late-night texting you’re willing to make the first move - changing your phone plan. You’ll probably need extra minutes if you and your ‘love bug’ are going to have those agonizingly long chats every day.

But a week goes by and still ‘your-forever-bae’ won’t say those three little words. Even when you pleaded with her. Your great romance is turning south pretty quickly Khandallah, but this always happens in the movies. It even happened to Noah in The Notebook.

Finally, after you’ve spent enough time moodily scuffing your feet in an affluent suburb near the home of ‘honey poodle’, you turn up unannounced. Not even a text. Or a SnapChat. This is bad news Khandallah. This screams the end. Or rather, she screams that this is the end.

Ah, love. An artist should never complain about his muse. But for Khandallah, a naïve young man who lost it all, singing his heartbreak away may help to ease the pain. Plus, it has a catchy chorus you won’t forget in a hurry (and neither will she I suppose).

Never Did tells the intimate, and deeply personal, story of a relationship breakdown. Paranoia, angst and jealousy continue to feed throughout the song, yet as Hunter Davison sings with a beautifully husky tone ‘never did I do you wrong’ it’s as if he continues to deny himself the chance to feel any uncertainty over his actions.

Davison sings with the brave confidence of youth, his voice never wavering unless he’s run out of breath. It’s not an emotional song for him anymore – this song is an anthem, it’s work, it’s revenge. An easy song to listen to, it clocks in at just over two and a half minutes – perfect for the radio. With a banging chorus, a relatable theme for both injured parties and a butter-wouldn’t-melt voice, he could be New Zealand’s version of George Ezra.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Khandallah

I like to chef up hooks.

Spotify Page


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Khandallah

Releases

There are no releases to display for Khandallah.

Other Reviews By florencecohen

Queen Neptune - Single Review: Edge of the Programmed World
15 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
Your first encounter with Queen Neptune will always be memorable. A polite, older man who could joke about his massive leather briefcase, Karl was the perfect hotel lift companion when we met on Queen Street.
Read More...
Carb On Carb - Single/Video Review: Man Says
14 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The accompanying vid for Carb on Carb’s latest emo single Man Says is intriguing, and yet I feel like I’ve seen it, and lived it, a few times before. An old dog made to try various hats, a bedroom filled with messy New Zealand stationary (the Warwick A5 makes an appearance), gluggy nail polish and Vans checked wristbands.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Album Review: Secret Intelligent Light
08 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The first time I listened to this album I was irritated. It felt like everything I had tried to escape from in a yoga class – it oozed smugness, knowing it was both overly woke and melodious, twinkling in all the right places.
Read More...
Jasmine Tilyard - Single Review: Take It To The Grave
28 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
I would not like to hurt Jasmine Tilyard. I’m sure she’s a sweet teenager under all that blonde angst, but honestly, I’d be terrified for my life and/or my reputation if ever we crossed paths.
Read More...
Polar Extremes - Album Review: Strange Visions 1
25 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
Polar Extremes has nicely packaged your worst fears in their latest album Strange Visions 1. Haunting depictions of the end of the world, madness, sadness and wasted time.
Read More...
Kaylee Bell - Single Review: Keith
20 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
It’s your classic Sunday ‘treat yourself’ evening – pizza, sweatpants, and a Netflix rom-com. By the time the camera finally pans away from the glossy couple with the perfect teeth, holding hands, walking away, you get this overwhelming big-heart-in-the-throat feeling.
Read More...
View All Articles By florencecohen

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem