13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Milk & Honey @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 08/03/2019

11 Mar 2019 // A review by Lou Clement

International Women’s Day, in my experience, is often not marked by celebrations other than something official in the news – something with flowers and over-privileged celebrity-like figures at the mic. It’s the first year I’ve lived in Auckland for it though, and to find that celebrations planned for the occasion with music performances taking place as part of a curated event were exciting. I was at the Whammy on Karangahape Road, Auckland, which opened the cross-venue doors to include the Wine Cellar. It was a warren of bars, excellent music and celebratory vibes.

At one point, I was at the bar and Montel Jordan’s 1995 single This Is How We Do It was playing - there was one person dancing and singing her heart out; based on my experience of the evening, I agree. I was out tonight to celebrate the trials, tribulations and successes of women across the world; whether this was my sister working hard to complete her PhD and work two jobs or international media reports of women fighting for justice or just to be safe. I’m an optimist, it was a thumbs up not a thumbs down; a need to look towards better standards and more opportunities in the coming year, I hope.

The Milk & Honey event took place over three cities, in four venues and brought together over twenty artists. It was billed as a festival, albeit one where you can’t get from one ‘tent’ to another, which is a shame in some ways as there were also acts at the sister event at the Powerstation in Auckland, which I would have loved to see.

It was a really excellent almost non-stop evening of great music. One of the first high points for me was unexpected. If International Women’s Day is about something, it might be about giving all types of women a platform to be heard, but also about seeing yourself in those people. There’s an inspirational strength in that. For me Chaii was a fierce, authentic act that brought originality not only through the blend of hip hop and electronica, characteristic of her tracks, and obviously because she was fantastic and fully supported by a large enthusiastic crowd. But also because she is from somewhere different and she wore the traditional dress of her home country. I really needed to hear that voice, I can’t tell you exactly why. Chaii is one to watch, catchy and infectious dance-inspiring music. She has real presence and a sense of performance which was both humble and effortlessly professional.

The night continued with acts overlapping in different rooms, but it was fine to wander from room to room, I’d taken a picture of the poster with the line-up times and between glasses of wine was just about making it to all the acts I wanted to see. I wonder if I missed an event compere, or whether there might have been a chance for other types of women artists to perform, or otherwise get involved. Maybe crafters or Feminist groups could have also been there during the day; or even poets. I might’ve have missed this though – there may have been other events going on.

With Whammy, the artists wander through the crowds though, and having been at a dozen or so gigs at this venue, I realise this is the thing that is sort of magic about the place. Especially when acts are coming on and off stage throughout the night. Dead Little Penny gave a tight and inspiring performance as expected, I just love their guitarist and his skillful performance was great to watch. There were moments during the set when the members of the band looked at each other and smiled, connecting over the tracks, beats and sort of making you feel though you are part of their private warm-up. It’s charming. I love Depression and Honeycomb – although this time they seemed to lack the volume that they needed.

I then made it over to the Whammy stage for Wax Chattels. Wax Chattels are a three-piece who I am a bit hesitant to categorise genre-wise. For me, as I danced away, I was thrilled by some of the industrial influences behind their tracks and it obviously came from a rock background. It was a noise which was different from anything I’ve heard in a long time. It was loud, dark and just my cup of tea. I loved every second of this set and it felt great to see the band in the intimate setting of the Whammy; you simply couldn’t be closer to the performance here. I’d made it to see most of the acts I’d wanted to. My spirit of celebration was wine and the bill of three or so hours of music was continuing.

Next I went to see Wellington duo Hex who took us into the late night hours with their, folk-inspired jangly electronic tracks. This event had enough blood in its veins and gristle in its muscle to inspire the most lukewarm supporters: the patriarchy can be toppled. For women everywhere, I salute you, especially for those bravely moving towards their dreams in oppressed regimes; hampered by cultural conflicts and facing difficulties brought by unfair expectations.

 

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Pitch Black @ Neck of the Woods, Auckland - 17/10/2019
18 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
The legendary Christchurch act Pitch Black whipped up an electronica storm at Neck of Woods, Auckland on their Third Light Tour on 17 October 2019. Taking the audience with them on a visual and musical journey, the duo kicked off their international tour, with this, their first date of twelve, which will take them to London, Amsterdam and Berlin over the coming months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 26/09/2019
04 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
Troy Kingi delivered a mash up of reggae, funk and soul as he debuted an album of politically laced tracks and performed for an enthusiastic crowd at the Tuning Fork in Auckland. This was the first of a three date New Zealand tour, following the release of his latest album Holy Colony Burning Acres and tonight he played to a sold out crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: JessB @ Raynham Park, Auckland
22 Sep 2019 // by Lou Clement
Artist JessB hit Auckland’s Raynham Park late on a Saturday night in September completing the third and final date of her New Views tour, following dates in Wellington and Christchurch. Special guests for the evening were Silva MC, Vayne and {half.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ghost Who Walks @ San Fran, Wellington - 14/09/2019
22 Sep 2019 // by Lou Clement
The venue was buzzing and continued to fill as the DJ warmed up the Saturday night crowd at Wellington’s famous music venue San Fran. On tonight’s bill was headline homegrown act Ghost Who Walks.
Read More...
Villainy - Villany @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 27/07/2019
31 Jul 2019 // by Lou Clement
The Powerstation was packed and as the clocked ticked on, the anticipation felt almost palpable. Villainy were there to play the last date on their tour, which was named after their new and third album Raised In The Dark, which, four years after the last one, was unleashed into the hands of their fans only three weeks prior.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - Album Review: The Road (Remastered)
22 May 2019 // by Lou Clement
Auckland-based musician Ben Ruegg’s album The Road, frets through emotion-laden lyrics and surges from an acoustic-indie tone to a rockier bent with nostalgic guitar solos and drums. The album is stitched together with Ruegg’s refined and considered vocals.
Read More...
Gig Review: Broods @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 16/05/2019
19 May 2019 // by Lou Clement
Broods have found international fame and success and welcoming them back to home turf was an enthusiastic crowd at the grand setting of Auckland Town Hall. Well known sister and brother duo, Georgia and Caleb Nott are Broods, and for this gig they were joined on stage by other musicians to accompany their set.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mermaidens @ Neck of the Woods - 13/04/2019
17 Apr 2019 // by Lou Clement
It was Record Store Day, and vinyl fans across the country were treated to special events and special releases from musicians who year on year support the event. Across Auckland, independent record stores opened their doors following advertising campaigns on the run up to day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem