23 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag

08 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.

The vocals are the immediate stand out as Mikey Brown has a voice and singing style that is perfectly suited to the laid back nature of the song. On further listens the intricacy of the music with the main guitar lick punctuating the melodies as the vocals weave in and out is seriously impressive.

At first I felt the track was a little long, but every future listen reveals more and more. There is a complexity and weight to the music. The vocal isn't the only melody as the rhythm section creates its own pulse throughout and all is delivered through an alt rock filter.

There is no stand out chorus, no big sing along moment. The music swirls as the song grows until it reaches a peak and then stops.

Pass On The Flag is prog for the indie set, pop for the rockers and just the right side of heavy for radio.

With a new album on the way it will be interesting to see what follows as Outside In continue on a musical journey that clearly wants to push the boundaries while remaining easily listenable.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Outside In

Auckland four-piece Outside In play a rich tapestry of psychedelic and progressive pop sounds, highlighted by the soaring vocals of singer Mikey Brown. Inviting and alluring, strange and wonderful, the songs careen between places of dark and light, breakneck fast and stormcloud slow, while their live set and accompanying visuals provoke an intoxicating blend of distress and comfort.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Outside In

Releases

The Nature of Dreams
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem