23 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jasmine Tilyard - Single Review: Take It To The Grave

28 Feb 2019 // A review by florencecohen

I would not like to hurt Jasmine Tilyard. I’m sure she’s a sweet teenager under all that blonde angst, but honestly, I’d be terrified for my life and/or my reputation if ever we crossed paths.

People have said the same thing about Taylor Swift though, an obvious influence on Tilyard. Swift’s resurgence of sexualised themes of violence, betrayal and loss ultimately resulting in the temptresses revenge have become a powerful force in the music world – causing ex-boyfriends, ex-managers and those who once carelessly selfied with the long-legged star to put away their phones and be cautiously scanned.

Jasmine’s also a young country singer. Starting out like Swift, her blonde curls hitting just past her shoulders, she’s probably got the voice and the hair to fill town halls in New Zealand. But unlike Swift, she’s younger. She needs room to grow. At seventeen you can’t have that much emotional baggage to dive into, so I understand the need for a repetitive chorus. Jasmine’s previous song Just A Game showcased her vocal range much better than Take It To The Grave. However, having been a seventeen-year-old young woman recently, I know how fun it is to dress up in black and sing about reprisal, so I can’t blame her really.

What I can say about all of Jasmine’s work to date is that it would be great as club music. Listening to Just A Game and waiting for the drop that never came was nerve-wracking, and the same could be said for Take It To The Grave. A country singer with a bit of crossover could be just what New Zealand needs, and just what Jasmine needs to give her a boost – she’s only young after all.

A mature song like this needs a mature singer behind it, and today it’s just not Jasmine. But that’s OK, because one day it will be. And when that time comes, Jasmine will be writing something less repetitive and far less mastered. Plus, she’ll have more material under her belt if she wants to continue with the revenge theme. I look forward to hearing more from Jasmine Tilyard, and one day I hope to hear that club remix – fingers crossed Jasmine!

Rating: ( 2 / 5 )
 

About Jasmine Tilyard

Jasmine Tilyard is Auckland's newest pop-star in the making.

Despite her age, 17-year-old Jasmine has already won awards at NZ Country Music Association competitions, been nominated for the Rising Star award at the Benny Awards, as well as earning herself the title of Junior Entertainer of the Year.

Take It To The Grave is the first single from her upcoming EP, due for release late 2019, and will be available on all digital platforms from Friday March 1st, 2019.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jasmine Tilyard

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jasmine Tilyard.

Other Reviews By florencecohen

Queen Neptune - Single Review: Edge of the Programmed World
15 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
Your first encounter with Queen Neptune will always be memorable. A polite, older man who could joke about his massive leather briefcase, Karl was the perfect hotel lift companion when we met on Queen Street.
Read More...
Carb On Carb - Single/Video Review: Man Says
14 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The accompanying vid for Carb on Carb’s latest emo single Man Says is intriguing, and yet I feel like I’ve seen it, and lived it, a few times before. An old dog made to try various hats, a bedroom filled with messy New Zealand stationary (the Warwick A5 makes an appearance), gluggy nail polish and Vans checked wristbands.
Read More...
Khandallah - Single Review: Never Did with Hunter Davison
14 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
Relationships are tough creatures to manoeuvre at any age, but particularly so when you’ve only just outgrown shopping at Hallensteins and made the bold and impressive move to step up to Barkers menswear. A smile here, a wave there, and a relationship is eagerly blossoming in Khandallah The Musical Artist’s eyes.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Album Review: Secret Intelligent Light
08 Mar 2019 // by florencecohen
The first time I listened to this album I was irritated. It felt like everything I had tried to escape from in a yoga class – it oozed smugness, knowing it was both overly woke and melodious, twinkling in all the right places.
Read More...
Polar Extremes - Album Review: Strange Visions 1
25 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
Polar Extremes has nicely packaged your worst fears in their latest album Strange Visions 1. Haunting depictions of the end of the world, madness, sadness and wasted time.
Read More...
Kaylee Bell - Single Review: Keith
20 Feb 2019 // by florencecohen
It’s your classic Sunday ‘treat yourself’ evening – pizza, sweatpants, and a Netflix rom-com. By the time the camera finally pans away from the glossy couple with the perfect teeth, holding hands, walking away, you get this overwhelming big-heart-in-the-throat feeling.
Read More...
View All Articles By florencecohen

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem