25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days

27 Feb 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.

Sam Loveridge is very clever with lyrics. He is a talented songwriter and musician. I can also attest to the fact he is a superb violinist. However, what this single release has done, apart from showcase his unique style of music, is show that he has a good sense of humour. You have to watch the video that is the back drop to Better Days to appreciate the entire package. It is funny and well put together. Light-hearted and slightly dark at the same time. I laughed.

Better Days has a jazzy blues sound to it with a touch of brass accompanying the guitar. The fast paced vocals which do not lend themselves to a sing along; complement the instrumentals. A thoughtful catchy chorus tells us “I could’ve learnt a better lesson on a better day” which encouraged me to go over the lyrics several times. The carefree tone of the music and video don’t reflect the almost sad lyrics. Maybe that is why it all works well together. It feels a little tongue in cheek.

This is a clever light-hearted look into office politics, a subject many of us deal with on a daily basis. I loved the humour which shone through on this track, it is refreshing.

With Sam's background in music, performing and teaching and his past endeavours with bands such as Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella, his new album will be one to look out for. Better Days is a tasty starter.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Sam Loveridge

A prolific multi-instrumentalist, Sam Loveridge has worked with the likes of Mice On Stilts, Callum Gentleman, Gitbox Rebellion and Estella.

He is due to release his debut single, Better Days on March 1st, with his album, Clarity, following closely in late March.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Loveridge

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam Loveridge.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem