20 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Cherry Blind - Single Review: Black Sheep

26 Feb 2019 // A review by Kris Raven

Cherry Blind (formally known as Minimal Silence) have recently dropped 1 minute and 25 seconds of adrenaline soaked punk-rock-grunge-noise in the form of brand new single Black Sheep. A name change can always go a few ways but with a new single following afterwards, people can be rest assured they are coming out of the 2019 gates swinging and ready to launch.

The intro of this song took me straight back to nineties skate punk, with the double guitar interplay and then a huge Dave Grohl sounding snare roll (courtesy of drummer Mark Tohovaka) which reminds of Nirvana's Territorial Pissings. There's an interesting mix of rock sub-genre crossover and it works. It's got the clear straight forward Cali Punk rock sound and speed with grunge overtones in the vocals and then a bit of early self-titled Foo Fighters.

Production is sleek, solid and crisp. Super clear instrumentation, they have worked with the likes of Six60's Chris Mac and Simon Gooding whose credits include Pink and Devilskin, so they have some heavy hitters in production, and it shows. This is the first song to also include new guitarist Asher Pirani and alongside Sebastian Munro, the guitar sound is well filled out and adds a bigger impact to their overall sound.

Vocalist/Bassist Logan Anderson sings with a controlled intensity. He's making a point but it's clear and controlled. I like the addition of the screamed background vocals, particularity fitting with the lyrical content, it's got a political feel but not overstated or preachy, "we're not for sale, we're not yours to claim". The chorus is catchy with some good melodic hooks. While the majority of the guitar riffs are familiar, it is the nature of the genre and they have done well to make a memorable song with a short run time.

Be sure to catch Cherry Blind supporting Skinny Hobos this weekend at an All Ages showdown in Grey Lynn, they will certainly bring a massive show.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Cherry Blind

Cherry Blind, formerly known as Minimal Silence is a four-piece band based in Auckland, New Zealand, their sound falls under the grunge rock genre. After winning Smokefree Rockquest in 2017 they released their first single House of Flies, which went on to place 1150th in ‘The Rock 1500’. They have also been heavily supported by The Rock FM, and regularly feature on the station. Throughout 2018 they have played gigs all over the North Island, including selling out a Wellington show at Valhalla. Cherry Blind have played with many New Zealand bands including Written by Wolves, Dead Favours and Skinny Hobos. While also opening the Storm The Gates festival in front of 10,000 people alongside international Limp Bizkit, Sublime and Suicidal Tendencies.

While building their repertoire throughout 2018 Cherry Blind have played a multitude of underground venues along Auckland's K road, including the Neck of the Woods, Galatos and the Kings Arms Tavern before its closure. They have also been working with Chris Mac from Six60 and Simon Gooding at Roundhead Studios on their debut album, due for staged release throughout 2019.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cherry Blind

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cherry Blind.

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

DRXNES - EP Review: Rattlesnake
21 Feb 2019 // by Kris Raven
Whanganui 5-piece DRXNES released their latest EP Rattlesnake in January, beginning the year with three incredibly impressive and diverse tracks that take influence from multiple rock and metal sub genres but imprint the DRXNES stamp of solid song craftmanship, complexity and originality. The title track Rattlesnake opens with a hiss and then a roar of an opening riff that is set for the mosh to open up.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - Single Review: Monachopsis
04 Feb 2019 // by Kris Raven
Monachopsis"the subtle but persistent feeling of being out of place….”Surrounded but always alone is the statement and message that carries throughout Monachopsis.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single/Video Review: On Fire
06 Dec 2018 // by Kris Raven
The whole 'rock is dead thing' is becoming a little painful to hear these days. Sure, we get it, mainstream rock is dead to some, but like the rest of the world, NZ has some incredible rock music!
Read More...
Written by Wolves - EP Review: Prologue
14 Nov 2018 // by Kris Raven
Firstly, let’s start by saying, Finally! Written by Wolves have dropped their debut extended play Prologue and I imagine for the band and fans this has been a long time coming.
Read More...
Blair Jollands - Album Review: 7 Blood
08 Aug 2018 // by Kris Raven
I had never heard of Blair Jollands before, and I am always open for artists I have not yet discovered that can blow my mind. When I first heard the first single 7 Blood I was not disappointed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem