25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb

25 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.

Then all of a sudden just as I am about to squirt saline to clear my earplugs the sneaky bastards up the pace, the energy and get all rancid on me!

By no means the best opening track but a shifty bugger, Shed thrashes more than a bag of snakes towards the end and leaves me with a kind of buzzy headache. It is the musical equivalent of a night on the Lion Reds.

The lyrical cliches keep coming on Tour Bus but the songs pace, which is faster than a boy racer on Te Rapa straight distracts enough to keep it interesting.

By Generation Bender I think I have Suckafish all summed up. It’s another thrashy punk song in the vein of NOFX and by now I am at the point of thinking I have heard it all before but there is a niggling vibe that I can't shake. For some reason I still want to keep listening.

Something makes me think that there is more to this than all the "ha ha lets sing about getting pissed" routine. Maybe it is because Suckafish do what they do really well?

Then it happens.

Whilst Suicide Tuesday could never be described as a subtle attempt to highlight the fact that life can be seriously shit sometimes it is where Suckafish show their real potential.

A completely unexpected piano intro leads into a blasting punk riff with lyrics that for the first time I can relate to. OK, it is subtle as a brick to the face and over as soon as it starts but this one got my attention.

Now I am confused. I can’t make sense of what I have heard over the last 15 mins. I don't know if I like it or hate it. My mind is a mess and final track Janitor Man doesn’t clean it up for me.

It is a complete headfuck of a song where I haven’t got a clue what they are singing about. All I can say to sum it up is It is better than Shed and not as good as Suicide Tuesday.

Honestly I have played this EP over and over again. Why?

Suckafish are the most frustratingly good/bad band I have heard in a while.

I love the attitude. I hate the “oh that’s funny (but not really)” lyrics.

I love Suicide Tuesday for every reason I don’t like some of the other songs (see, I said I was confused).

You know what. It’s just my opinion but go see Suckafish and buy the EP You won’t be disappointed.

Listening to this collection of hard rocking, tongue in cheek madness is like a night out on the piss. There’s a buzz, there’s a laugh, there’s a come down.

Once I had heard it all, leapt around a bit then threw up I just wanted to put it back on even louder and do it all again

Enjoy

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Suckafish

Nasty Punk from the depths of the Coromandel.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Suckafish

Releases

Berley Bomb
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem