18 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb

25 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.

Then all of a sudden just as I am about to squirt saline to clear my earplugs the sneaky bastards up the pace, the energy and get all rancid on me!

By no means the best opening track but a shifty bugger, Shed thrashes more than a bag of snakes towards the end and leaves me with a kind of buzzy headache. It is the musical equivalent of a night on the Lion Reds.

The lyrical cliches keep coming on Tour Bus but the songs pace, which is faster than a boy racer on Te Rapa straight distracts enough to keep it interesting.

By Generation Bender I think I have Suckafish all summed up. It’s another thrashy punk song in the vein of NOFX and by now I am at the point of thinking I have heard it all before but there is a niggling vibe that I can't shake. For some reason I still want to keep listening.

Something makes me think that there is more to this than all the "ha ha lets sing about getting pissed" routine. Maybe it is because Suckafish do what they do really well?

Then it happens.

Whilst Suicide Tuesday could never be described as a subtle attempt to highlight the fact that life can be seriously shit sometimes it is where Suckafish show their real potential.

A completely unexpected piano intro leads into a blasting punk riff with lyrics that for the first time I can relate to. OK, it is subtle as a brick to the face and over as soon as it starts but this one got my attention.

Now I am confused. I can’t make sense of what I have heard over the last 15 mins. I don't know if I like it or hate it. My mind is a mess and final track Janitor Man doesn’t clean it up for me.

It is a complete headfuck of a song where I haven’t got a clue what they are singing about. All I can say to sum it up is It is better than Shed and not as good as Suicide Tuesday.

Honestly I have played this EP over and over again. Why?

Suckafish are the most frustratingly good/bad band I have heard in a while.

I love the attitude. I hate the “oh that’s funny (but not really)” lyrics.

I love Suicide Tuesday for every reason I don’t like some of the other songs (see, I said I was confused).

You know what. It’s just my opinion but go see Suckafish and buy the EP You won’t be disappointed.

Listening to this collection of hard rocking, tongue in cheek madness is like a night out on the piss. There’s a buzz, there’s a laugh, there’s a come down.

Once I had heard it all, leapt around a bit then threw up I just wanted to put it back on even louder and do it all again

Enjoy

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Suckafish

Nasty Punk from the depths of the Coromandel.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Suckafish

Releases

Berley Bomb
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem