19 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Abby Wolfe - Gig Review: Abby Wolfe @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 23/02/2019

24 Feb 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Abby Wolfe, along with her drummer and keyboardist took to the stage about 10.30pm. Beginning with a heart-felt thanks to her hometown audience, she tells the 100 or so people there that she’s glad to be home and is thankful for being welcomed back.

Her second song Lonely In Company is a true standout piece. It’s a huge call to play a song which has clocked up 300,000 streams in a month, and it certainly gets the crowd dancing. I have to say, I prefer this live version, as the recorded version has so much auto tune on it. Auto tune is good if someone can’t sing in tune, but that’s not an affliction Abby suffers from. Playing this tune is a hell of a homecoming.

Abby is on the verge of crossing into the mainstream, having achieved commercial radio airplay, and that was evident by the definite split in the age of punters. There were people who remember Abby from her days as an impressive young talent in Dunedin, to the much younger set all of who all knew the words to the songs which have been on mainstream radio.

There are technical difficulties from the outset, particularly with the drummer’s backing tracks.

Breakdown is the third song, and it’s a brilliant version, especially when played live.

Upside Down is another new song which her commercial radio fans love, and I'm sure they'll sing along as soon as they learn the chorus.

When she left Dunedin her voice, both as an instrument and as a songwriter, was already developing and two years of living and creating in Auckland with producers has sharpened and developed her skills. Damn Abby; you've changed, and it's good.

She announces the fourth song is her next single Change My Mind and says 'it's about being indecisive'.

She has the ability to write a catchy as hell song. Hey Abby, APRA silver scroll, Change My Mind is a contender for the 2019 song of the year.

Abby's next song in is Lose Myself, which she says is the song she’s ‘most proud of ever’... “It’s an experience that happened, [when we were writing it] I sung through the first verse and burst into tears.”

It is a nice ballad, and the version is OK despite the tech gremlins striking again.

Win You Over is another new song the youthful knew and sang to her and each other. As an old bugger it is wonderful to see youngsters really loving live music.

And with that, that’s it. Abby tells the crowd they hadn’t rehearsed an encore. Which is frightfully amateur for one with the opportunity to really break through and make it.

After the audience cheers descend into a stunned silence and muttering, a punter calls out for a song, she obliges with “the first song I ever wrote”.

Someone in showbiz once said: it’s always good to leave the crowd wanting more. Mission accomplished Abby.

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Abby Wolfe.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Shakes and the Troublemakers - Mid-Winter Shin-Dig @ Waitati Hall, Waitati - 29/06/19
30 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waitati is a seaside village 30 minutes’ drive north of Dunedin. It’s a melting pot of alternative life-stylers, academics and a plethora of other folk.
Read More...
Hobnail - Album Review: Boots And All
29 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington band Hobnail is celebrating 25 years of making music with an album called, Boots and All. The LP spanning the band’s first quarter of a century is out this week and the band is set to tour the country in July.
Read More...
ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Album Review: Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds
01 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Hailing from the late 1980's, Hallelujah Picassos have a bunch of history, having released a mini album on cassette in 1989. Fast forward to 2019 the band’s 5th album Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds follows reissues in 2011/2012, which saw Hallelujah Picassos returned to the live scene, playing a handful of shows with the likes of The Drab Doo Riffs and Labretta Suede and the Motel Six.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field
11 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem