25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Abby Wolfe - Gig Review: Abby Wolfe @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 23/02/2019

24 Feb 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Abby Wolfe, along with her drummer and keyboardist took to the stage about 10.30pm. Beginning with a heart-felt thanks to her hometown audience, she tells the 100 or so people there that she’s glad to be home and is thankful for being welcomed back.

Her second song Lonely In Company is a true standout piece. It’s a huge call to play a song which has clocked up 300,000 streams in a month, and it certainly gets the crowd dancing. I have to say, I prefer this live version, as the recorded version has so much auto tune on it. Auto tune is good if someone can’t sing in tune, but that’s not an affliction Abby suffers from. Playing this tune is a hell of a homecoming.

Abby is on the verge of crossing into the mainstream, having achieved commercial radio airplay, and that was evident by the definite split in the age of punters. There were people who remember Abby from her days as an impressive young talent in Dunedin, to the much younger set all of who all knew the words to the songs which have been on mainstream radio.

There are technical difficulties from the outset, particularly with the drummer’s backing tracks.

Breakdown is the third song, and it’s a brilliant version, especially when played live.

Upside Down is another new song which her commercial radio fans love, and I'm sure they'll sing along as soon as they learn the chorus.

When she left Dunedin her voice, both as an instrument and as a songwriter, was already developing and two years of living and creating in Auckland with producers has sharpened and developed her skills. Damn Abby; you've changed, and it's good.

She announces the fourth song is her next single Change My Mind and says 'it's about being indecisive'.

She has the ability to write a catchy as hell song. Hey Abby, APRA silver scroll, Change My Mind is a contender for the 2019 song of the year.

Abby's next song in is Lose Myself, which she says is the song she’s ‘most proud of ever’... “It’s an experience that happened, [when we were writing it] I sung through the first verse and burst into tears.”

It is a nice ballad, and the version is OK despite the tech gremlins striking again.

Win You Over is another new song the youthful knew and sang to her and each other. As an old bugger it is wonderful to see youngsters really loving live music.

And with that, that’s it. Abby tells the crowd they hadn’t rehearsed an encore. Which is frightfully amateur for one with the opportunity to really break through and make it.

After the audience cheers descend into a stunned silence and muttering, a punter calls out for a song, she obliges with “the first song I ever wrote”.

Someone in showbiz once said: it’s always good to leave the crowd wanting more. Mission accomplished Abby.

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Abby Wolfe.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Bartells - Single Review: Mistaken
17 Mar 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland’s Sam Bartell, who plays under the name Bartells, is a contemporary singer-songwriter with a country streak as wide as the Mississippi. He’s working towards an Australisian tour next year and is dropping new tunes like leaves drop in Autumn.
Read More...
Rob Joass - Album Review: Pencarrow
28 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Pencarrow is the third album released by musician Rob Joass, who calls the Kapiti Coast home, or Turangawaiwai, if you will. With more than 25 years as a musician under his belt he’s no stranger to writing, playing and recording music to a high standard.
Read More...
Seafog - Album Review: Animal Lovers
27 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band Seafog have been together through the mists of time in one way, shape, form or another for many years with singer and guitarist Robin Sharma. Animal Lovers is the third album from Seafog and was released by Zelle Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ciaran McMeeken & Dan Sharp @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 16/02/2019
17 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a disclaimer, I knew absolutely nothing about neither Ciaran McMeeken nor Dan Sharp prior to the gig, so I arranged my +1 to be Dunedin songwriter Bronwyn Halley. She’s in the same generational band as Ciaran, and as it turned out, was a very knowledgeable accomplice.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Cloudwatcher’s Soul
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The debut album from brothers Matthew & Ben Furniss, is a concept album with a single loosely themed narrative of the kidnapping of the muse 'Cloudwatcher' and the eventual reuniting with the central character. The melody and lyrics manage to tie the theme together quite well.
Read More...
Little Dove - EP Review Buried in the Backyard
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Not particularly loquacious, and certainly not overly verbose, are probably the best ways to describe the web pages of an Auckland 17-year-old woman who’s recording music as Little Dove. Her Bandcamp page says “This EP is a collection of music made, entirely and messily in my little sleep out, by myself.
Read More...
Tiny Ruins - Album Review: Olympic Girls
15 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a proud owner of the Tiny Ruins mini LP Hurtling Through, which was recorded with Hamish Kilgour (The Clean, The Great Unwashed etc) my anticipation levels for this LP were high. Not quite Johnny Cash eating cake in a bush high, but pretty up there.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Universe
11 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Tauranga based band Electric Universe says 2019 is a year of completion for them, with their self-titled album being one of a few projects being completed during the course of the year. The band’s name should give a little away; the first four songs, from City Boy through to Acid Train, all having influence from Hendrix to Santana but with the subtlety and restraint of Hendrix, and not the album length solos of prog rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem