24 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Abby Wolfe - Gig Review: Abby Wolfe @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 23/02/2019

24 Feb 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Abby Wolfe, along with her drummer and keyboardist took to the stage about 10.30pm. Beginning with a heart-felt thanks to her hometown audience, she tells the 100 or so people there that she’s glad to be home and is thankful for being welcomed back.

Her second song Lonely In Company is a true standout piece. It’s a huge call to play a song which has clocked up 300,000 streams in a month, and it certainly gets the crowd dancing. I have to say, I prefer this live version, as the recorded version has so much auto tune on it. Auto tune is good if someone can’t sing in tune, but that’s not an affliction Abby suffers from. Playing this tune is a hell of a homecoming.

Abby is on the verge of crossing into the mainstream, having achieved commercial radio airplay, and that was evident by the definite split in the age of punters. There were people who remember Abby from her days as an impressive young talent in Dunedin, to the much younger set all of who all knew the words to the songs which have been on mainstream radio.

There are technical difficulties from the outset, particularly with the drummer’s backing tracks.

Breakdown is the third song, and it’s a brilliant version, especially when played live.

Upside Down is another new song which her commercial radio fans love, and I'm sure they'll sing along as soon as they learn the chorus.

When she left Dunedin her voice, both as an instrument and as a songwriter, was already developing and two years of living and creating in Auckland with producers has sharpened and developed her skills. Damn Abby; you've changed, and it's good.

She announces the fourth song is her next single Change My Mind and says 'it's about being indecisive'.

She has the ability to write a catchy as hell song. Hey Abby, APRA silver scroll, Change My Mind is a contender for the 2019 song of the year.

Abby's next song in is Lose Myself, which she says is the song she’s ‘most proud of ever’... “It’s an experience that happened, [when we were writing it] I sung through the first verse and burst into tears.”

It is a nice ballad, and the version is OK despite the tech gremlins striking again.

Win You Over is another new song the youthful knew and sang to her and each other. As an old bugger it is wonderful to see youngsters really loving live music.

And with that, that’s it. Abby tells the crowd they hadn’t rehearsed an encore. Which is frightfully amateur for one with the opportunity to really break through and make it.

After the audience cheers descend into a stunned silence and muttering, a punter calls out for a song, she obliges with “the first song I ever wrote”.

Someone in showbiz once said: it’s always good to leave the crowd wanting more. Mission accomplished Abby.

 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Abby Wolfe.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Miss Leading - Album Review: Minor Thing
23 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
When reviewing albums by artists you’ve never heard of can be a lottery, sometimes you don’t quite ‘get’ the album, and sometimes you’re like ‘wow’. Minor Thing by Miss Leading is totally in the ‘wow’ category.
Read More...
Gig Review: Drax Project @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 02/06/2021
04 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland based singer AACACIA was onstage and singing with her band as many people walked in at 7:25pm ahead of the advertised start time. In 2019 AACACIA posted a clip asking to play support to Drax Project, and last night she did.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PERMISSION TO DANCE
    BTS
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem