25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Devaur - Album Review: Product Of A Vision

23 Feb 2019 // A review by James Castady-Kristament

Devaur is a West Auckland Producer and MC who has been dedicated to his craft for over 10 years. Producing numerous projects, music videos and mix tapes including albums for Synteck and Manix not to mention his numerous features and collaborations.

Devaur's latest offering Product Of A Vision is a 9-track mix tape featuring some of Auckland's most prolific MC’s Pakkz Tha General, Alpha, Ryvalis, Synteck, Dlar Madwar, KD Lok and D.N.C. get involved with this distinctly West Auckland drop.

West Auckland is developing a certain sound from its incestuous nature, with a large group of MC’s regularly collaborating and releasing projects. Insuring the music is seeded by the same minds and each release is keeping the others in the lime light. A smart move from the hardest working corner of the Auckland hip-hop scene.

How would I describe this sound that I speak of? I would start by saying the first thing I notice is that the rappers sound like young NZ Maori, with their strong local flavour breaking through in the delivery. I haven’t heard a lot of ultra-contemporary Trap styles or the new basic cornball flow of Soundcloud Rap on this album. The West are sticking to what they like and it’s not the new wave. It’s more traditional flow and towards the end of the album Lyrical Murda demonstrates the double time chopper style of rapping the west of Auckland is becoming known for. Thank goodness I say. The production on Product Of A Vision is creative in its own right. Ignoring the waves of calorie free junk music recently coming from the States. The MC’s dig deep into a not so distant past to bring a faster paced flow.

The vocals are garnished with the occasional autotune and detuned vocals associated with contemporary Hip Hop and Trap, indicating that they have been paying attention to the Soundcloud rap phenomenon, but have gleaned the production technics of the style while leaving the wack flows with the rightful owners.

I like the rock flavour of the songs of What’s Good and Get It with a rock guitar playing 3 chord riffs over some fat boom bap and aggressive vocals.

I find Devaur’s approach to music very creative and this project is quite adventurous with its production. It has an Indie feel to the music, home grown but competent and bursting with lyrical talent.

The mix tape starts off with an introduction from Devaur and flows down a wavy river of floaty music. Then the 808’s drop and Pakkz Tha Generals deep voice punctuates the start of the verses, followed by Devaur, Alpha and Ryvalis.

Track 2 Motivation is 808’s and Trap drums with the West Auckland's signature West Coast influenced flows getting combined with raw dark energy.

Track 3 Blame Me introduces the rock feel of the album with a U2 type guitar line accentuated with claps and dope flows from the team Devaur, Alpha P.T.G Dlar & KD Lok.

Track 4. New Year Flow is a West Coast influenced old school feel joint, with probably the most commercial Radio potential on the album.

My interest started really peaking with track 5, the fast paced psychedelic rock infused Magic Man. I like how Devaur put this together. The samples are put together smoothly, flowing between Hip Hop and Rock effortlessly. Reminiscent of Eminem's use of the Dream On sample by Aerosmith.

Track 6 is pretty interesting production with a combination of live drums and 808 drum machines. Devaur and D.N.C grace the vocals with some dope chopping.

I like this project and I think you will like it too. You can download it for free from Datpiff Here.

Or check it out on Soundcloud Here.

And YouTube Here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By James Castady-Kristament

Factor - EP Review: Champions of the Digital World
30 Jan 2019 // by James Castady-Kristament
  The west side of Auckland is back in full effect with Factor's latest release Champions of the Digital World, which features many of west Auckland's finest MC’s including heavy hitters Pakkz Tha General, Alpha, Dlar, {K.A.
Read More...
Gig Reivew: Wu Tang Clan @ The Trusts Arena, Auckland - 14/12/2018
16 Dec 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
The most iconic and arguably the best Hip-Hop group of all time graced West Auckland's Trust Arena on Friday night to celebrate 25 years of the Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) album, which they performed in its entirety.  The night started with DJ Sir-Vere and MC JB the War Villain followed by local Hip Hop group SWIDT who dropped tracks from their debut album including Ric Flair and No Emotion In The Wild.
Read More...
Zams Feat Zed Koen - Single/Video Review: New Money
05 Dec 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
New Money is the hot new music video from Zaman Lewis AKA Zams, featuring rapper Zed Koen New Money brings the new school rules to the ring with their contemporary trap styles. Vibrant cinematography makes this video pop with colour and movement.
Read More...
SWIDT - EP Review: The Most Electrifying
15 Aug 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Onehunga's own SWIDT have released their 6-song EP The Most Electrifying. SWIDT's style is in the same contemporary direction as American Superstars J Cole and Migos, but with SWIDT’s exceptional talent of translating their big personalities, humour, wit and vibe to their records.
Read More...
Icepro - Single Review: Last Breath
24 Jul 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Icepro’s new single Last Breath, featuring Piri Mac, is a tribute to West Coast 90’s Gangster rap with a nod to the hook from the 1997 hit Going Back To Cali by Notorious B.I.
Read More...
Esoligh - Album Review: Brightness Sparks
08 Jul 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Brightness Sparks by Esoligh is a 14-track album of conscious boom bap. The album runs for 54 minutes.
Read More...
ABRZY - Single Review: Top Down
01 May 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
ABRZY is a Wellington based Hip-Hop artist. His style is contemporary Hip Hop/Trap and his new single Top Down is not too dissimilar to Drake.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Glass
12 Feb 2018 // by James Castady-Kristament
Beautiful rendition of Bowie's classic Ashes to Ashes exactly note for note to my ear. Can't believe he played every instrument himself!
Read More...
View All Articles By James Castady-Kristament

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem