25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose

22 Feb 2019 // A review by Jessie Armstrong

Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.

The soul evidence is right there from the very first track Apple Tree, which comes with a slight reggae feel in the beat that gives it a laid back approach, and makes me think of sitting on a beach somewhere pining over a lost relationship “all alone sitting underneath an apple tree and I keep pining, waiting on you”.

The fifth track on the album, Hanvey HotLap, is once again another visually inspiring song as I can actually picture someone messaging their partner telling them they they’re going to be late home because their night out is going well “it goes 1 times 2, 3 times 4, I’ve got two dozen whiskey bottles knocking at your door, take 5 by 6, 7 more by 8, send a message to my girl because I’ll be home late.”

The eighth track on the album is Video Games, and it’s a song that I could hear being played at almost any bar, it has a real slow dance and sexy feel to it. This track is already my feel good dance song from this album, and I know that I’m going to play this a lot (as if I haven’t already).

The final song I want to talk about is the tenth track Long Way Home. The lyrics remind me of when a long term relationship breaks down and one person believes that everything that has gone wrong is the other person's fault and they refuse to take responsibility for their part. The emotional response I had with this song was a relatively strong one, but I mean that in the very best possible way. That’s why I really enjoyed this album as a whole, every single track enlists some sort of emotional response whether it makes me want to get up and dance or causes you to reflect on things from the past. This makes it an incredible release.

You simply can’t go wrong with this album, it’s got so much going for it and I've added to my personal list of favourites that I will be recommending to anyone and everyone I can.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About ManaLion

Two brothers (most likely from different mothers) maybe we met in Manly in 2012 on Sydney's Northern Beaches, maybe we met on Mars, maybe we met by a bin fire floating wayward on a raft between the North and South Islands of Aotearoa as the full moon kept us moving... Either way we two brothers met, and we met to make music to make you sway and dance and swing and sweat. Music to make love to the mind, soul and ears of your sister, wife, your mistress. We met to sing of love and trouble, of leisure and life.

Between this deadly duo comes a combination of musical influences from Soul to Roots, Funk to DnB, Gangsta Rap to Hardcore. The cosmic couple have used these influences to create the sound they now describe as Alt/Pop Fantasy Reggae. They love, they live and learn by the pleasurable sounds of Motown, Bob Marley, The Police, AC/DC, Fat Freddy's Drop, Tom Jones, Soundgarden, Dr Hook, the future and the sound of bacon crackling.

Duan & Only is the key vocalist and song designer of ManaLion, his unique style of an over-confident Maori superstar combined with his carefree, say anything, do anything stage presence provides an open gate between audience and artist….”the Key Master”.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for ManaLion

Releases

Nothing II Lose
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart
11 Nov 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point?
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Just Like Yesterday
01 Oct 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
There is nothing bad that I can say about Just Like Yesterday, the new single from Christchurch Rock musician Craig Payne - the lyrics are incredibly catchy, and the backing track is light and makes me think of road trips in Summer while listening to this.I know Summer is little while away but with lines like “the times we had, it’s just like yesterday” I’m picking this to be my Summer song, I simply love how well the music and lyrics flow together and I believe it speaks volumes about Craig's experience as a musician.
Read More...
Oyawa - EP Review: The Mary Anning EP
31 Jul 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
Oyawa is a three-piece indie/alternative band hailing from Auckland, although the members come from all over, and is made up of the collective efforts of Brett Garrity, Miles Gillett and Nikki Ngatai.  Formed in late 2011, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of Oyawa and after listening to this EP I’ll be keeping an eye out for their upcoming shows - I suggest you do the same.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem