25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Black Yard Town

19 Feb 2019 // A review by Trevor Faville

The Blue River Baby band have been working and evolving in Wellington for the last two years or so, and this tune is a clear representation of the style and sound that they have developed. Black Yard Town moves through a range of tempo and dynamic changes in a funk/ soul context, with an arrangement that is in one way tight and at the same time fluid.

You can hear the band working together in this recording, there is a real sense of experienced performers who understand the concepts of dynamics and groove, and how to add  flavour with improvisation.

The end result is powerful, and confident. Kudos to Blue River Baby for releasing this song-as a “single”- that is 7 minutes long. It's an emphatic musical statement, and It requires  a full listen (right to the very end!). Any edits that would cut the time down a traditional 3 minute format would do the song a grave disservice.

This is certainly  a band that would be worth seeing live, and this release categorically demonstrates their collective impact and skills.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Blue River Baby

Blue River Baby are a uniquely wondrous festive infusion of psychedelic soul and dub rock.

Their music reminds us of our connections to one another and our surroundings, asking us to be present and awake to our actions and our environmental impacts.

Originally formed in 2016 BRBB are drawn from current and ex-members of Whole Lotta Led, Southside of Bombay, Matiu Te Huki’s My Golden Soul, Rosetta Sunset, Julie Lamb Band, Rodger Fox and The Deville Brothers.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blue River Baby

Releases

There are no releases to display for Blue River Baby.

Other Reviews By Trevor Faville

Album Review: Waiuku College - Our Sound
09 Jan 2019 // by Trevor Faville
Changes in secondary education point towards project based and /or big picture learning approaches which attempts, among other things, to replicate ‘real world situations and experiences. The idea being that learning would involve many curriculum linking into a project or experience.
Read More...
Gig Review: Panic! At The Disco @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2018
18 Oct 2018 // by Trevor Faville
The backstory of Panic! At the Disco makes for some interesting questions when going to this show.
Read More...
Holly Arrowsmith - Album Review: A Dawn I Remember
10 Jul 2018 // by Trevor Faville
Sometimes it’s good to approach writing a review for a new collection of music by listening to the music first, before reading any of the attendant press, and reviewer info. That way you listen to what you are hearing as opposed to what you are expecting.
Read More...
Simon Hirst - Album Review: Feet of God
02 Apr 2018 // by Trevor Faville
This is not quite the first release from Hamilton based artist Simon Hirst. Preceding Feet of God have been two EP’s, Shining in Silver from 2017, and the online-only The Cats Out of the Bag which as well as containing alternative versions of some of the Feet of God tracks, functions as quite an important companion piece.
Read More...
Streakers - Single Review: BDSM
05 Mar 2018 // by Trevor Faville
BDSM is a solid first release from New Brighton based three-piece Streakers. For a debut recorded effort, this tune has the focus, clarity, and impact that plainly reflects a fair amount of ‘quality time’, the kind of time spent playing live and allowing a sound to develop.
Read More...
Album Review: Waiuku College Music Presents - Our Sound Volume 1
01 Dec 2017 // by Trevor Faville
This collection of songs from students at Waiuku College is an example of a new sensibility in music education, motivated by perceptions of industry realities and recognising the strengths and influences of the students themselves. At its best, this makes for an exciting situation where fresh musical energy and ideas grab hold of traditional knowledge benefiting both.
Read More...
A Girl Named Mo - Album Review: Platonic/Romantic (Live At Bats)
05 Jan 2017 // by Trevor Faville
This is the first full outing from the Wellington ‘electronic R’n’B’ combo of Moana Ete, Slade Butler and Marcus Gurtner. Those familiar with the latest Fly My Pretties excursion will recognise the distinctive voice that sings Mud & Stardust, a version of which is presented here in quite a different frame.
Read More...
Fly My Pretties - Album Review: String Theory
20 Nov 2016 // by Trevor Faville
Welcome to the 6th recorded excursion from Barnaby Weir's occasional collective who have certainly become something of a fixture for New Zealand music since 2004. Fly My Pretties is an idea that has proved to have real legs, and not one that is showing any signs of losing momentum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Trevor Faville

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem