18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hault - EP Review: Brother

19 Feb 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

The new EP from HaultBrother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love. It’s probably one of the most simple and effective tunes I’ve heard to date. There isn’t anything particularly flashy about it, it just sounds damn good. Vocals are melodic, but distorted and gravelly which just finishes off that thrashy feel. Try on some of The Datsuns’ early stuff for style.

Set You Free follows on from Red Dress, and it's a bit slower and a bit more groovy. Still with the same purposefully messy guitar tone, and strong vocals, and really straight cut drum timing give it a real Kings Of Leon sound. I have to say; the vocals are probably my favourite part of the recording. The vocal pitching is right on point.

Hesitate slows it down even further. This is such a cool guitar line. I can’t help but to think of Faith No More or Primus with how riffy it sounds. Those vocals weave their way through this tune in good style and form. The only thing I would probably suggest is maybe the drums sound a little over-compressed. It sounds like they are in a very muffled room, where personally I think all of the songs on the EP would sound huge if the drums had the grand large hall sound and space around them.

Obsession (Stoner Song) is dark, very dark with super dissonant chords, soaring vocals and a very cool guitar riff line. This is definitely not a ‘feel good’ song. This one has got edge. The sort of song you listen to before an epic night of debauchery. You can take that to mean whatever you like. This one is probably my favourite track of the EP.

The title track from the EP is Brother. Brother is a really cool combination of all the songs above all hooked together into a more intricate song which has a lot more space and lets the vocals breathe some more. Musically I really appreciated this tune, I feel like this has probably taken Hault a fair amount of time to get the sound they desired.

All in all, a great EP. My only real criticism is that I feel everything sounds a touch muffled, and for their style, it probably would benefit from the recording sound of a big studio with plenty of open space, but to be fair, that shouldn’t detract from how good this EP is. Do yourself a favour and check it out if you are a fan of thrashy, grungey, rock.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Hault

Hailing from the underground rock scene in Wellington, Hault has recorded the first album of their career, combining metal, heavy rock and psychedelic influences into a pummeling sound that has rocked the Wellington region.

Taking inspiration from the biggest names in rock; Black Sabbath, Soundgarden, Tool, Kings X and many more, Hault have spent the past two years perfecting and developing their sound, crushing it into an ensemble of heavy grunge rock guaranteed to destroy stereotypes of standard rock.

Whether in the studio working on new material or on the stage of Wellingtons best venues, Hault have remained devoted to delivering a performance not presently heard from original rock line ups.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hault

Releases

Hault
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem