25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Cloudwatcher’s Soul

16 Feb 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

The debut album from brothers Matthew & Ben Furniss, is a concept album with a single loosely themed narrative of the kidnapping of the muse 'Cloudwatcher' and the eventual reuniting with the central character.

The melody and lyrics manage to tie the theme together quite well. It’s an odd album; slick and commercially produced, it was mastered at Stebbing Studio by Steve McGough, after being recorded at Lonely Hawk Sound in the Auckland suburb of Kumeu.

Matthew Furniss takes care of the drums and percussion, while Ben Furniss plays guitars, piano, mellotron, and sings.

Lonely Hawk is the title of the opening number on the LP and sets the mood very well, with a gentle pulsing drum, sounding like a traditional Native American drum, (hand, or frame drum, also known as a Shaman Drum) the bass follows suite, and there’s a haunting melodic guitar line which weaves its way around the central vocal melody.

The album’s cover art features a classic image of a Native American person, which looks like it could have been taken in the early 1900’s, and totally fits the album’s concept.

Song four, Under This Tree, is slightly more up-tempo, but still at a relaxed amble, reminded me of NZ band Pluto, meets Neil Young in early Crazyhorse days. “..and under this tree, is where it all begins..”.

Unless You're Home With Me is slower again, and Ben Furniss showing his very good skills with a piano. The arrangement is sparse and lets the song breathe, and there’s some nice strings waving around. The multiple tracking and vocal harmonies are beautiful.

This is a good LP, odd, but good. I’m really scared that it’ll fall through the cracks between commercially acceptable, and therefore receiving much mainstream airplay, and being too commercial and not quirky enough for student radio.

Cloudwatcher’s Soul, is a really nice album, and it's a bloody brave move to announce a debut LP as a ‘concept’ album.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Bartells - Single Review: Mistaken
17 Mar 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland’s Sam Bartell, who plays under the name Bartells, is a contemporary singer-songwriter with a country streak as wide as the Mississippi. He’s working towards an Australisian tour next year and is dropping new tunes like leaves drop in Autumn.
Read More...
Rob Joass - Album Review: Pencarrow
28 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Pencarrow is the third album released by musician Rob Joass, who calls the Kapiti Coast home, or Turangawaiwai, if you will. With more than 25 years as a musician under his belt he’s no stranger to writing, playing and recording music to a high standard.
Read More...
Seafog - Album Review: Animal Lovers
27 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band Seafog have been together through the mists of time in one way, shape, form or another for many years with singer and guitarist Robin Sharma. Animal Lovers is the third album from Seafog and was released by Zelle Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Abby Wolfe @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 23/02/2019
24 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Abby Wolfe, along with her drummer and keyboardist took to the stage about 10.30pm.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ciaran McMeeken & Dan Sharp @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 16/02/2019
17 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a disclaimer, I knew absolutely nothing about neither Ciaran McMeeken nor Dan Sharp prior to the gig, so I arranged my +1 to be Dunedin songwriter Bronwyn Halley. She’s in the same generational band as Ciaran, and as it turned out, was a very knowledgeable accomplice.
Read More...
Little Dove - EP Review Buried in the Backyard
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Not particularly loquacious, and certainly not overly verbose, are probably the best ways to describe the web pages of an Auckland 17-year-old woman who’s recording music as Little Dove. Her Bandcamp page says “This EP is a collection of music made, entirely and messily in my little sleep out, by myself.
Read More...
Tiny Ruins - Album Review: Olympic Girls
15 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a proud owner of the Tiny Ruins mini LP Hurtling Through, which was recorded with Hamish Kilgour (The Clean, The Great Unwashed etc) my anticipation levels for this LP were high. Not quite Johnny Cash eating cake in a bush high, but pretty up there.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Universe
11 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Tauranga based band Electric Universe says 2019 is a year of completion for them, with their self-titled album being one of a few projects being completed during the course of the year. The band’s name should give a little away; the first four songs, from City Boy through to Acid Train, all having influence from Hendrix to Santana but with the subtlety and restraint of Hendrix, and not the album length solos of prog rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem