18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels

13 Feb 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday. The Feels is the latest album written and produced by Marshmellow.

This album is a collaboration featuring our local talent Kings and Russian Evgeny Teilor along with many other talented musicians. A thirteen track journey of slightly different styles, The Feels is upbeat and positive pop merging with fresh and groovy dance tracks finishing off on a slightly jazzy note.

The Feels is a well-produced album, a tight clean sound from beginning to end with a standout album cover which needs a mention.

Marshall is the Managing Director of the leading music production house The Sound Room and also Chairperson of the Screen Composers Guild of NZ, so it comes as no surprise the level of professional high quality sound production.

The Feels (track one) has been described as a “feel good dance anthem” and this vibe continues through each of the songs with an optimistic and cheerful theme.

There is a pop flavour to this album; however Glorious Future had me easily visualising dancing in a night club. The younger version of me anyway. It is a definite dance anthem to my ears, that wouldn’t be out of place in regular rotation on a certain dance and electronic type station. Snappy, clean beat with utopian sounding lyrics.

The Feels has a crisp, fresh modern sound which I would recommend delving into.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Marshmellow

Marshmellow is the alter-ego of singer/songwriter/writer Marshall Smith based in Auckland, New Zealand.

A well established New Zealand based songwriter, composer and producer, Marshall has written music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials for many years such as: Morgan Freeman, ABC, ESPN, BBC, BSkyB, Discovery, TVNZ, TV3, SBS, MTV, Fox... He has more than 1000 tracks published all around the world. He has been an APRA Silver Scroll Finalist and the recipient of many other awards for his music over the years.

Whilst living in the UK for 6 years he played live in venues all over England and has also toured in China and played extensively in NZ with his band The New Freedom.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marshmellow

Releases

The Feels
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Love Is Love
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem