22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019

03 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight.

Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so. Supported by her band and dressed head to toe in an orange outfit not dissimilar to those worn in U.S. prisons she immediately commands the stage and just a couple of songs in she has connected with the audience.

A natural performer she comes across like a young Bjork. The music is catchy in a twisted pop kind of way with enough hooks and variance to keep the crowd moving. She has a great voice and a talented young band behind her. This is perfect indie pop and it is exciting. There is a growing talent pool of young New Zealanders like Bene coming through at the moment and I think she could be top of the pile.

Orange is the new All Black.

What can I say as an introduction to Lily Allen that hasn’t already been written? Her refusal to pamper to the music industry, to push boundaries and push people's buttons is well documented.

She has fought and worked hard to get here today and suffered more than her fair share of hardships not all of her own creation. The best artists in the world all suffer in some way. It’s what makes them who they are and way more interesting.

It has been a long journey from first being noticed singing Oasis song Wonderwall at school to playing arenas like tonight and Lily hasn't taken a straight forward route. I have to admit I know more about the tabloid stories than the 4 albums she has released but I am looking forward to this.

Tonight Spark has been compressed to resemble a venue about the size of Brixton Academy so Lily should feel at home. The sparse stage set up just four tower lights, no screens and no visual backdrop all adds to that club vibe.

She enters the stage dressed in what could be described as council estate bling as the PA chants Lily, Lily Lily fucking Allen. We could actually be in Brixton.

It's a mellow start with opener Come On Then which is followed by the dub reggae tinged Waste, both from her latest album No Shame. The crowd lights up as she plays early hit LDN.

We are then back onto the new album for the next three songs. No Shame overall has a mellower feel than her previous releases and whilst the crowd are loving it the first time the place really lights up is with Smile.

Lily's onstage presence is also very natural. Her moments speaking to the audience are honest, open and clearly not planned as she tells us how she went snorkeling at Goat Island and bought some throat healing drink in Matakana which she then proceeds to drink from a mug. The dry throat from the flight appears to be on her mind as she pops vocalzones (throat tablets) and sprays medicine between songs.

She needn't have worried though as her vocals tonight were excellent.

At times I felt the set didn't flow as well as it could. Just as the energy was building it dropped a little with the following songs, but everyone here tonight seemed to love it. I like that Lilly Allen wears her heart on her sleeve. The story about how 9 years ago when she was last in NZ she had a husband, 2 kids, house in the countryside and then she went and "fucked it all up" shows she is just as broken as the rest of us. She laughs and carries on. This honesty is part of her charm.

She did a great job of covering Lykke Li's Deep End and The Fear was also a stand out. The obligatory encore to end had the crowd in the seats finally up dancing. Phones were out everywhere, people filming themselves dancing, taking selfies. I think Instagram will be busy today and even though Lily Allen has a self-professed love/hate relationship with social media what gets posted online tomorrow will be all positive.


Photos courtesy of Chris Morgan Photography

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem