26 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?

02 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal. So this new track by Wellington based A.U.R.A aka Albert Mikolaj was a leap of faith for me and one I am glad I took. This is a truly stunning piece of work.

The artistry and imagery all perfectly collide. It is both simple and complex, pure, hopeful and reflective. That all these feelings are stirred in me in just over 3 mins is an experience. Apparently the subject matter was inspired by all the random advertising that surrounds us 24/7 and hence asks the question Who Decides?

Albert's intricate guitar work, mixes with cello from Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots) as the vocals float throughout. The balance is perfect. This is timeless music.

The accompanying video was shot in an abandoned hotel in Buenos Aires and at first I thought the music had just been added to some old footage. It was actually recently filmed by Argentine musician Nicolas Quiroga on an 80's camera giving it a grainy retro effect that again sits perfectly with the song.

The imagery just like the music pulls you in even though not much is happening, A guy strumming a guitar smiling for the camera, cigarette dangling from the corner of his mouth as a couple of girls wade in a paddling pool. I can't put my finger on why, but it is the perfect complement to this song.

Albert Mikolaj aka A.U.R.A is someone you may not have heard of, but he is someone you need to see and hear. I think he is one of the most talented musicians I have heard in a long time and with this release has created a stunning piece of art. Take a look and listen then you decide.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About A.U.R.A

A.U.R.A is the solo project of New Zealand born singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Albert Miko?aj. G.I Wonder the first single from A.U.R.A’s upcoming work Secret Intelligent Light, which was premiered by Impose Magazine on March 8th. G.I Wonder was since featured on Apple Music's New Alternative releases as well as the Best of the Week playlist for Apple Music Japan. Produced by Ben Lemi of TrinityRoots and French for Rabbits, Secret Intelligent Light is due for release via his Los Angeles based record label Cosmic Dreamer in 2018.

"Mikolaj’s vocal patterns are out of this world, as they are highly memorable in the first thirty seconds of the song. G.I. Wonder is enthralling because we can’t hear a continuous genre being played, it’s like a huge mix up of world and pop music with hints of indie rock with a bit of folk, which we think is unique. G.I. Wonder will leave you breathless." - Impose Magazine

"One of New Zealand's greatest hidden talents..." - Grayson Gilmour

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for A.U.R.A

Releases

Secret Intelligent Light
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem