8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Papercity - Single Review: Plastic

02 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back.

They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.

On the face of it Plastic is a simple song. It starts with a pulsating kick beat and Alex’s vocals slide in perfectly. Just a few lines in and we are dropped into the first hook which is going to be stuck in my head all day “Don’t want your plastic Nirvana” that along with the refrain towards the end "If you say so" helps create a very well written piece of pop that could be a huge hit for the band if it gets picked up by radio.

The production is slick and it is clear the everything about the band shows they know what they want and where they want to be.

They have something else that might help them stand out from the crowd.

Underneath the pop sheen you can almost sense the guitars and angst itching to break out. There is a mixture of genres and influences that can be heard throughout this track. They know how to craft a song. This is pop with an edginess to it.

Plastic is a song with multiple layers, it builds, soars, has you in it’s grip instantly and makes you feel good. I have had it on repeat all morning and can't get it out of my head.

This one will have you singing all day. Plastic definitely isn't throwaway.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Papercity.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem