25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019

31 Jan 2019 // A review by Lou Clement

Laneway was a different kind of festival. It’s an international touring event, taking in Australia and Singapore. In Auckland, the event was held in the historic Albert Park. Top billed artists this year included the electronic, experimental mastermind, Jon Hopkins, and ethereal pop-icon Florence and the Machine. There was much more to the line-up too, many of the acts new to me, and varying in genre from rap to pop to RnB reimagined. That the acts were new was exciting, it also meant I formed an opinion of what Laneway was going for with choices.

The park was beautiful, full of summer flowers and the festival had neatly set up in between the formal gardens, native trees and within the bandstand. The park echoed a different era, one perhaps not prepared for the footfall of a festival full of people. Still, it was charming that the sound technician was in the bandstand and the tree lined arcade was the perfect spot for a great view of the stage, no matter where you stood (and you could even eat and watch the band from there).

This year’s Laneway festival took place on a really hot day, this sort of dulled the vibe of the crowd a little, as we all retreated to shaded areas in between sets. I’d downloaded the app for the festival, something which made me feel organised in seconds and gave me everything I needed to ensure I saw all the acts I wanted to and could find my way around the area almost immediately.

First up on my list was Camp Cope (pictured), an Australian three-piece, they had an early set but an enthusiastic crowd and the festival-goers had not yet all arrived, still the crowd were singing along to their songs. Their music is guitar-led, with distinctive vocals from lead singer Georgia McDonald, I particularly enjoyed the angsty The Opener.

I dashed between stages to catch RnB act Ravyn Lenae, the 20 year old sang catchy, jazz-infused tracks with the sun warming the crowd and many dancing along she brought the festival feeling. I also saw Clairo whose lo fi style was understated and seemed to bring a breeze with it. When she sang her track Pretty Girl, I was absorbed in the beautiful gentle vocals and the way it still captured emotion through the lyrics and paired down composition. I really enjoyed this act.

Other stand out acts of the day were Bene (pictured). The local singer songwriter has a musical upbringing, which seemed to show in her confident command of the stage. She was on a small stage and the crowd piled in to see her. Her music is the summer soundtrack, the fresh and catchy; Soaked was uplifting and set the mood for a vibrant set.

A surprise acts for me was hip-hop act Smino, it wasn’t music I thought I’d get into, but it was a great performance with lots of audience participation and I was dancing along. There were a few familiar acts on the bill these including Parquet Courts, who put in a well-rehearsed performance, making the live music experience for me.

When it came to see Florence, the crowd had a second wind, and Florence in her floaty dress and with soaring vocals made for a perfect headline act, superstar par excellence. Finally, I made it across to see Jon Hopkins who set the night alight with his strain of electronic, ambient and atmospheric songs. I had often felt that Hopkins wrote songs that made me feel like I was in a film. In the centre of Auckland, as the dark crept in around us, his brilliant composing had a perfect setting and an attentive audience. A different but inspired headline act. The sun had done its worse, and in the relative cool of the evening, the crowd dispersed, the flowerbeds unharmed, the trees unclimbed. Laneway was a great one day festival, I would call for it to be on a Sunday though, to really ensure that holiday feeling.

St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 Feature

Photos courtesy of Steve Bone Photography.

 

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Milk & Honey @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 08/03/2019
11 Mar 2019 // by Lou Clement
International Women’s Day, in my experience, is often not marked by celebrations other than something official in the news – something with flowers and over-privileged celebrity-like figures at the mic. It’s the first year I’ve lived in Auckland for it though, and to find that celebrations planned for the occasion with music performances taking place as part of a curated event were exciting.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cross Street Festival @ Cross Street, Auckland - 02/03/2019
05 Mar 2019 // by Lou Clement
It’s a balmy March day and the sun lit the side streets of central Auckland. I arrived at Cross Street, a road parallel to Karangahape Road.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Little Penny @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 25/01/2019
27 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Three-piece Dead Little Penny were the second act on stage and headlining at the Whammy Bar on Friday evening, launching their new single Depression. The venue was packed out and the fans did little to reduce the temperature of the basement venue.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 19/01/2019
24 Jan 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dunedin-based Soaked Oats took the stage on a warm Saturday evening, as part of their Shuggah Doom tour. The four piece are made up of lead vocalist Oscar Mein, guitarist Henry Francis, Max Holmes on bass and Conor Feehly on drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem