24 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy

30 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age. That is who Dunedin born Andrew was, these days he says, “it is all about the craft and enjoying the moment”. So Easy is his latest single.

I still heard faint wisps of the 80's Andrew in this track, however as he has said before “I have been away so long, that it is not a comeback, it is a beginning”. So Easy is an upbeat pop song with a catchy hook. It sounds fun, light and breezy.

Andrews’ musical metamorphosis has not always been a smooth ride, but he has come out with a highly infectious song full of unconventional charm. So Easy infuses musical happiness into your day, whether you like it or not. It is a song about appreciating darkness and light, where would one be without the other.

I want to also make a special mention about the music video which accompanies this track, made by mPHATic. It is slightly psychedelic, freakishly cool and original. Really funky and it suits the song well.

To summarise, this is a fresh track with a glorious video, emanating youthful vibes.

I am happy to have rediscovered Andrew, but as a teen from the 1980's, I just had to have a sneaky peek at YouTube. Don’t judge me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
EP Review: TOI
17 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning seven-piece Wellington band TOI (Tunes of I), are releasing their highly anticipated self-titled EP. Accompanying the release is a four date nationwide tour of Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland and Raglan.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) – Acoustic Version
11 May 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative rock band from Dunedin, Saurian (meaning “lizard-like”), have recently re-released a new single of an old favourite, Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) as an acoustic version. Removing the loud distorted guitars, drums and big vocals, resulting in a restrained sound consisting of acoustic guitar, strings, percussion and softer vocals.
Read More...
Metrosideros - EP Review: Var.
30 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
From the south coast of Wellington, Metrosideros' Matt Dalzell and Ellie Rose have created somewhat of a cool and funky trip hop sound with swirling’s of dub and journeys into backbeats. Their latest EP, Var.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Album Review: The Fuchsia & The Grey
07 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA based New Zealand musical artist Eden Iris has just released her debut album The Fuchsia &The Grey; an evocative eleven track album of beautifully crafted indie-folk songs, which "showcases the evolution of an artist who is highly dedicated to her craft". Eden has been growing her fanbase with a steady release of singles in between major projects, ever since moving to Los Angeles when she was nineteen.
Read More...
wells* - EP Review: Tape 3
24 Mar 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer, song writer and producer Wells* (Josh Naley) has just released the latest and final instalment in a three part series of mini EPs. Tape 3 concludes his unique personal project.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: Alchemy Feat. Rei
26 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch singer-songwriter SHAYNA has teamed up with Wellingtonian hip-hop artist Rei to create a slick new single Alchemy. Described as "Pop & RnB hooks over a progressive bass line & glittery high-level production", this is a track which flows seamlessly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PERMISSION TO DANCE
    BTS
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem