18 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Devilskin - Gig Review: Slash w/ Myles Kennedy and Devilskin @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 26/01/2019

Devilskin - Gig Review: Slash w/ Myles Kennedy and Devilskin @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 26/01/2019

27 Jan 2019 // A review by Sass_Metal

As per usual I was running late to the show, so I missed the first few opening songs of (not so local, now) legends Devilskin. Writing this now I am so gutted I didn’t get to witness their powerful set in its entirety as, in my opinion, they showed up the headliners and it was clear from the amount of Devilskin merch that fans were wearing around the show and from the crowd response that this was indeed Devilskin’s night. I don’t live in New Zealand anymore and it’s been extra special seeing my NZ musical family doing their thing live again on their home turf, as the last time I saw Devilskin was a birthday gift in England. After touring Europe and the UK last year, Devilskin have become a name on many people's lips all over the world, and on my travels they are one of the few Kiwi bands that the European Metal Community know - along with Alien Weaponry and Ulcerate. I was pleasantly surprised with how many people were there for Devilskin, as I’ve seen many support bands play at the arena to a half filled crowd and Devilskin played in Auckland twice last year - one of the shows only being last month at the Logan Campbell Centre.

What can the uninitiated expect from a expect from a Devilskin show? Death Metal growls layered over almost funky bass lines, blast beats and soaring guitars. They incorporate so many different sounds and obviously have different influences as no two songs sound the same. They are fast, heavy, hard and in your face. They have a ‘take us, or leave us’ attitude when they are playing, but in person they are friendly, kind and very genuine. They did a meet and greet after their set and when I was making my way back inside the Arena about 20 mins after their set, and the line had well over 400 people in it - again this is a local band who have played to at least 1000 people the month before. They don’t just stand still and play their instruments, regardless of how big or small the stage they are playing on is - they use every inch available to them. In England the stage I saw them on was tiny, but Paul, Nail and Jenny were all jumping on the front of house stacks and doing solos or egging on the crowd, last night Jenny was in full acrobat mode with handstands and cartwheels - which I can safely say I’ve never seen a lead singer do. I wanted to be up the front, on the barrier, where I saw them in England. If you are a Slash/Myles Kennedy fan and contemplating missing Devilskin in Australia - you will be missing out on an amazing show and I’m sure their army of supporters will agree with me.

On to the headliners! I am not overly familiar with Myles Kennedy or his band - other than of course the legendary Slash! At heart I’m more of a Death Metal/Grindcore fan live with some exceptions (Black Sabbath and Red Hot Chilli Peppers are still the best bands I’ve seen live), and so often when I am checking out a new band or seeing a band for the first time I normally tune into the bass lines and drum beat - as most mosh pits seem to go in time with the drums (there’s nothing like a good mosh pit!). With Slash playing I knew that it would be a different experience for me and expected the guitars to be the focus in the mix.

While the vocal style isn’t my usual cup of tea I did really love the slower ballads. For me the best parts of the Myles Kennedy show were the instrumentals - those guys CAN PLAY! Their bass lines shone through the mix perfectly mixing with the drums perfectly in sync - often playing off each other, almost sparring. I did expect the guitars to be louder in the mix, but as is often the case with the Arena, the sound can get distorted and lost in the rafters. I felt that initially, technically there were some issues with this set - it could have been the stage set up and lack of on stage monitors, but there appeared to be some timing issues and some of the vocal harmonies weren’t quiet on point to start with, but as the band warmed up they became more of a united unit. Maybe it was my excitement of seeing Slash again, but I was disappointed with the Myles Kennedy band and felt they weren’t up to standard that I would expect Slash to play with. The stand out moment of their set was Slash’s guitar solo with his double necked guitar - that was the moment I was waiting for and in fact found myself transported out of my seat and into that magical, mythical place you travel to in your mind when ‘feeling’ the music. Guitarists and fans of Rock n Roll, especially Guns n Roses will love this show with perfect covers of Nightrain and Alibi Doctor. I’m happy I went and happy I had at least one moment of feeling the music. This is definitely a show worth checking out!


Photos courtesy of Ginny C Photography

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

Gig Review: Plum Green @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 1/02/2019
08 Feb 2019 // by Sass_Metal
Occasionally a show happens where every single performance artist is on fire, performing from the soul, baring everything, connecting with the audience and feeding off the audience, in that magical, etheric zone where performing artist and audience becomes one. Right from the first note of Shoddy the crowd was dancing, their attentions on the various rituals occurring before them.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sass_Metal
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sass_Metal
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sass_Metal
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sass_Metal
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give
04 May 2018 // by Sass_Metal
Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem