18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Generation - Single Review: Signs

21 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine. This collaboration of talented musicians has just released their first single Signs.

I listen to a lot of original music through the various channels I support; ZVI caught my attention last year with his achingly beautiful song and video Visions Of Le Deep. I was blown away. With this in mind, I was keen to hear what soulful sound The Generation has to offer. Without dribbling on too much, I will just say I was mind-blown to the next level and promptly fell in love with band’s music.

This track is so laid back its practically horizontal. Silky smooth and velvety with richness and depth created by layers of flawless instrumentals and vocals. Mellow Reggae singing a song of unity and peace.

The Generation have a beautiful cohesiveness in their sound.

In my opinion these guys are going to be a force to reckon with in the NZ Reggae and Soul scenes, this is a first single release and already they have a professional look and sound. You can see and hear the emotion ZVI puts into his music. The rest of the band compliment this well.

I stumbled across the live acoustic version of Signs on The Generation Live (In The Fridge). It is stunning. You can check it out on the bands YouTube channel.

Reggae is not a genre I actively seek out or listen to a lot of, but if I could give this song six stars I would. I may be a convert. After all everyone needs a little “Peace and Jah”.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Generation

The Generation bring sounds of Peace & Jah.

Founded by ZVI and Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), shortly followed by Raniera Miringaorangi, The Generation began originally as a project band but quickly realized the potential of their collective abilities.

The Generation are still young in musical years however are preparing to enter the NZ music scene with a collection of originals. The Generation also has the talented Ra Keelan and Robin Brummitt and newest member Matthew Mooney.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Generation

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Generation.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem