19 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Generation - Single Review: Signs

21 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine. This collaboration of talented musicians has just released their first single Signs.

I listen to a lot of original music through the various channels I support; ZVI caught my attention last year with his achingly beautiful song and video Visions Of Le Deep. I was blown away. With this in mind, I was keen to hear what soulful sound The Generation has to offer. Without dribbling on too much, I will just say I was mind-blown to the next level and promptly fell in love with band’s music.

This track is so laid back its practically horizontal. Silky smooth and velvety with richness and depth created by layers of flawless instrumentals and vocals. Mellow Reggae singing a song of unity and peace.

The Generation have a beautiful cohesiveness in their sound.

In my opinion these guys are going to be a force to reckon with in the NZ Reggae and Soul scenes, this is a first single release and already they have a professional look and sound. You can see and hear the emotion ZVI puts into his music. The rest of the band compliment this well.

I stumbled across the live acoustic version of Signs on The Generation Live (In The Fridge). It is stunning. You can check it out on the bands YouTube channel.

Reggae is not a genre I actively seek out or listen to a lot of, but if I could give this song six stars I would. I may be a convert. After all everyone needs a little “Peace and Jah”.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Generation

The Generation bring sounds of Peace & Jah.

Founded by ZVI and Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), shortly followed by Raniera Miringaorangi, The Generation began originally as a project band but quickly realized the potential of their collective abilities.

The Generation are still young in musical years however are preparing to enter the NZ music scene with a collection of originals. The Generation also has the talented Ra Keelan and Robin Brummitt and newest member Matthew Mooney.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Generation

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Generation.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Sail Across The Sky
15 Jan 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer/songwriter; Brendan McCarthy from Apollo SteamTrain has just released his first new offering of 2020 with the single Sail Across The Sky. This is a beautiful acoustic love ballad which speaks of the reality of being in a long term relationship.
Read More...
The AJ Crawshaw Band - Single Review: The Lightning
18 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Well-established Kapiti based singer and writer, AJ Crawshaw and his band have just released a thought-provoking new single The Lightning. A motivational pop infused rock track about living life and connecting with what makes you feel alive.
Read More...
Album Review: DateMonthYear
16 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hamilton five-piece self-proclaimed “independent music bohemians” DateMonthYear have just released their ten track self-titled album. A lush atmospheric body of work that moves from one track to the next with graceful fluidity.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: What Comes Around
04 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young four piece breakthrough Kiwi Punk Rock band Sit Down In Front (SDIF) from Gisborne have just released their eagerly anticipated single What Comes Around. The lads who keep it “hard, fast and catchy”, writing about everyday stuff have delivered another gutsy punk number to warm the cockles of NZ punk rockers from one end of the country to the other.
Read More...
Matthew J.Ruys - Single Review: Rainbows
02 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning Kiwi veteran, LA based recording artist Matthew J. Ruys has released the brand new bright and funky single Rainbows, just in time for those feel good summer vibes.
Read More...
Shana Grace - Album Review: Rinse And Repeat
28 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer-songwriter Shana Grace has just released her debut full length album Rinse And Repeat. With the help from a year long crowd funding campaign, emerges ten beautifully constructed songs of lyrical storytelling.
Read More...
George After James - Single Review: In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go)
25 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
George After James is the project of James Fistonich. Based in Auckland, he is a guitarist and singer who just released his debut single, In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go) along with an announcement of his self-titled EP due for release in January 2020.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Glory
19 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand singer songwriter Hannah Curwood of alternative post-punk band Hannah In The Wars, has released a new single called Glory. Hannah has an impressive body of work, both solo and with her band.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem