6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Generation - Single Review: Signs

21 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine. This collaboration of talented musicians has just released their first single Signs.

I listen to a lot of original music through the various channels I support; ZVI caught my attention last year with his achingly beautiful song and video Visions Of Le Deep. I was blown away. With this in mind, I was keen to hear what soulful sound The Generation has to offer. Without dribbling on too much, I will just say I was mind-blown to the next level and promptly fell in love with band’s music.

This track is so laid back its practically horizontal. Silky smooth and velvety with richness and depth created by layers of flawless instrumentals and vocals. Mellow Reggae singing a song of unity and peace.

The Generation have a beautiful cohesiveness in their sound.

In my opinion these guys are going to be a force to reckon with in the NZ Reggae and Soul scenes, this is a first single release and already they have a professional look and sound. You can see and hear the emotion ZVI puts into his music. The rest of the band compliment this well.

I stumbled across the live acoustic version of Signs on The Generation Live (In The Fridge). It is stunning. You can check it out on the bands YouTube channel.

Reggae is not a genre I actively seek out or listen to a lot of, but if I could give this song six stars I would. I may be a convert. After all everyone needs a little “Peace and Jah”.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Generation

The Generation bring sounds of Peace & Jah.

Founded by ZVI and Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), shortly followed by Raniera Miringaorangi, The Generation began originally as a project band but quickly realized the potential of their collective abilities.

The Generation are still young in musical years however are preparing to enter the NZ music scene with a collection of originals. The Generation also has the talented Ra Keelan and Robin Brummitt and newest member Matthew Mooney.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Generation

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Generation.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alan Brown - Album Review: Wind And Wire
18 Jun 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alan Brown’s name is entrenched in the New Zealand Jazz scene as not only an established Jazz keyboardist, but also from his highly successful Jazz-funk band in the 1990’s, Blue Train. While reputed for his keyboard and Hammond organ skills his recent work, following on from his past solo creations is titled Wind And Wire, an instrumental, atmospheric electronica based album offering up a brooding sonic soundscape.
Read More...
Grace - Single Review: Echo Thoughts
29 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young bedroom music producer from Auckland, Grace has just released the first track from her EP Music From The Cupboard. Echo Thoughts is a captivating track of ethereal vocals enveloped in a luscious techno beat.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
Holly Afoa - EP Review: Sister
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Neo-Soul singer/songwriter Holly Afoa has recently released her debut EP Sister. Five tracks of soulful, heartfelt music.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem