19 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Generation - Single Review: Signs

21 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine. This collaboration of talented musicians has just released their first single Signs.

I listen to a lot of original music through the various channels I support; ZVI caught my attention last year with his achingly beautiful song and video Visions Of Le Deep. I was blown away. With this in mind, I was keen to hear what soulful sound The Generation has to offer. Without dribbling on too much, I will just say I was mind-blown to the next level and promptly fell in love with band’s music.

This track is so laid back its practically horizontal. Silky smooth and velvety with richness and depth created by layers of flawless instrumentals and vocals. Mellow Reggae singing a song of unity and peace.

The Generation have a beautiful cohesiveness in their sound.

In my opinion these guys are going to be a force to reckon with in the NZ Reggae and Soul scenes, this is a first single release and already they have a professional look and sound. You can see and hear the emotion ZVI puts into his music. The rest of the band compliment this well.

I stumbled across the live acoustic version of Signs on The Generation Live (In The Fridge). It is stunning. You can check it out on the bands YouTube channel.

Reggae is not a genre I actively seek out or listen to a lot of, but if I could give this song six stars I would. I may be a convert. After all everyone needs a little “Peace and Jah”.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Generation

The Generation bring sounds of Peace & Jah.

Founded by ZVI and Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), shortly followed by Raniera Miringaorangi, The Generation began originally as a project band but quickly realized the potential of their collective abilities.

The Generation are still young in musical years however are preparing to enter the NZ music scene with a collection of originals. The Generation also has the talented Ra Keelan and Robin Brummitt and newest member Matthew Mooney.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Generation

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Generation.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem