20 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

The Generation - Single Review: Signs

21 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine. This collaboration of talented musicians has just released their first single Signs.

I listen to a lot of original music through the various channels I support; ZVI caught my attention last year with his achingly beautiful song and video Visions Of Le Deep. I was blown away. With this in mind, I was keen to hear what soulful sound The Generation has to offer. Without dribbling on too much, I will just say I was mind-blown to the next level and promptly fell in love with band’s music.

This track is so laid back its practically horizontal. Silky smooth and velvety with richness and depth created by layers of flawless instrumentals and vocals. Mellow Reggae singing a song of unity and peace.

The Generation have a beautiful cohesiveness in their sound.

In my opinion these guys are going to be a force to reckon with in the NZ Reggae and Soul scenes, this is a first single release and already they have a professional look and sound. You can see and hear the emotion ZVI puts into his music. The rest of the band compliment this well.

I stumbled across the live acoustic version of Signs on The Generation Live (In The Fridge). It is stunning. You can check it out on the bands YouTube channel.

Reggae is not a genre I actively seek out or listen to a lot of, but if I could give this song six stars I would. I may be a convert. After all everyone needs a little “Peace and Jah”.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Generation

The Generation bring sounds of Peace & Jah.

Founded by ZVI and Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), shortly followed by Raniera Miringaorangi, The Generation began originally as a project band but quickly realized the potential of their collective abilities.

The Generation are still young in musical years however are preparing to enter the NZ music scene with a collection of originals. The Generation also has the talented Ra Keelan and Robin Brummitt and newest member Matthew Mooney.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Generation

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Generation.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem