23 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mundi - Gig Review: Mundi @ Botanical Gardens, Wellington - 10/01/2019

15 Jan 2019 // A review by Rory McDonald

Before even arriving at the venue, I knew I was in for a treat. This wasn't my first visit to the Soundshell at the Wellington Botanical Gardens, but it was obvious that Mundi and the venue would go hand in hand after listening to their latest single Still Song Goes On. The great technicality of the group blended with the soft grooves made it easy for the concert-goers to relax and chat with friends, and even better, to be blown away by the tight sounds of the band.

Mundi's hour-long set comprised of instruments and sounds from all around the globe, which the multi-talented members executed with perfection. I never knew how well both saxophone and flute would mix but I was pleasantly surprised as I'm sure the rest of the crowd was too.


Though the performance was low on the use of vocals, it wasn't hard for the audience to receive the message of Mundi's music. Throughout the whole entire night there was a relatively large crowd of people near the front, all dancing along and having a great time. In saying this though, when the vocals were used, it was in a significant way, using excellent harmonies which were simple enough for everyone to sing along to, Mundi definitely knew how to get all eyes on them.

Great sounds, vibes and stage presence, the only thing that I was sad to see was the exit of the park. Mundi, Wellington looks forward to seeing you again!



Photos courtesy of Bruce Mackay/The Darker Arts

 

About Mundi

Mundi has toured both nationally and internationally and brings some of New Zealand’s top musicians together in a fiery display of psychedelic rock and groove music that explores new musical terrain-a dual of woodwind and strings, hypnotic grooves and haunting melodies, percussion and drums, dancing and merriment.

Mundi’s music is like Afrobeat pioneer Fela Kuti meeting Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson- filled with global colours, grooves and influences. Composer and flautist for Mundi, Tamara Smith has travelled the world compiling inspiration for her compositions along the way - from performing in Jazz clubs in Paris and recording an album in Sri Lanka, to learning traditional Indian flute by the Ganges and warding off Alligators in the heart of the Amazon.

Mundi is based in Christchurch and Wellington.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mundi

Releases

The Pale Blue Dot
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Rory McDonald

Mundi - Album Review: The Pale Blue Dot
27 Feb 2019 // by Rory McDonald
Going into this album I thought I knew what to expect from Mundi. This psychedelic dance project wowed me with their live performance at the Wellington Botanical Gardens earlier this year, but I couldn't help but feel like I'd heard all of the tricks they had hiding up their sleeves.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: Told To Fold
04 Jul 2018 // by Rory McDonald
I’ve been a big fan of Pale Lady right from the first moment I saw them perform live back in 2017. Their solid alt-rock sound infused with so many other flavours makes them a very refreshing yet familiar sounding act.
Read More...
Gig Review: Glen Matlock @ Valhalla, Wellington - 25/11/2017
05 Dec 2017 // by Rory McDonald
As soon as I saw him walk so casually over from the side of the bar up on stage, I knew that this would be a different kind of gig, and possibly one of the most intimate experiences I would have with one of punks most beloved musicians, Glen Matlock.Throughout the night, Glen took us on an audio tour of his career, belting out songs from the rich kids, Glen Matlock and the Philistines, and what you will recognize him best for, the sex pistols.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - Single Review: Daughters
05 Dec 2017 // by Rory McDonald
Two things have always stayed consistent (for me at least) when listening to Fire For Glory:1. The vocal work on every track never fails to impress me2.
Read More...
Album Review: Headroller
18 Oct 2017 // by Rory McDonald
"Stay with us now as we cross live to some poor bastard we sent straight to the depths of hell to bring you the exclusive footage you need, Jeff tell me, how much blood is there?"Now, I might have heard that quote wrong (even after multiple run-throughs of the song, Visions), but if I could fit the feeling of this whole album into a few short, simple words, it would definitely be this little skit from the beginning of the 7th track, Visions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Rory McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem