21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Ben Ruegg - EP Review: The Journey

13 Jan 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Wow, where did this beauty come from?

Just 66 likes on Ben Ruegg’s Facebook page and little all else to go on. Also, a clichéd title like The Journey using the image of an open road meant I wasn’t expecting much.

30 seconds into opening track The Start and I am clicking on the download button on Spotify

It sounds like early 30 Seconds to Mars and Ben has a brilliant voice. I don’t know who else is playing on here or if Ben is another Dave Grohl and played everything himself, but this is exceptional.

The next track The Dream is a trippy blast, the kind that made a career for Filter in the Noughties. It soars and drives while the vocals sandblast the canvas laid smooth by the chugging guitars.

The Angel is a heart on the sleeve anti-ballad that places the lyrics at the forefront.

Ben knows how to craft a song. Seriously if you have read this far, you need to check him out.

Huge choruses, a delivery that avoids bullshit and screams honesty and even though I generally hate guitar solos, they are nailed perfectly. The Angel is going to be a favourite when played live.

Finally at the end of The Journey EP (if Ben can do clichés this well, I will join him) we have The End (told ya).

This is a mid-paced sing-along that would make Shihad proud.

Honestly, I wrote this review from mid-way through the opening track - spilling my thoughts as I was listening. It took 10 minutes. It was exhilarating. A blast. I didn't have to think about it. I felt it. That is rare.

Ben Ruegg who are you? Where did you come from and how the hell has your profile page only got 65 likes?

Get on this people. Ben Ruegg needs to be everywhere. Honestly, what a blast! You should like his Facebook Page.

No apologies for a short review. Enough said. Listen to this EP and you will understand.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Ruegg

My name is Ben Ruegg. I have been writing and performing since I was around 8. My love for music is endless. I don't say I like just one style of music because all music is different and reflects an artists current state of mind. That is exactly what my music does.
I love to tap into my inner self and reveal things I even keep secret from myself.

I hope you enjoy the passion as much I enjoy getting it to come out and end up in the recording and songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Ruegg

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ben Ruegg.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • MY BAD
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem