16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Ruegg - EP Review: The Journey

13 Jan 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Wow, where did this beauty come from?

Just 66 likes on Ben Ruegg’s Facebook page and little all else to go on. Also, a clichéd title like The Journey using the image of an open road meant I wasn’t expecting much.

30 seconds into opening track The Start and I am clicking on the download button on Spotify

It sounds like early 30 Seconds to Mars and Ben has a brilliant voice. I don’t know who else is playing on here or if Ben is another Dave Grohl and played everything himself, but this is exceptional.

The next track The Dream is a trippy blast, the kind that made a career for Filter in the Noughties. It soars and drives while the vocals sandblast the canvas laid smooth by the chugging guitars.

The Angel is a heart on the sleeve anti-ballad that places the lyrics at the forefront.

Ben knows how to craft a song. Seriously if you have read this far, you need to check him out.

Huge choruses, a delivery that avoids bullshit and screams honesty and even though I generally hate guitar solos, they are nailed perfectly. The Angel is going to be a favourite when played live.

Finally at the end of The Journey EP (if Ben can do clichés this well, I will join him) we have The End (told ya).

This is a mid-paced sing-along that would make Shihad proud.

Honestly, I wrote this review from mid-way through the opening track - spilling my thoughts as I was listening. It took 10 minutes. It was exhilarating. A blast. I didn't have to think about it. I felt it. That is rare.

Ben Ruegg who are you? Where did you come from and how the hell has your profile page only got 65 likes?

Get on this people. Ben Ruegg needs to be everywhere. Honestly, what a blast! You should like his Facebook Page.

No apologies for a short review. Enough said. Listen to this EP and you will understand.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Ruegg

My name is Ben Ruegg. I have been writing and performing since I was around 8. My love for music is endless. I don't say I like just one style of music because all music is different and reflects an artists current state of mind. That is exactly what my music does.
I love to tap into my inner self and reveal things I even keep secret from myself.

I hope you enjoy the passion as much I enjoy getting it to come out and end up in the recording and songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Ruegg

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ben Ruegg.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem