21 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Ruegg - EP Review: The Journey

13 Jan 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Wow, where did this beauty come from?

Just 66 likes on Ben Ruegg’s Facebook page and little all else to go on. Also, a clichéd title like The Journey using the image of an open road meant I wasn’t expecting much.

30 seconds into opening track The Start and I am clicking on the download button on Spotify

It sounds like early 30 Seconds to Mars and Ben has a brilliant voice. I don’t know who else is playing on here or if Ben is another Dave Grohl and played everything himself, but this is exceptional.

The next track The Dream is a trippy blast, the kind that made a career for Filter in the Noughties. It soars and drives while the vocals sandblast the canvas laid smooth by the chugging guitars.

The Angel is a heart on the sleeve anti-ballad that places the lyrics at the forefront.

Ben knows how to craft a song. Seriously if you have read this far, you need to check him out.

Huge choruses, a delivery that avoids bullshit and screams honesty and even though I generally hate guitar solos, they are nailed perfectly. The Angel is going to be a favourite when played live.

Finally at the end of The Journey EP (if Ben can do clichés this well, I will join him) we have The End (told ya).

This is a mid-paced sing-along that would make Shihad proud.

Honestly, I wrote this review from mid-way through the opening track - spilling my thoughts as I was listening. It took 10 minutes. It was exhilarating. A blast. I didn't have to think about it. I felt it. That is rare.

Ben Ruegg who are you? Where did you come from and how the hell has your profile page only got 65 likes?

Get on this people. Ben Ruegg needs to be everywhere. Honestly, what a blast! You should like his Facebook Page.

No apologies for a short review. Enough said. Listen to this EP and you will understand.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Ruegg

My name is Ben Ruegg. I have been writing and performing since I was around 8. My love for music is endless. I don't say I like just one style of music because all music is different and reflects an artists current state of mind. That is exactly what my music does.
I love to tap into my inner self and reveal things I even keep secret from myself.

I hope you enjoy the passion as much I enjoy getting it to come out and end up in the recording and songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Ruegg

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ben Ruegg.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem