20 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Investigator - EP Review: Investigator

13 Jan 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

I love those old Seventies cops shows

The ones like 'Starsky and Hutch' or 'The Sweeney', and more recently the retro loving politically incorrect 'Life on Mars'.

The thing with these shows is they are more memorable for the banter and chemistry between the players than any actual cases or crimes being solved. They have an edge that keeps you wanting to go back for more and for people my age they make you reminisce (or cringe) about the good ol' days.

What I also loved about those shows is they were actually pushing boundaries and buttons whilst on the face of it coming across as quite Neanderthal. They questioned themselves, they asked questions of the viewer/listener. They invited you to investigate further.

Being a solo musician and making music that requires other people is difficult (unless you are Dave Grohl or Trent Reznor). Adrian Drew (aka Investigator) tries to do that on his debut EP and almost succeeds thanks to his voice and his willingness to explore some darker elements of the human psyche in his lyrics

He also seems to have a penchant for the past creating a distinctive retro feel to this debut EP. It is a soulful-melancholic deep dive into the kind of music your dad or your mate who really gets on with your dad might like.

The five tunes here are straight forward, mid paced, musings that sit well with a glass of wine but won’t have you leaping for the JD and coke. This is music that could easily be discounted as sitting in the background with the kind of vibe that gets you tapping your feet subconsciously rather than deliberately.

Thankfully though there is a little more to this, a darker element. We aren't quite talking dingy basements with whips and leather but there is a voice that can hook you in a little further.

Adrian's voice IS what makes this EP worth looking at. This EP is not a cold case. There is a heart to the music here. Luckily that voice stands out without being annoying otherwise we would need to "send the boys round to ruffle some feathers".

The music is simplistic and ultimately sits like a stubby holder around the vocals. There are no surprises no whiskey chasers. No dirty cops blowing smoke up their bosses' ass.

5 songs in I feel no ill. Nothing to add to my report. There has been no crime against music committed. Nothing to divide, nothing to conquer, just a statement to read that ended up making me feel fine, OK, nothing more to add, nothing more to come, nothing more to follow up on. I look at the word doc on my laptop and actually I am back to square one. So, what is the conclusion?

The music on this Investigator EP is non offensive, easy going and not likely to start any fires although it will leave you with a warm glow and a smile on your face unless you like 'Starsky and Hutch' or 'Life On Mars'. 

Verdict 3 out of 5 Guvnor

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Investigator

Investigator is the nom de plume of Adrian Drew, a singer/songwriter who has his roots dug deep in retro rock.

Turning his back on a successful career in commercial radio to pursue his first love, music, Adrian's transformation into Investigator had begun.

The past couple of years have been spent playing private functions, bars and wineries to hone his craft and test original ideas. With a unique voice and often arresting lyrics he has recently been in the studio to complete a 5 track EP, due out in December 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Livin' In A Magazine
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem