26 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World

06 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs."


As soon as I had heard the opening track with the same name as the album, I quickly realised that this album has a religious vein running through it.

The majority of this album may have Biblical lyrics; however, they are accompanied by a raw British rock/punk sound which I found rather refreshing. A different approach was taken with album in comparison to David's last album Binary. He isn't singing about yanking off his audience heads for one. I rather liked Binary - I called it weird and wonderful, yet with Upside-Down World I am sitting on a wonky fence not sure which way to fall.

As you work your way through this album it becomes clear that it is not just 11 tracks of biblical story telling, but a journey. This on closer inspection appears to be an expedition to overcome personal demons and finding the light.

As with previous works of David Sutton I found this also to be raw and refreshingly honest.

Also, as with previous albums, David has incorporated his family into his music this time with James Sutton proving he is also a talented multi-instrumentalist by adding piano and drums to all tracks, bass and keyboard on The Games We Play and violin and backing vocals on Upside-Down World and Zigsaur Stomp.

There were two tracks that stood out on this album for me as being different from the rest. Track seven, Full Moon had a completely different sound and tone to the vocals. This is a song about becoming a werewolf, and for me this was the point I began to think that perhaps this album is describing a transitional phase.

The other song which I really enjoyed was track nine Zigsaur Stomp, it was catchy, and I found myself thinking it sounded roughly like Stray Cat Strut.

A majority of songs on Upside-Down World are ushered in with faint little sound bites, little dainty introductions to the reflective sometimes heavy lyrics, the gritty vocals and grungy guitar.

At first what I believed to be an album of religious connotations evolved into an interesting musical jaunt. As with some of David's previous albums I just had to sit still and really listen to them a few times before I got it.

David Sutton has a very individual approach to music, he is a multi-instrumentalist who is not afraid to try different genres and styles. He has been in the industry for some time and still keep things fresh with each new album (seven at the last count).

I am no longer on the fence with Upside-Down World, it grew on me. Not all the tracks but a majority I came to understand. This album is worthy of exploration, you just need to scratch the surface and dig a little deeper.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem