15 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World

06 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs."


As soon as I had heard the opening track with the same name as the album, I quickly realised that this album has a religious vein running through it.

The majority of this album may have Biblical lyrics; however, they are accompanied by a raw British rock/punk sound which I found rather refreshing. A different approach was taken with album in comparison to David's last album Binary. He isn't singing about yanking off his audience heads for one. I rather liked Binary - I called it weird and wonderful, yet with Upside-Down World I am sitting on a wonky fence not sure which way to fall.

As you work your way through this album it becomes clear that it is not just 11 tracks of biblical story telling, but a journey. This on closer inspection appears to be an expedition to overcome personal demons and finding the light.

As with previous works of David Sutton I found this also to be raw and refreshingly honest.

Also, as with previous albums, David has incorporated his family into his music this time with James Sutton proving he is also a talented multi-instrumentalist by adding piano and drums to all tracks, bass and keyboard on The Games We Play and violin and backing vocals on Upside-Down World and Zigsaur Stomp.

There were two tracks that stood out on this album for me as being different from the rest. Track seven, Full Moon had a completely different sound and tone to the vocals. This is a song about becoming a werewolf, and for me this was the point I began to think that perhaps this album is describing a transitional phase.

The other song which I really enjoyed was track nine Zigsaur Stomp, it was catchy, and I found myself thinking it sounded roughly like Stray Cat Strut.

A majority of songs on Upside-Down World are ushered in with faint little sound bites, little dainty introductions to the reflective sometimes heavy lyrics, the gritty vocals and grungy guitar.

At first what I believed to be an album of religious connotations evolved into an interesting musical jaunt. As with some of David's previous albums I just had to sit still and really listen to them a few times before I got it.

David Sutton has a very individual approach to music, he is a multi-instrumentalist who is not afraid to try different genres and styles. He has been in the industry for some time and still keep things fresh with each new album (seven at the last count).

I am no longer on the fence with Upside-Down World, it grew on me. Not all the tracks but a majority I came to understand. This album is worthy of exploration, you just need to scratch the surface and dig a little deeper.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car
21 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.
Read More...
Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem