19 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World

06 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs."


As soon as I had heard the opening track with the same name as the album, I quickly realised that this album has a religious vein running through it.

The majority of this album may have Biblical lyrics; however, they are accompanied by a raw British rock/punk sound which I found rather refreshing. A different approach was taken with album in comparison to David's last album Binary. He isn't singing about yanking off his audience heads for one. I rather liked Binary - I called it weird and wonderful, yet with Upside-Down World I am sitting on a wonky fence not sure which way to fall.

As you work your way through this album it becomes clear that it is not just 11 tracks of biblical story telling, but a journey. This on closer inspection appears to be an expedition to overcome personal demons and finding the light.

As with previous works of David Sutton I found this also to be raw and refreshingly honest.

Also, as with previous albums, David has incorporated his family into his music this time with James Sutton proving he is also a talented multi-instrumentalist by adding piano and drums to all tracks, bass and keyboard on The Games We Play and violin and backing vocals on Upside-Down World and Zigsaur Stomp.

There were two tracks that stood out on this album for me as being different from the rest. Track seven, Full Moon had a completely different sound and tone to the vocals. This is a song about becoming a werewolf, and for me this was the point I began to think that perhaps this album is describing a transitional phase.

The other song which I really enjoyed was track nine Zigsaur Stomp, it was catchy, and I found myself thinking it sounded roughly like Stray Cat Strut.

A majority of songs on Upside-Down World are ushered in with faint little sound bites, little dainty introductions to the reflective sometimes heavy lyrics, the gritty vocals and grungy guitar.

At first what I believed to be an album of religious connotations evolved into an interesting musical jaunt. As with some of David's previous albums I just had to sit still and really listen to them a few times before I got it.

David Sutton has a very individual approach to music, he is a multi-instrumentalist who is not afraid to try different genres and styles. He has been in the industry for some time and still keep things fresh with each new album (seven at the last count).

I am no longer on the fence with Upside-Down World, it grew on me. Not all the tracks but a majority I came to understand. This album is worthy of exploration, you just need to scratch the surface and dig a little deeper.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem