4 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World

06 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs."


As soon as I had heard the opening track with the same name as the album, I quickly realised that this album has a religious vein running through it.

The majority of this album may have Biblical lyrics; however, they are accompanied by a raw British rock/punk sound which I found rather refreshing. A different approach was taken with album in comparison to David's last album Binary. He isn't singing about yanking off his audience heads for one. I rather liked Binary - I called it weird and wonderful, yet with Upside-Down World I am sitting on a wonky fence not sure which way to fall.

As you work your way through this album it becomes clear that it is not just 11 tracks of biblical story telling, but a journey. This on closer inspection appears to be an expedition to overcome personal demons and finding the light.

As with previous works of David Sutton I found this also to be raw and refreshingly honest.

Also, as with previous albums, David has incorporated his family into his music this time with James Sutton proving he is also a talented multi-instrumentalist by adding piano and drums to all tracks, bass and keyboard on The Games We Play and violin and backing vocals on Upside-Down World and Zigsaur Stomp.

There were two tracks that stood out on this album for me as being different from the rest. Track seven, Full Moon had a completely different sound and tone to the vocals. This is a song about becoming a werewolf, and for me this was the point I began to think that perhaps this album is describing a transitional phase.

The other song which I really enjoyed was track nine Zigsaur Stomp, it was catchy, and I found myself thinking it sounded roughly like Stray Cat Strut.

A majority of songs on Upside-Down World are ushered in with faint little sound bites, little dainty introductions to the reflective sometimes heavy lyrics, the gritty vocals and grungy guitar.

At first what I believed to be an album of religious connotations evolved into an interesting musical jaunt. As with some of David's previous albums I just had to sit still and really listen to them a few times before I got it.

David Sutton has a very individual approach to music, he is a multi-instrumentalist who is not afraid to try different genres and styles. He has been in the industry for some time and still keep things fresh with each new album (seven at the last count).

I am no longer on the fence with Upside-Down World, it grew on me. Not all the tracks but a majority I came to understand. This album is worthy of exploration, you just need to scratch the surface and dig a little deeper.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alan Brown - Album Review: Wind And Wire
18 Jun 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alan Brown’s name is entrenched in the New Zealand Jazz scene as not only an established Jazz keyboardist, but also from his highly successful Jazz-funk band in the 1990’s, Blue Train. While reputed for his keyboard and Hammond organ skills his recent work, following on from his past solo creations is titled Wind And Wire, an instrumental, atmospheric electronica based album offering up a brooding sonic soundscape.
Read More...
Grace - Single Review: Echo Thoughts
29 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young bedroom music producer from Auckland, Grace has just released the first track from her EP Music From The Cupboard. Echo Thoughts is a captivating track of ethereal vocals enveloped in a luscious techno beat.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
Holly Afoa - EP Review: Sister
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Neo-Soul singer/songwriter Holly Afoa has recently released her debut EP Sister. Five tracks of soulful, heartfelt music.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem