21 Jan 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World

06 Jan 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs."


As soon as I had heard the opening track with the same name as the album, I quickly realised that this album has a religious vein running through it.

The majority of this album may have Biblical lyrics; however, they are accompanied by a raw British rock/punk sound which I found rather refreshing. A different approach was taken with album in comparison to David's last album Binary. He isn't singing about yanking off his audience heads for one. I rather liked Binary - I called it weird and wonderful, yet with Upside-Down World I am sitting on a wonky fence not sure which way to fall.

As you work your way through this album it becomes clear that it is not just 11 tracks of biblical story telling, but a journey. This on closer inspection appears to be an expedition to overcome personal demons and finding the light.

As with previous works of David Sutton I found this also to be raw and refreshingly honest.

Also, as with previous albums, David has incorporated his family into his music this time with James Sutton proving he is also a talented multi-instrumentalist by adding piano and drums to all tracks, bass and keyboard on The Games We Play and violin and backing vocals on Upside-Down World and Zigsaur Stomp.

There were two tracks that stood out on this album for me as being different from the rest. Track seven, Full Moon had a completely different sound and tone to the vocals. This is a song about becoming a werewolf, and for me this was the point I began to think that perhaps this album is describing a transitional phase.

The other song which I really enjoyed was track nine Zigsaur Stomp, it was catchy, and I found myself thinking it sounded roughly like Stray Cat Strut.

A majority of songs on Upside-Down World are ushered in with faint little sound bites, little dainty introductions to the reflective sometimes heavy lyrics, the gritty vocals and grungy guitar.

At first what I believed to be an album of religious connotations evolved into an interesting musical jaunt. As with some of David's previous albums I just had to sit still and really listen to them a few times before I got it.

David Sutton has a very individual approach to music, he is a multi-instrumentalist who is not afraid to try different genres and styles. He has been in the industry for some time and still keep things fresh with each new album (seven at the last count).

I am no longer on the fence with Upside-Down World, it grew on me. Not all the tracks but a majority I came to understand. This album is worthy of exploration, you just need to scratch the surface and dig a little deeper.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem