22 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Twenty One Pilots @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 21/12/2018

22 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

The last time Twenty One Pilots came to Auckland I wasn’t sure what to expect. Although I enjoyed their music it wasn’t something, I was rushing out to buy. That gig ended up being one of the best I have seen by any artist and still stands in my top 5 all-time gigs.

Their genre blending musical style is amplified further in the live arena where they seem to relish transforming the songs, themselves and the arena into an insanely creative mix of pyrotechnics and mind blowing illusions all aided by an ever growing army of rabid fans known as the Skeleton Clique, many of whom have been camped outside Auckland’s Spark arena today wearing striking yellow and black outfits to match Twenty One Pilots latest album Trench.

Drapht aka Paul Reid has made the hip hop over the ditch to open for this last show on the current leg of the Bandito world tour. The Aussie Aria winner opened with a largely pop centric set that went down well with the growing crowd. Adding live guitar and drums was a nice touch and stand out track for me was Jimmy Recard with its trip hop vibe and instant hook.

Drapht was always going to be the quiet before the storm tonight as the Skeleton Clique are known for their obsession with everything Twenty One Pilots.

As soon as Drapht bounces stage right the curtain drops and all background music is replaced with a looped sample that builds on the air of anticipation. A swirling yellow light is projected onto the curtain and every increase in its brightness or an when an unsuspecting member of the road-crew is caught walking across stage, is met with the scream of thousands of teenage girls.

This continues for about 30 mins and then we are blasted with a huge bass rumble as the curtain falls and it’s game on or maybe that should be flame on.

Tyler is centre stage, trademark balaclava in place with a flaming torch in hand, behind him a car is in flames and as they launch straight into Jumpsuit the place goes nuts.

There is a front of house crew tonight that looks like a NASA mission control and it is no wonder as the lights and video imagery go into sensory overload. The attention to detail is next level with video overlay’s and graphics that track Tyler and Josh as camera crew roam the stage. For the first few songs the mood is dark and explosive and during Fairly Local Tyler disappears under a sheet only to reappear seconds later in the midst of the crowd to continue the song.

It is moments like this that make a Twenty One Pilots gig feel almost like a theatre show. Every time the room darkens, and the music stops you can see the crowd looking around to see what is going to happen next. Their music and ethos is based on community and inclusivity so it is no surprise that Twenty One Pilots have made this the core of their performance and are one of the few bands since U2 who can make an arena or stadium feel intimate.

A video into leads into massive hit Stressed Out complete with a red beanie being lowered onto the stage which is one of multiple outfit changes that happen seamlessly with almost every song.

As the show progresses the band appear more relaxed and the crowd become even more responsive. There are plenty of crowd sing along moments and even a section where the band highlight some of the, shall we say, more elderly gentlemen in the crowd focusing the cameras on them for a bit of impromptu dad dancing.

I would argue that Twenty One Pilots are amongst the most creative artists around today and the show never loses its flow or connection with the crowd. If I wrote about everything that happened during the almost 2 hour set I would need a few more hours and 20,000 more words.

Their musicianship and in particular Tyler’s voice is impeccable but Twenty One Pilots are more than just a great band. They are using every part of their artistry to connect and get their message across and unlike most who try and fail Twenty One Pilots succeed and lead.

Twenty One Pilots will be coming back to New Zealand. If you haven’t seen them then you really should. There are not many bands who can connect with people like these two guys do and sure their fan base may be mainly teenage girls but don’t dismiss them as some over-hyped pop band. They are 5 albums in and latest album Trench has seen them continue to push the boundaries.

It is really simple Twenty One Pilots create great music and with their shows they also create great memories.

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem