18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On

13 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,

Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song."

Rest of the band - “OK but where? A studio would be expensive and actually fuck that, this song you just gave us is balls out, take it or leave it, it will make your ears bleed even if we record it in a toilet.”

So guess what?

This track sounds like it was recorded in a toilet!

It also sounds all the better for it.

One of my favourite songs ever recorded by a New Zealand band is Blue Team Go by The Mint Chicks. It is absolute pure genius. When they performed it live it took on a whole other level and I Can't Go On by Trepidations has given me that buzz I thought I would never experience again. This track is simply the best song I have heard and best lyrics I have read since Blue Team Go was released.

Pete Shelley (Buzzcocks) unfortunately passed away this week and he along with the rest of the Buzzcocks were the kings of the 3-minute pop song. Trepidations have taken that 3-minute buzz and vibe and created an instant classic. Seriously, this song just buzzes into every part of whatever it is that makes you connect with the world.

It is SIMPLE. The lyrics mean something, and the chorus just sticks in your head.

If you can find it, you should definitely go out and buy it!

P.S. Just buy it, listen to it, and if ever they get to play live, don't miss it! I Can't Go On is a solid gold 5-star classic, and I can say that enough.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem