25 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On

13 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,

Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song."

Rest of the band - “OK but where? A studio would be expensive and actually fuck that, this song you just gave us is balls out, take it or leave it, it will make your ears bleed even if we record it in a toilet.”

So guess what?

This track sounds like it was recorded in a toilet!

It also sounds all the better for it.

One of my favourite songs ever recorded by a New Zealand band is Blue Team Go by The Mint Chicks. It is absolute pure genius. When they performed it live it took on a whole other level and I Can't Go On by Trepidations has given me that buzz I thought I would never experience again. This track is simply the best song I have heard and best lyrics I have read since Blue Team Go was released.

Pete Shelley (Buzzcocks) unfortunately passed away this week and he along with the rest of the Buzzcocks were the kings of the 3-minute pop song. Trepidations have taken that 3-minute buzz and vibe and created an instant classic. Seriously, this song just buzzes into every part of whatever it is that makes you connect with the world.

It is SIMPLE. The lyrics mean something, and the chorus just sticks in your head.

If you can find it, you should definitely go out and buy it!

P.S. Just buy it, listen to it, and if ever they get to play live, don't miss it! I Can't Go On is a solid gold 5-star classic, and I can say that enough.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • EARFQUAKE
    Tyler, The Creator
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem