6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On

13 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,

Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song."

Rest of the band - “OK but where? A studio would be expensive and actually fuck that, this song you just gave us is balls out, take it or leave it, it will make your ears bleed even if we record it in a toilet.”

So guess what?

This track sounds like it was recorded in a toilet!

It also sounds all the better for it.

One of my favourite songs ever recorded by a New Zealand band is Blue Team Go by The Mint Chicks. It is absolute pure genius. When they performed it live it took on a whole other level and I Can't Go On by Trepidations has given me that buzz I thought I would never experience again. This track is simply the best song I have heard and best lyrics I have read since Blue Team Go was released.

Pete Shelley (Buzzcocks) unfortunately passed away this week and he along with the rest of the Buzzcocks were the kings of the 3-minute pop song. Trepidations have taken that 3-minute buzz and vibe and created an instant classic. Seriously, this song just buzzes into every part of whatever it is that makes you connect with the world.

It is SIMPLE. The lyrics mean something, and the chorus just sticks in your head.

If you can find it, you should definitely go out and buy it!

P.S. Just buy it, listen to it, and if ever they get to play live, don't miss it! I Can't Go On is a solid gold 5-star classic, and I can say that enough.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem