23 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC

11 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.

You can tell it is a labour of love with the core of the ensemble being a five-piece with up to 10 or more musicians involved. The aim seems to have been to put together a collection of songs that will appeal to people who like performers like Jimmy Barnes, Fleetwood Mac or The Eagles. If that is you, then you won’t be disappointed.

The songs are a mixture of country rock, blues, rock and ballads. The immediate stand out is Ant’s vocals. Midge Marsden (who is also a contributor) apparently said that if Ant sang a phone book people would still listen. The devil is in the detail and it is clear the details have been focused on during the creation of these songs.

Ant and all the other musicians are flawless on this album and his vocals are the perfect accompaniment to the music. There is a warmth and depth to his vocal and he knows when less equals more. The backing and support vocals are also perfectly matched as is the production.

This collection of songs will stand up well against any of the music created by the artists whose influences run strong throughout. I could throw around words like musicianship or craftsmanship, but how does The Vazey Collective actually make me feel?

I will be honest; this isn’t the kind of music I usually listen to.

I read The Vazey Collective website where it says, "Music for all ages", but I have to disagree.

This is music my dad would listen to (and I am 50), but and it is a big BUT, after a few runs through and cranking the volume to ear bleeding levels it was growing on me.

Like I said before if this IS your kind of music you are going to be blown away.

This album could be cranking at BBQ’s or on cassette players in vintage cars heading for the Beach Hop all over NZ this summer.

Digging a little deeper I started to appreciate the layers and textures in the songs. There are elements of experimentation which stand out in songs such as Home, which is a brooding anti-war song complete with spoken word samples. The sing along chorus is never too far away though nor the understated but perfectly matched guitar solos. This is the kind of track Axl Rose pushed for on latter Guns ‘n Roses albums.

My favourite tracks tend to be the higher energy rockers like Home and there is enough variation on here to keep people interested and playing this album repeatedly.

The full range of emotions are all addressed via slow burning ballads and other tracks that will have people spinning around the campfires. Quirky bluesy number The Stranger will also appeal although I did find the lyrics a little cliched.

To be honest, this album is exactly what you would expect. The Vazey Collective clearly set themselves high standards and worked hard to produce an album they would be happy with and for that this collection of songs cannot be faulted.

I am not sure if there are plans to tour but they really should. If this is your kind of music you need to get a copy as soon as possible and crank it all summer long

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Vazey Collective

The Vazey Collective is a six-piece band from New Zealand that formed over 2016-2017. This determined and accomplished group of musicians know what they want, the music is old school, dynamic and real. The Music will speak to many covering many genre’s, but still just good old Rock.

The band features the spectacular Antony Pickard on lead vocals. His powerful and compelling voice is up with the best and it was mentioned by Midge Marsden while performing on one of the songs that “Ants could sing the phone book and you would listen”. This is a true testament coming from one of NZ’s best musicians.

John Kempt on lead guitar is popular among the best in the business, it’s also noted John taught Duff McKagan from GnR’s daughters how to play guitar. Playing guitar with some of the best musicians in the world, John has learnt everything required to enhance a band and he does not disappoint by bringing powerful, but stylish guitar licks & solos to the TVC Album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Vazey Collective

Releases

TVC
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem