19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bartells - Single/Video Review: Extraordinary Girl

06 Dec 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

There’s something pretty cool about the whole DIY ethic, from the early Flying Nun years, and now with many artists producing their own material.

Sam Bartells, who creates music under his last name, has just released the single Extraordinary Girl with an accompanying self-filmed video.

Like all good videos it tells a story which is congruent with the song’s lyrics, and it becomes rapidly apparent that the song is a father singing to a daughter.

In a media release he says: “Extraordinary Girl is a song about any special girl in your life that brightens things up. I really wrote it for my girls and my youngest daughter who was a big part of my early sobriety and gave me hope in despairing time. It’s my way of saying thank you to them.”

Throughout the song, and video the love he has for his youngsters is obvious.

Lyrically it is refreshingly obvious, but not in the slightest bit trite, dull, or preachy. It captures a feeling at the time. Kind of a Not Given Lightly (Chris Knox) for a new generation.

Bartells' composition is pop songwriter gold, structured well, and it flows well, weaving its melodic and lyrical journey for a radio compatible three minutes and features a great balance of instruments which are mixed well. This is a potential career-making song.

The video opens up with him holding a selfie stick filming himself while skating, then there’s shots of him through long grass, it’s quite artistic, but without being pretentious in any way.

The video is interspersed with images of his daughter and either other family members or friends. It really is a proud dad moment turned into a song, where the musician is grateful for the positive changes brought about by having children.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bartells.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Gig Review: Ciaran McMeeken & Dan Sharp @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 16/02/2019
17 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a disclaimer, I knew absolutely nothing about neither Ciaran McMeeken nor Dan Sharp prior to the gig, so I arranged my +1 to be Dunedin songwriter Bronwyn Halley. She’s in the same generational band as Ciaran, and as it turned out, was a very knowledgeable accomplice.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Cloudwatcher’s Soul
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The debut album from brothers Matthew & Ben Furniss, is a concept album with a single loosely themed narrative of the kidnapping of the muse 'Cloudwatcher' and the eventual reuniting with the central character. The melody and lyrics manage to tie the theme together quite well.
Read More...
Little Dove - EP Review Buried in the Backyard
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Not particularly loquacious, and certainly not overly verbose, are probably the best ways to describe the web pages of an Auckland 17-year-old woman who’s recording music as Little Dove. Her Bandcamp page says “This EP is a collection of music made, entirely and messily in my little sleep out, by myself.
Read More...
Tiny Ruins - Album Review: Olympic Girls
15 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a proud owner of the Tiny Ruins mini LP Hurtling Through, which was recorded with Hamish Kilgour (The Clean, The Great Unwashed etc) my anticipation levels for this LP were high. Not quite Johnny Cash eating cake in a bush high, but pretty up there.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Universe
11 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Tauranga based band Electric Universe says 2019 is a year of completion for them, with their self-titled album being one of a few projects being completed during the course of the year. The band’s name should give a little away; the first four songs, from City Boy through to Acid Train, all having influence from Hendrix to Santana but with the subtlety and restraint of Hendrix, and not the album length solos of prog rock.
Read More...
Mike Puke - Album Review: The Sound of Puke
25 Jan 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The Sound of Puke is possibly the best, and most fitting, title for an album ever. The album begins with the title track, The Sound of Puke which starts with a sample of The Sound Of Music straight from Julie Andrews' mouth, but don’t worry she’s vocally run over before she can say ‘music’, as Mike sings "Puke" over her singing the word ‘music’…If you’re unsure what I mean, give it a listen.
Read More...
Alanna Eileen - Single Review: Faded Image
21 Jan 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alanna Eileen’s new single Faded Image marks a stylistic departure from much of her other work. It wavers between chocolate box and alt country.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Ginger In The Summer
17 Jan 2019 // by Darryl Baser
“Our love burned-up like a Ginger in the Summer, halfway down Dominion Road...” Now if this up-tempo fun and friendly song with the above lyric, amongst many clever turns of phrase, doesn’t become a huge hit, I’ll buy a hat just to eat it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem