18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bartells - Single/Video Review: Extraordinary Girl

06 Dec 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

There’s something pretty cool about the whole DIY ethic, from the early Flying Nun years, and now with many artists producing their own material.

Sam Bartells, who creates music under his last name, has just released the single Extraordinary Girl with an accompanying self-filmed video.

Like all good videos it tells a story which is congruent with the song’s lyrics, and it becomes rapidly apparent that the song is a father singing to a daughter.

In a media release he says: “Extraordinary Girl is a song about any special girl in your life that brightens things up. I really wrote it for my girls and my youngest daughter who was a big part of my early sobriety and gave me hope in despairing time. It’s my way of saying thank you to them.”

Throughout the song, and video the love he has for his youngsters is obvious.

Lyrically it is refreshingly obvious, but not in the slightest bit trite, dull, or preachy. It captures a feeling at the time. Kind of a Not Given Lightly (Chris Knox) for a new generation.

Bartells' composition is pop songwriter gold, structured well, and it flows well, weaving its melodic and lyrical journey for a radio compatible three minutes and features a great balance of instruments which are mixed well. This is a potential career-making song.

The video opens up with him holding a selfie stick filming himself while skating, then there’s shots of him through long grass, it’s quite artistic, but without being pretentious in any way.

The video is interspersed with images of his daughter and either other family members or friends. It really is a proud dad moment turned into a song, where the musician is grateful for the positive changes brought about by having children.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bartells.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Album Review: Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds
01 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Hailing from the late 1980's, Hallelujah Picassos have a bunch of history, having released a mini album on cassette in 1989. Fast forward to 2019 the band’s 5th album Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds follows reissues in 2011/2012, which saw Hallelujah Picassos returned to the live scene, playing a handful of shows with the likes of The Drab Doo Riffs and Labretta Suede and the Motel Six.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field
11 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019
14 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015. While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room.
Read More...
Alae - Single Review: Help You Now
10 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alae have released their new single Help You Now. It’s the first track to be issued since the release of the Henry St album last year.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem