17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mudbelly - Single/Video Review: On Fire

06 Dec 2018 // A review by Kris Raven

The whole 'rock is dead thing' is becoming a little painful to hear these days. Sure, we get it, mainstream rock is dead to some, but like the rest of the world, NZ has some incredible rock music! And in so many fine forms. This brings me to Hypnumb, a four-piece rock and blues hybrid from one of NZ’s most renowned rock music hubs, Christchurch. I had not heard them until recently when I saw they were playing in Auckland this weekend.

Starting with some fairly hypnotic hand claps, On Fire has a super upbeat feel and once Bex B’s vocals hit, the whole song is elevated to another level. Her vocals are the standout on the track, reminds a little of a less gruff Amy Winehouse or Americas blues queen Bonnie Raitt, there is a lot of attitude in the storytelling and she commands throughout the song, leaving a very strong impression as a vocal force to be reckoned with.

Musically they perfectly mould classic blues guitar and rock roll together, the opening riff is familiar and hooky. Leading into the pre-chorus we are treated to a tasty guitar solo from guitarist Jesse Bruce, its effective and not overdone and who doesn’t love that Gibson Les Paul sound. The drums from the intro and throughout hold the beat, nothing flashy but doing what is needed for the song. Then the pace picks up for the chorus and leads into a groovy and dancey rhythm with a memorable vocal melody, driving up and up and getting ready to rev into the next section.

But it comes back down into the second verse, still maintaining pace with the hand claps and tambourine driving the rhythm and letting the vocals and guitars shine throughout. It's a good balancing act in terms of intensity and building throughout, keeps us guessing. Another highlight of the chorus is the background vocals, again simple but effective and judging from the accompanying video are sung by drummer Johnny Arillaga, drummer/vocalists are always fun to watch (not biased at all).

The recording feels quite low-fi, possibly out of choice. It works for the song, but I would have preferred a bit more punch from the rhythm section, some bigger kicks and bass. The bass seems fairly low in the mix but again is carrying the song with the drums and keeping a solid foundation for the layers of guitar, vocal and melody. 

As well as the single, there is a video accompaniment. The main narrative being the all too familiar waking up after the party, the hangover, the regrets maybe? It has quite the comedic streak, people either passed out or still going hard, weird people doing weird things, it has a relatable aspect to it and certainly the post party apocalypse vibe. Quick cuts keep the action moving during the verse section and when we move into the chorus, the live show performance captures the whole band and audience and it works really well with the high/low dynamics of the song. I felt like the lighting in the performance was really effective and gave the video another boost of energy. My favourite scene is the bar shot, which includes some moon walking and Hypnumb's very entertaining drummer Johnny Arillaga, who has been providing not only the hungover tambourine throughout but shows off his drink stacking.

According to the bands Facebook page, they established themselves late 2017 and I must say for a new band they have certainly developed a solid, gritty, bluesy boogie and all out rock and roll sound.  Certainly, a band to keep an eye out for in 2019 and a band I look forward to seeing live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mudbelly

Mudbelly. It's a name.

We are a dirty blues band from Christchurch. If we were ever invited to define ourselves in the Oxford Dictionary: Power-rockin, ball-bustin, whisky-whackin ninjas of blues laden rock would be in our top three.

Fronted by Bex, swaggering rock banshee who won her voice in a poker game with the devil, together with Michael (guitar), Marcus (bass) and John (drums), the sound....just sounds right.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mudbelly

Releases

Mudbelly
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Arrays - Album Review: Light Years
25 Nov 2020 // by Kris Raven
Arrays, the all in one independent vision of Auckland musician JP Carroll (ex-Armed in Advance, Swerve City) has grown from strength to strength, consistently putting out material over the last few years and imprinting the Arrays name as its own unique force in the NZ music community. While earlier material may have been a little reminiscent of previous outfits, the new album Light Years, which is all produced, written and played by Carroll himself has become its own defined musical machine, weaving influences of modern metal, post hardcore, grunge and alternative rock, among others.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Blinders
13 Oct 2020 // by Kris Raven
Wellington's Curlys Jewels have gone from strength to strength over the last few years, out lasting many a fallen Wellington scene rock bands and delivering their third Greg Haver (Ekko Park, The Feelers, OpShop) produced rock anthem Blinders. The core line up has remained solid since their first few EP’s and ever since dropping their 2019 single Absentee which saw them debut on mainstream radio and touring NZ, they have become a heavy hitting staple in the independent rock community.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: The Machine
06 Oct 2020 // by Kris Raven
There must be something in the water, brewing magic in Whanganui. Eclectic rock/metal 5-piece DRXNES have just dropped their new single The Machine and it is HUGE.
Read More...
Animalhead - Album Review: Blood, Sweat & Beers
24 Sep 2020 // by Kris Raven
After five years of blood, sweat and beers, notorious West Auckland 3-piece Animalhead are dropping their debut album. For those who have followed the band over the last half decade, this album represents a culmination of all their hard work laid out over ten diverse, mega tunes, as well as their previously released epic singles including 2018 runaway hit Rabbit Hole.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Album Review: Of Valleys and Mountains
11 Sep 2020 // by Kris Raven
Whanganui's Pull Down The Sun are about to drop one of the best progressive metal albums of the year Of Valleys and Mountains. While not necessarily a ‘concept album’ the album as a whole, feels very cohesive, with every song having a point and place and the way the songs flow, taking the listener on an emotive journey that is both brutal and beautiful.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: Empty Body
27 Aug 2020 // by Kris Raven
Eclectic post metallers Spook the Horses have released their 4th full length album Empty Body. Formed in 2009, this Wellington based 6-piece have spent the last 11 years creating artistically diverse and genre bending music, whether it be 2017's beautifully haunting and a little more chill album People Used To Live Here or their recent single releases where they have delivered unrelenting, progressively heavy soundscapes, shaping their impending new album.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single/Video Review: Dangerous
08 Aug 2020 // by Kris Raven
My first initial thoughts after hearing & viewing the debut single by alternative rock collective Swerve City was how lead vocalist JP Carroll (Arrays, ex-Armed in Advance) has further elevated his frontman persona and status in a relatively new (2019) band full of strong and diverse musicians. His vocal approach particularly in the chorus I found was a big take away from previous known material and he is singing a little out of his comfort zone which is very cool to hear (and see).
Read More...
Banks Arcade - EP Review: Fever Dreams
10 Jun 2020 // by Kris Raven
NZ/Aussie 5-piece Banks Arcade recently released their game changing second EP and follow up to their debut EP, 2018’s Endnote. A lot has changed for the band in three years, members have come and gone, a move across the ditch and an incredible evolution in their sound and focus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem