27 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike

05 Dec 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie. I may have gone too far this time”.

Before I enlighten the world with my opinion on aforementioned twisted video, I will review the song Headbutt A Spike. Those three words pretty much mean what they say and are repeated profusely throughout this track successfully lodging in your brain. Featuring Rip Jaw and Nicky Smirk, it does have a catchy hook to it; it suits the album it was released under and it has a very sobering and confronting message. When you pair the song to the music video it starts to make some sense, probably not to everyone… but to those who can look past the animated baby in a blender.

I like JCK’s music and I have reviewed a fair few of his releases this year. But this made my stomach churn just a bit. Smart move dude at well over 2000 views it seems shock value lures in the punters.

Putting it all together, Headbutt A Spike is certainly original. Like most of JCK’s music. His animation skills have come a long way over the past year; he is consistently working on ways to improve his music and visuals. One thing he is not is boring.

So, this brings me to a bit of a dilemma, a diplomatic crossroads of sorts. The intent and message behind the song is very real. The track itself is punchy with some good rapping… but the video is kind of sick, not dope sick either. So, I will give the all-round production 4 stars because it is controversial and totally left field, but also because it is clever and catchy.

This has been described as an “amazing but very twisted cartoon”. Have a listen, take a look and make up your own minds if you dare.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About JCK

New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is all about creativity and originality. Gothic imagery, catchy well crafted songs and captivating music videos set JCK apart from the legions of look alike, sound alike Hip-Hop artists currently flooding the market.

"Most Hip-Hop artists seem to want to take you on the same journey with their music. That's usually a trip through the hood they grew up in. It's like the hoods getting over crowded with rapper tour guides. I might take you to the hood for a quick look around, but only on route to the carnival"

JCK is a multi instrumentalist as well as a rapper and singer. He produces his own music and even films, directs and edits his own music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JCK

Releases

Glass
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Input/Output
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Land of the Wrong White Crowd
Year: 2015
Type: Album
The Bees
Year: 2011
Type: Album
5 Year Anniversary
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem