22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent

05 Dec 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.

The band’s latest song is a resurrection from a demo that was recorded in the mid-1990's, re-recorded at Colourfield Studios in Tauranga by Tim Julian and mixed by Nathan Sowter.

Having spent a few years as Apollo SteamTrain’s photographer, I am very familiar with their sound. The lads are a dedicated bunch, led by McCarthy they have relentlessly been working on music in some form or another since I met them back in 2016. So, it seems I am qualified enough to say that they have evolved substantially in the last three years, working tirelessly at polishing the AST sound. 2018 has seen a steady stream of single releases to whet the Pop/Rock appetite of the discerning New Zealand public.

What caught my eye before I had heard Unknown Talent or even before I released AST were going to unleash one more single before the years end, were the random Instagram posts. What evolved is probably my favourite and certainly one of the smartest AST marketing campaigns. I loved the concept and the graphics by Indium Design. Excellent work to all involved. A particular shout out to the young stars of the latest promo material.

As soon as the first chords rang out, I knew it was an Apollo SteamTrain track; they have developed a recognisable sound. British Pop/Rock with a Kiwi twang. This has the same melodic rock vibe as The Electric Sun, which the band released November 2016.

Unknown Talent is another snappy, euphonic tune with a polished sound and oozing airwave appeal.

These guys are a tight unit, and it is reflected in the stellar sound they are now producing. Brendan’s singing on this track is strong with a grungy edge to it; there is an infusion of smooth layered vocals which add an extra depth to the arrangement. Interesting story telling continues with thought provoking eloquently written lyrics.

Brendan, Les, Ian and James have released solid, catchy singles consistently through 2017/2018 and this is no different. I look forward to hearing what they come up with in 2019.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Apollo SteamTrain

Apollo SteamTrain is a musical platform to host the continuing projects of singer/songwriter Brendan McCarthy from Tauranga, New Zealand.

Brendan has a deal in place with Songbroker which has seen his tracks synced on several high profile TV shows including Shortland Street and Filthy Rich.

Brendan has worked with several procucers including internationally renowned Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, OpShop, Catatonia, The Feelers, Six60), recording 2 tracks at Neil Finn's Round Head Studios.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Apollo SteamTrain

Releases

There are no releases to display for Apollo SteamTrain.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

John Martin - Album Review: Zealander
14 Sep 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Drummer/Singer and multi-instrumentalist; John Martin has just released his third album Zealander. His love of strong pop melodies and James Brown covers shine through on this album mingling with his uniquely upbeat sound.
Read More...
Disciple Pati - Single/Video Review: Serious
19 Aug 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland’s newest pop/RnB powerhouse Disciple Pati has just released her latest single Serious, along with a “revenge fantasy” style music video which the artist explains as “channeled my violent inner sadist for this moment so y’all don’t have to”. The video ultimately is about getting payback after a production meeting doesn’t go according to plan.
Read More...
Valentina - Album Review: Renaissance
10 Aug 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Transgressive vocalist and producer Valentina, has just released her debut album Renaissance. Described as a "Hyperpop album", it is filled with wonder, exploring a diverse range of genres such as Bubblegum Pop, UK Garage, Techno, 90's House with elements of Classical and Baroque.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
EP Review: TOI
17 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning seven-piece Wellington band TOI (Tunes of I), are releasing their highly anticipated self-titled EP. Accompanying the release is a four date nationwide tour of Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland and Raglan.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) – Acoustic Version
11 May 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative rock band from Dunedin, Saurian (meaning “lizard-like”), have recently re-released a new single of an old favourite, Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) as an acoustic version. Removing the loud distorted guitars, drums and big vocals, resulting in a restrained sound consisting of acoustic guitar, strings, percussion and softer vocals.
Read More...
Metrosideros - EP Review: Var.
30 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
From the south coast of Wellington, Metrosideros' Matt Dalzell and Ellie Rose have created somewhat of a cool and funky trip hop sound with swirling’s of dub and journeys into backbeats. Their latest EP, Var.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem