15 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent

05 Dec 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.

The band’s latest song is a resurrection from a demo that was recorded in the mid-1990's, re-recorded at Colourfield Studios in Tauranga by Tim Julian and mixed by Nathan Sowter.

Having spent a few years as Apollo SteamTrain’s photographer, I am very familiar with their sound. The lads are a dedicated bunch, led by McCarthy they have relentlessly been working on music in some form or another since I met them back in 2016. So, it seems I am qualified enough to say that they have evolved substantially in the last three years, working tirelessly at polishing the AST sound. 2018 has seen a steady stream of single releases to whet the Pop/Rock appetite of the discerning New Zealand public.

What caught my eye before I had heard Unknown Talent or even before I released AST were going to unleash one more single before the years end, were the random Instagram posts. What evolved is probably my favourite and certainly one of the smartest AST marketing campaigns. I loved the concept and the graphics by Indium Design. Excellent work to all involved. A particular shout out to the young stars of the latest promo material.

As soon as the first chords rang out, I knew it was an Apollo SteamTrain track; they have developed a recognisable sound. British Pop/Rock with a Kiwi twang. This has the same melodic rock vibe as The Electric Sun, which the band released November 2016.

Unknown Talent is another snappy, euphonic tune with a polished sound and oozing airwave appeal.

These guys are a tight unit, and it is reflected in the stellar sound they are now producing. Brendan’s singing on this track is strong with a grungy edge to it; there is an infusion of smooth layered vocals which add an extra depth to the arrangement. Interesting story telling continues with thought provoking eloquently written lyrics.

Brendan, Les, Ian and James have released solid, catchy singles consistently through 2017/2018 and this is no different. I look forward to hearing what they come up with in 2019.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Apollo SteamTrain

Apollo SteamTrain are a four-piece juggernaut of a band with their roots planted firmly in the British rock scene.

Featuring Les Robinson, formerly of Taranaki legends The Nod on guitar, the well traveled Ian Clark on bass, alongside James Bos on drums, formerly of Nine Mile Stone in the engine room, the rhythm section delivers a powerful platform from which singer/guitarist Brendan McCarthy then builds his hook infused rock ‘n’ roll tales.

Apollo SteamTrain have toured extensively around the Shaky Isles from their base in Tauranga and have a deal in place with Songbroker which has seen their tracks synced on several high profile TV shows including Shortland Street and Filthy Rich.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Apollo SteamTrain

Releases

There are no releases to display for Apollo SteamTrain.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem