19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent

05 Dec 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.

The band’s latest song is a resurrection from a demo that was recorded in the mid-1990's, re-recorded at Colourfield Studios in Tauranga by Tim Julian and mixed by Nathan Sowter.

Having spent a few years as Apollo SteamTrain’s photographer, I am very familiar with their sound. The lads are a dedicated bunch, led by McCarthy they have relentlessly been working on music in some form or another since I met them back in 2016. So, it seems I am qualified enough to say that they have evolved substantially in the last three years, working tirelessly at polishing the AST sound. 2018 has seen a steady stream of single releases to whet the Pop/Rock appetite of the discerning New Zealand public.

What caught my eye before I had heard Unknown Talent or even before I released AST were going to unleash one more single before the years end, were the random Instagram posts. What evolved is probably my favourite and certainly one of the smartest AST marketing campaigns. I loved the concept and the graphics by Indium Design. Excellent work to all involved. A particular shout out to the young stars of the latest promo material.

As soon as the first chords rang out, I knew it was an Apollo SteamTrain track; they have developed a recognisable sound. British Pop/Rock with a Kiwi twang. This has the same melodic rock vibe as The Electric Sun, which the band released November 2016.

Unknown Talent is another snappy, euphonic tune with a polished sound and oozing airwave appeal.

These guys are a tight unit, and it is reflected in the stellar sound they are now producing. Brendan’s singing on this track is strong with a grungy edge to it; there is an infusion of smooth layered vocals which add an extra depth to the arrangement. Interesting story telling continues with thought provoking eloquently written lyrics.

Brendan, Les, Ian and James have released solid, catchy singles consistently through 2017/2018 and this is no different. I look forward to hearing what they come up with in 2019.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Apollo SteamTrain

Apollo SteamTrain are a four-piece juggernaut of a band with their roots planted firmly in the British rock scene.

Featuring Les Robinson, formerly of Taranaki legends The Nod on guitar, the well traveled Ian Clark on bass, alongside James Bos on drums, formerly of Nine Mile Stone in the engine room, the rhythm section delivers a powerful platform from which singer/guitarist Brendan McCarthy then builds his hook infused rock ‘n’ roll tales.

Apollo SteamTrain have toured extensively around the Shaky Isles from their base in Tauranga and have a deal in place with Songbroker which has seen their tracks synced on several high profile TV shows including Shortland Street and Filthy Rich.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Apollo SteamTrain

Releases

There are no releases to display for Apollo SteamTrain.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem