22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites

05 Dec 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.

This track is thoughtful as well as thought provoking. A tinge of sadness touches the sincere lyrics; however, there is a sense of optimism to the bitter-sweet words.

Dan delivers the vocals on this track in a lovely warm and genuine way. His voice has been described as “rich” and “gritty”. He delivers songs from the heart. There is a soulful blues sound to his music which has been defined as “liquorish-smooth”. A velvety sweetness with gravely undertones.

I have been blessed to see Dan perform live, his performance is as honest and authentic as the music he delivers. Uncomplicated yet captivating, this is how I feel about Satellites. This track grabbed my interest from the opening chords and took me on a wonderful 3:44 minute journey.

The song tells a tale which will resonate with many people in the pursuit of success and the sacrifices which are made. Connected by technology but not physically present. “Sending my love through the satellites”.

A lovely single release from beginning to end. Produced by Thomas Oliver in Berlin and featuring keyboards and synths from Wellington based Ed Zuccollo (TrinityRoots).

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Dan Sharp

Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp serves up honest, hard-hitting and impactful tunes.
His soulful songwriting and lyrics are the foundation on which his rich, gritty vocals and guitar thrive.

With musical inspiration that ranges from early guitar-blues through to more modernly produced soul, pop and folk, Dan's sound and style of writing is well rounded, mature and thoughtful. His early work reached the ears of acclaimed NZ songwriter and producer, Thomas Oliver, who has produced Dan's upcoming EP.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dan Sharp

Releases

There are no releases to display for Dan Sharp.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem